We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of paradise in Puerto Viejo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Little piece of paradise in Puerto Viejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just recently spent a week at Cashew Hill, and I really can't say enough positive things about it. This is a trip that's a few years in the making--we heard about the cottages a few years back, and FINALLY decided to make it one of our main destinations while in Costa Rica for this year's trip.

And it couldn't have been a better decision.

The property itself is extremely well maintained. Constant improvements are being made and you feel secure and at home while there. We stayed in the Kinkajou cottage (which I highly recommend) and it was amazing. It was a two floor cottage with kitchen, bathroom, small living area and a couple of single beds on the first floor; on the second floor, you'll find a couple more beds (one single, one double) and a great balcony with hammocks and seating area. We felt completely at home and found the cottage extremely comfortable and cozy; the kitchen was also a real big plus because the food costs in Puerto Viejo are pretty high (restaurants, grocery, etc. cost about the same as in North America) so this allows you to scale-back spending if you want to make your own meals.

The following is the wildlife we spotted in and around the property: sloths, monkeys, toucans, parrots, exotic butterflies, spiders, frogs, iguanas, lizards, geckos, beetles...the list goes on and on. We knew we would be in the jungle, but were still quite impressed by the variety of the things we spotted.

And the cherry on top of the cake--the staff of course. Andrew, Allie, Edwin, Raul, and young lady (sorry, we don't know your name) THANK YOU for the great stay!!! We'll see you guys again soon enough :)

Richard & Alain

Room Tip: We recommend the Kinkajou cottages. Bring a flashlight and bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

There are no words to describe my recent stay at Cashew Hill. Everything from the cottage itself to the people who work there was just incredible. Upon our late, rainy night arrival, I was greeted by Edwin (hotel manager), the most sweet and cheerful man. Even though we were in the middle of a rainforest thunderstorm and extremely exhausted from the 5.5 hour taxi ride from SJO, Edwin was able to pick our spirits up and make us feel happy and welcome within seconds. He showed us to our cottage, took care of carrying our heavy suitcases, and even got us to hang out at the main deck for a few cervezas and a game of pool!
The next morning (after being woken up by the monkeys!!!! :D) we were finally able to see Cashew Hill in all its beauty! Every cottage is very unique, with a fully equipped kitchen, and offers amazing views of either the ocean or the rainforest. Right by our deck in Kinkajou was a gorgeous starfruit tree from which I was able to pick fruit, and just outside of it, a myriad of exotic flowers and plants.
At 7am, Edwin, Milena (housekeeper), and Raul (grounds worker) were already hard at work with coffee ready for all the guests. Edwin was enthusiastically helping a family staying in another cottage plan a day full of activities in the Puerto Viejo area. He obviously had a great rapport with all the local business owners, as they were prompt and punctual when picking guests up for activities. He provided amazing advice for what to do and see in the area and without him, the trip would not have been as fun filled as it was!
During our visit to Cashew Hill, we had the opportunity to stay at two cottages; Kinkajou and Sloth, both of which I LOVED and both of which I highly recommend! There is a beautiful little pool that is meticulously cleaned every day, a relaxing patio area where you can grill and eat dinner, and a great main deck area with a bar and pool table. Of course, there is also Reesey, the Cashew Hill guard dog, who is the sweetest 100 lb dog I've ever met and who loved nothing more but to play and run around the gated compound all day.
Cashew hill is fully enclosed and offers great safety and privacy. There are two doors and guests have keys to both. It is a perfect 5 minute walk from the bustle of the town. EVERYTHING is walking distance and if you're not into walking, bike rentals cost five dollars per day. Whether you cook your own food at the cottage or go out to eat, I guarantee it will be the best food you have ever tasted; can't go wrong with any of the restaurants or food markets.

I knew I would never want to go home when I saw how sad every guest leaving was and that is why I have already booked my return ticket to Costa Rica and my stay at Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages!

Room Tip: Stay at any of the available cottages, they are all so different and unique, you'll want to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this really wonderful place for our 25th anniversary. This place was perfect for us as we love wildlife,hiking, and prefer to stay in unique places like this. Our cottage had a full kitchen for cooking and just out our front deck was a beautiful view of the beach called Playa Negra. We cooked dinner almost every night and watched the sunset right over the beach and jungle. I know we were on the Caribbean and face east but somehow we got an amazing sunset almost every night. I enjoyed reading in the hammock and watching the toucans and other beautiful birds that were all around us. We even got to see a humming birds nest with a baby humming bird in it.
The property and gardens are amazing and because it is located on a small hill there was a really nice breeze. During the day it was really hot but surprisingly the temperature drop a LOT at night. With the fans on at night we actually had to ask Edwin the host for an extra set of sheets. Edwin was so nice and helpful. He helped us book tours and answered all of the questions we could think of. As a previous review mentioned there were no safes in the cottages but we asked Edwin and lucky they had a safe at the main lodge for guests to use. We locked up our passports and camera. Whenever we needed our camera we asked Edwin and he would retrieve it for us right away. One thing I was completely surprised about was that we had better internet there in the jungle then I do in our house in the city. It rained really hard one night and I think we lost the connection for a few hours but that was the only issue we had with it.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica so were were a little apprehensive and worried about security. There is alot of scary information out there about Puerto Veijo so we didnt know what to expect. Once we arrived we immediately were able to relax. The property was completely fenced in and only the guests were able to come and go with a key. While we were in town we looked at some of the other places that we almost stayed at and we couldn't have been more happy with our choice. We only stayed one week this trip but we cant wait to stay for two or three weeks next time. Keep up the good work guys! See you soon.

Room Tip: Playa Negra Cottage is Amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Although we did not spend the night here we did chill out an good afternoon in the perfect surroundings of this nice cabin hotel. The owners Edwin and Andrew welcomed us perfectly with some refreshments and were able to tell us everything about Puerto Viejo and what to do there.

The next day Andrew showed us around town, watched a baseball match from the local team ( which they sponsor !) and took us to a very refreshing waterfall! Very warm and welcome people.. very reccomendable!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Yes, the property is beautiful and the cottages are very cute and artistically decorated. They also come with kitchens which is a huge plus, but I would definitely not stay here again for two big reasons: 1) it is BUGGY! and yes I know this is Costa Rica and it's to be expected, but they have no windows (just screens) so lots of bugs get through at night. Even using the mosquito nets over the beds, little bugs still got through and I woke up every morning totally bit up.
The second problem is that 2) the rooms have no safes, so there is no place to store things like your passport, laptop, extra $$, etc. while you're gone for the day. You have to either carry them with you or trust that your valuables will not get robbed during the day.
Basically, I stayed here during my very first trip to CR. It was kind of a big adjustment for me at first, given the heat, bugs, dirt, etc, and staying at this place will give you no relief from any of that. If you want to have a much easier transition to the country and more comfortable stay, I would highly recommend getting a place with windows, A/C, and a safe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Cashew Hill Rocks. Great accomodations and staff. Andrew is the perfect host. Anything we needed or wanted to do he took care of. The pool area is recently renovated and very refreshing to have on the beautifully manicured grounds. Walking distance to the beach store and shops makes Cashew Hill an easy choice in Puerto Viejo.

Room Tip: Unless you plan on leaving the PV area during your stay rental car is not neccesary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a wonderful week long stay here and had to tear ourselves away. The acting manager, Edwin, was a wonderful host and instant friend. He arranged a horseback ride for us on the beach (awesome!), helped us contact the van-service when we thought we'd lost something on the ride, booked a hotel for us in San Jose, and basically made us feel like family. The cabins are cabins, so if you're expecting a bright, generic hotel, this is not the place for you. We stayed in two cabins and found them both clean, comfortable, and unique. We did have some little lizard and grasshopper friends inside, but the mosquito nets were more of a psychological comfort than necessity. Although the dogs didn't keep us awake, there are a few overactive roosters and monkeys nearby. (Then again, if you have problem sleeping with the sounds of wildlife, why come to Costa Rica?) The dipping pool is wonderful after a day on the beach or sweating it up in the jungle. The bar area (with pool table and honor-system beverages) was a fun spot to unwind and catch up. We'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Also Known As:
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Hotel
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Costa Rica/Limon
Address: 200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Specialty lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cashew Hill is an out of the ordinary place, just minutes by foot, from the center of Puerto Viejo. Walk up the path by the soccer field and find a sanctuary like no other. Glorious gardens with tropical plants of every type, birds of every color, butterflies, sloths, kinkajous, ocean views, ocean breezes and... Cozy cottages, designed with comfort and harmony in mind, await you. Cashew Hill has seven cottages designed with fully equipped kitchens, sleeping rooms, living areas... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages to your Saves list