We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lotus Garden

Save Saved
You added The Lotus Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lotus Garden
25 Mts South of Stanfords, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica (Formerly The Lotus Garden (Jordan's Jacuzzi Suites))   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It is true that the Lotus Garden is outdated. The first room we got was poorly ventilated and there was one fan which hardly worked. However, the second night we switched rooms for the same price, and it was much better. We had a ceiling fan and two floor fans, and the room was a lot nicer. The staff is extremely nice and accommodating. They are knowledgeable and helpful. The gardens and grounds are very beautiful. For the price, I think its a good deal, as long as you request a room with a ceiling fan or A/C. We peaked into the luxury rooms and those looked beautiful.

Room Tip: ask for a ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    14
    12
    14
See reviews for
6
42
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights here..the manager was very friendly and helpful and the location of this place was excellent. During our stay on the hotel grounds we saw sloths, lizards, tree frogs, crabs, tree snakes and butterflies...a really unique experience and pretty good value!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

No doubt the worst place we stayed in Costa Rica. First you will be charged your room before even you see it. Our room, some place far in the backyard was awful: dirty walls and even some animal droppings around. Everything was in poor shape. The holes in the wall covered by plastic bags. To this stage we jut were ready to survive until some cockroachs appeared in escene and to avoid being asked for divorce they were my only casualties in Central America. To finish it all, breakfast was never served and the staff was uncaring about it... thanks god a very nice Belgian guy had open his cousine a few meters away. Never again to this hotel!

Room Tip: No way to the rooms far in the backyard!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This Place is one of a kind in Puerto Viejo. From the entrance to the staff everything is nice, they are very friendly and accommodating. my favorite place is the library which give me some relaxation while reading good books, my room was well equipped and the hot shower really works well. Over all the Garden is superb while swimming in the pool surrounded by different varieties of flowers.

Room Tip: Lotus Garden has a nice sushi too. its All you can eat Sushi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantic city nj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The property is in sad need of updating & repairs. My jacuzzi suite was dark, sheets were dingy, towels frayed.. Balconey was nice but the one chair was filthy and the table was covered with some type of animal droppings. The room was on the 2nd floor and there were no lights working at night which made for a hazardous climb to the room & next to impossible to see where to put the key! When I complained David told me they had to get an electrician and it might be a couple of days. When I complained again Pam (who was very helpful) lent me a flashlight and then proceeded to balance herself on a tall barstool and change the lightbulb! So much for the story about needing an electrician. The pool area was not conducive to sitting outside - the chairs were filthy and broken and the pool had green algae growing and was obviously not cleaned for some time. After many attempts to contact the owners/managers (who obviously did not care at all about the sad state of this property) I was able to move without a penalty for the nights I had reserved. DO NOT WASTE YOUR $$$ HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: stay anywhere but at the lotus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Loved this great restaurant and hotel! I went in for some shade, sushi and bit of book reading. The food was superb and the ambiance soothing. Music was perfect and the beautiful drinks served by David were the best I had in PV. I was so impressed with the service and attention to detail that I moved from my current hotel to stay the next two nights here. The room was clean, huge and the shower was clean and hot! I finally exhaled when I landed here and wish I had booked here to start..Did I mention my room was a mere $60 per night. I felt very safe and this is important to me since I am single and travel alone. There were bars on the window and door to my cabin. It was quiet and peaceful at night. The beach was across the street and the staff helped me find everything I was looking to do, including the amazing Jaguar Conservation Center. Be sure to meet David he is charming and a wonderful host. I will be returning to this hotel with more time and look forward to relaxing in this serene environment.

Room Tip: There is not too much difference between the $40 and the $60 rooms- so if you are on a budget go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is a typical costa rican hotel bit outdated but a good value for the location( 90 $ for the Geisha room with jacuzzi) Yes they have visiting sloth we were told by the neighboors they can have up to 5 , we saw just one ( awesome). Staff very friendly we got 2 rooms so they gave us a free mattres in one room( in one room the jacuzzi wasn t working ) We just ate breakfeast there ok and good price. Owerall if you want to stay closer to the night action and don't want to sleep in a really cheap place it is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lotus Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Garden

Address: 25 Mts South of Stanfords, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica (Formerly The Lotus Garden (Jordan's Jacuzzi Suites))
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Relax and enjoy on Costa Rica's Caribbean coast in our Japanese style suites and gardens. A friendly and attentive staff, a pleasant garden with swimming pool and the beautiful ambiance of The Lotus Garden restaurant will make your stay with us unforgettable." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lotus Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lotus Garden (Jordan`s Jacuzzi Suites) Hotel Puerto Viejo
The Lotus Garden Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lotus Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.