We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too rustic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Save Saved
You added Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages to your Saves list
200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A little too rustic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Yes, the property is beautiful and the cottages are very cute and artistically decorated. They also come with kitchens which is a huge plus, but I would definitely not stay here again for two big reasons: 1) it is BUGGY! and yes I know this is Costa Rica and it's to be expected, but they have no windows (just screens) so lots of bugs get through at night. Even using the mosquito nets over the beds, little bugs still got through and I woke up every morning totally bit up.
The second problem is that 2) the rooms have no safes, so there is no place to store things like your passport, laptop, extra $$, etc. while you're gone for the day. You have to either carry them with you or trust that your valuables will not get robbed during the day.
Basically, I stayed here during my very first trip to CR. It was kind of a big adjustment for me at first, given the heat, bugs, dirt, etc, and staying at this place will give you no relief from any of that. If you want to have a much easier transition to the country and more comfortable stay, I would highly recommend getting a place with windows, A/C, and a safe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Cashew Hill Rocks. Great accomodations and staff. Andrew is the perfect host. Anything we needed or wanted to do he took care of. The pool area is recently renovated and very refreshing to have on the beautifully manicured grounds. Walking distance to the beach store and shops makes Cashew Hill an easy choice in Puerto Viejo.

Room Tip: Unless you plan on leaving the PV area during your stay rental car is not neccesary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a wonderful week long stay here and had to tear ourselves away. The acting manager, Edwin, was a wonderful host and instant friend. He arranged a horseback ride for us on the beach (awesome!), helped us contact the van-service when we thought we'd lost something on the ride, booked a hotel for us in San Jose, and basically made us feel like family. The cabins are cabins, so if you're expecting a bright, generic hotel, this is not the place for you. We stayed in two cabins and found them both clean, comfortable, and unique. We did have some little lizard and grasshopper friends inside, but the mosquito nets were more of a psychological comfort than necessity. Although the dogs didn't keep us awake, there are a few overactive roosters and monkeys nearby. (Then again, if you have problem sleeping with the sounds of wildlife, why come to Costa Rica?) The dipping pool is wonderful after a day on the beach or sweating it up in the jungle. The bar area (with pool table and honor-system beverages) was a fun spot to unwind and catch up. We'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We actually went in June 2009, and I hope we can return someday. Nice, quiet location on a hill above town. 5 minute walk to restaurants. Lovely compound and pool area. Wonderful owners who helped us plan our trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I loved this place so much. Manager Edwin was the best lodge host we have ever had - saying a lot. Landscaping is incredible. Pool was totally clean... in the jungle. How do they do it? Must be magic. The bar area is outside and has snooker table. Very private and well designed. We shall return soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Decent location, nice grounds. 5 minute walk to town and beach. We were in two cottages during our 10 day stay. Both were dark and damp. Pool is a soaking pool only. Dogs at the bottom of the hill are very noisy at night. Dogs are a problem in Costa Rica. They pretty much run wild and howl all night and sleep in the roads during the day. We had a number of cool nights, most welcome, but ran the fan to try to drown out the noise from the dogs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't have asked for a better stay!! Everyone was so friendly and inviting! We stayed in the canopy cottage. Plenty of space for us and cozy. The kitchen is open which was wonderful in the morning cooking breakfast. The only downside to the cottage is the outside bathroom door. You have to walk out to get to the bathroom but it had a nice big shower and was very clean. No big deal for us but it might bother someone else.
The main lodge has a great bar! Help yourself there and everyone is so friendly and trusting.
Edwin was a fantastic host and just a great friend! So helpful with anything we needed! Does a great job running the place while the owners were away. Loved him!
All in all a fantastic stay and we could easily added an extra month on our vaca! Definitely stay here at cashew hill!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Address: 200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Specialty lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cashew Hill is an out of the ordinary place, just minutes by foot, from the center of Puerto Viejo. Walk up the path by the soccer field and find a sanctuary like no other. Glorious gardens with tropical plants of every type, birds of every color, butterflies, sloths, kinkajous, ocean views, ocean breezes and... Cozy cottages, designed with comfort and harmony in mind, await you. Cashew Hill has seven cottages designed with fully equipped kitchens, sleeping rooms, living areas... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.