We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should Have Stayed Here from the Beginning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lizard King Hotel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lizard King Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Lizard King Hotel Resort
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Principal - 600 metros sur del Banco | Costa Rica (On the main road of Puerto Viejo), Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Torrance, California
1 review
“Should Have Stayed Here from the Beginning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Description: We stayed at this hotel our last two nights in Puerto Viejo. Unfortunately we had reserved elsewhere and weren't able to venture out and find a hotel with the same amenities as this one. We'll definitely stay here our entire trip next time. We really liked having the coffee brand Britt and a coffee maker in our room. We had an air condition room with a queen size bed. It was great. Definitely

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
37
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I loved my time at the Lizard King Hotel. The staff was super friendly and professional. I felt at home as soon as I got there. The location was perfect too! If you're trying to have a relaxing Caribbean vacation, then you should stay at this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Lizard King Hotel And Resort. Beautiful location and awesome beach views. This hotel staff is very professional and friendly. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast restaurant is open 24 hours and the food is delicious. I had a wonderful experience at the Lizard King Hotel, I recommend it with 5 Stars, You will enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We really loved staying in this hotel fro a couple of days. All the amenities are really awesome and one can happily come here for their next stay even. The beds are very comfortable to relax and every other related aspects are simply perfect. Needless to mention about food, it is just awesome. The prices are even very much related to the various amenities we get here like swimming pool and cocktails and even the best part is utmost safety.

Room Tip: All room are really very good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We hadn't heard about the Lizard King Hotel until we were walking one day and saw a sign of a girl in the swimming pool with cocktails. This is exactly what I wanted on a hot Caribbean day. We went in and reserved it for one night. We ended up staying seven days total. Nice staff, comfortable rooms with air condition, clean swimming pool and delicious breakfast. It is next to everything you need.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Puerto Viejo was definitely not what I was expecting..it was a super young vibe with tons of action going on once the sun went down. Lizard King was a great place to stay, as is located smack on Calle Principal, the site of all of the action, yet felt very secure and safe (Puerto Viejo is awesome, but seems seedy). The room was plain and minimal, but was clean, had a good fan, and cool high ceilings. We had some trouble returning a rental car to National/Alamo on a particular Sunday, which was going to put a major wrench in our travel plans. Bethany, who runs the hotel with her husband, went above and beyond and so helpful helping us resolve with issue (our Spanish skills were not good enough to figure this one out). Also, breakfast was included and it was delicious. If you want to use Puerto Viejo as a jump off to get to Bocas Del Toro, Caribe Shuttle will pick you up right at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

There are few things as wonderful as waking up to the awesomeness of the ocean’s panoramic view. If you are planning a vacation to Costa Rica, one of the most beautiful places to stay, is the Lizard King Hotel and Resort in Puerta Viejo. At this gorgeous location, you will enjoy the beautiful blue waters right from your hotel room, or you can take an early morning or late evening stroll on the breathtaking beach.

This ocean side living is matched only by the hospitable, courteous and professional service of the hotel staff. They work very hard to ensure their valued guests receive the best possible concierge service. Staff can be seen throughout the hotel with welcoming smiles that make you feel right at home.

The Lizard King Hotel and Resort is a two-story, 15 room hotel that provides its guests Wi-Fi and a very tempting fully-stocked bar.

The rooms are spacious and equipped with a satellite flat screen television, mini refrigerator, table or ceiling fan, gourmet Britt coffee, full or queen size bed, swimming pool access and a private bathroom with loads of hot water. Each room can accommodate 1 to 4 guest s at the reasonable starting rate of $40 per night.

Lizard King Hotel and Resort has a number of fabulous dining options. The breakfast restaurant is conveniently open 24 hours. They offer a large selection of incredible entrees, but certainly don’t forget to try the Tostadas Francescas and seasonal fruit bowl that will make your mouth water for more.

For dinner take your pick of delicious Mexican food including their famous Lizard King Burrito. Be sure to wash your meal down with the best margaritas in town!

Happy hour is always a lot of fun and the restaurant offers this to guests several times a week in English and Spanish. Patrons enjoy exotic martinis and margaritas with homemade cookies and enjoyable desserts.

When you stay at the cozy Lizard King Hotel and Resort you experience the best in Puerta Viejo vacationing. It is the clear choice for the connoisseur of pleasurable travel at an incredible price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lizard King Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard King Hotel Resort

Address: Calle Principal - 600 metros sur del Banco | Costa Rica (On the main road of Puerto Viejo), Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lizard King Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lizard King Hotel & Resort for its great location, friendly service, fun amenities, beautiful wooden rooms and building structure.Free WiFiFree BreakfastFree ParkingFree Swimming Pool Access - 24 hours, 7 days a weekFree Bus-stop Shuttle to HotelGreat Location - Next to Everything & across the Street from the BeachLaundry ServiceOrthopedic MattressesAir ConditionMini refrigeratorMini BarCable TelevisionCafe RestaurantBakery and PastriesTours and Attractions Appointment ManagementOnsite Massage Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lizard King Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard King Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizard King Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.