We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Tortuguero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Tortuguero
Save
You added Cabinas Tortuguero to your Saves list
200 meters north of the National Park entrance | across from Supermarket Bambu, Tortuguero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Simple and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Nothing luxurious but for $8 we thought you cant expect too much. Only issue is we had cockroaches all over our beds one night and no staff to talk to.. Nobody was ever at the reception

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
24
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Jose the manager went out of his way to help us with any arrangements we had to make in Tortugero, including transfers to Puerto Viejo. He was a complete star and made everything hassle free. The cabin which we stayed in was simple, clean and comfy with hot running water – breakfasts were good too. The only downside was that you could sometimes hear music from the club late night. In saying that we were very close to everything we wanted to do in Tortugero: canoe, boat journeys, bars and the beach. We had a wonderful stay and a real highlight was seeing the large blue crabs in the garden – real cool characters!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Cabinas Tortuguero. It is one of the best values for your money - we checked around and the nicer cabinas cost twice or more the price. The room was clean and simple - nothing exciting or attractive about it. Bathroom was clean and room smelled fine.

A few issues however:
1. there is a disco only maybe 200 - 300 meters away. The noise isn't terrible, but we definitely heard the music as we fell asleep. Since tours often start very early in tortuguero, going to bed early is the norm, so if you're a light sleeper, the noise might bother you.
2. There are roosters directly next door to the cabinas that begin crowing at 3am. I could sleep through it if the bathroom door was closed (cut down on the noise), but those things are loud!
3. There is a lovely parrot who resides on the premises. The hotel manager said the owner was out of town for a couple of months and perhaps that explains why the parrot seemed to be poorly treated - no food, no water, and a dirty cage. I brought him some fruits and some water, but I felt really bad for this poor little guy.

I would suggest this hotel to budget travelers who don't mind a little noise. The manager was extremely nice and helpful and the rooms were adequate. Don't stay there if you're a very light sleeper though - you won't get much:).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinastortuguero21, Gerente at Cabinas Tortuguero, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you for your comments, we indeed wrote a letter to the Costa Rican Tourist Bureau and the Costa Rican National Parks Minister regarding the noise in the area, the bars and discos in Tortuguero are suppossed to lower the music after 10:00pm and the owners know that, although sometimes is midnight and we have to call the police since is the only way that will lower the volume. Besides the noise in the village, we are also concerned in the wildlife as it is also affecting the animals. We invited a local TV Chaneel and they accepted the invitation for october 2nd which is a weekend and the two bars in the Village will probably be loud, therefore this people will make a video to prove what is happening in this two places and we really think that it will be the end due that the government is trying to protect everything in our National Parks and with a local tv channel involved the owners cannot say that it didn´t happened in their places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Sverige
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

The location is very good and the rooms are simple but ok.
You can´t really expect more for the price.
The breakfast is very good, (not included but not expensive)
The staf is great.
Although we totally missed to let them know one day in advance that we were leaving for san José they went out of their way to help us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights. The owners went out of their way to answer questions and meet needs of travelers. Their daughter is a great translator too! The room was decent, albeit colorful! The fan was a turbo-fan and worked wonderfully! My only concern is that the place does not have a gate or security at night time.

It is located across from one of 2 bars on the island and it can be a bit daunting for a solo woman too late. I ended my turtle tour at midnight and had some hecklers follow me into the compound. I did mention it to the owners and they said they are looking into security.

Breakfast was delicious, and there are hammocks on the porches--nice!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tortuguero

Address: 200 meters north of the National Park entrance | across from Supermarket Bambu, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tortuguero Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Tortuguero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.