We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibes, great management, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra de Suenos Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tierra de Suenos Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great vibes, great management, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week and couldn't have been happier. Jake and Maureen, the couple who run the place, were incredibly hospitable, inviting and they make a mean breakfast which I miss already.

We really like the bungalow too.

It's in the jungle so if you can't handle that you might want to look into other places. You are surrounded by beautiful rain forest and the grounds keeping is pretty immaculate.

Playa Chiquita, where they are located, is the best place to stay in the Puerto Viejo area too. It is walking distance to the best beaches and some great restaurants.

Can't say enough good things about this spot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    19
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
119
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We miss it already and can’t wait to go back! My wife and I stayed for two weeks at Tierra De Suenos for our honeymoon. This was just what we needed after our wedding. We couldn’t have picked a more magical place. It felt like home. Very cozy.

We stayed in the Zen Garden two-story bungalow, which had a kitchen for convenience on those nights we chose not to bike into Puerto Viejo for food. Plus, being vegetarian we weren’t sure of the local cuisine, which we were surprised to find had a lot of options to eat out. We rented bikes while there which made it easier to get around. The owners and staff were very accommodating and friendly. The property was well taken care. You could tell they put a lot of love into maintaining the place. It was truly enchanting. Awakening to the howler monkeys every morning reminding you of the surrounding jungle was amazing. We looked forward to breakfast on the patio every morning. The food and coffee were delicious. The fresh fruit was the best we’ve ever tasted. After we returned from our morning adventures we found our bungalow always clean and the beds made. The first week it rained around sunset for an hour or two providing a much needed relief. We found the rain very refreshing after a hot humid day.

If you stay here you should go horseback riding with Bruce, who owns a stable just down the road called Playa Chiquita Riding Adventures. We did a nice sunset ride on the beach and he provided interesting conversation. There are also several restaurants within walking distance. We recommend eating at La Biela, La Botanica Organica and Jungle Love.

We found ourselves spending a lot of time in the hammocks on the second floor of our bungalow enjoying the beautiful surroundings after a day at the beach. This was a great time of the year for us, since we prefer less crowds. The beach was only a five minute walk and mostly deserted this time of year. The beach in Playa Chiquita was beautiful. We felt like we were on a deserted island. The jungle path led us right to the beach. Lots of crabs along the path too. There was just jungle, sand and water along the entire coast line. No big hotels to ruin the view. This is the perfect place for those who like to get away from the busy city life. We recommended this to all our friends and family.

JP & Esther

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for the final night of our vacation and found it magical. There are literally monkeys jumping and playing all around you. The owners/hosts are very friendly with great personalities. The cabins are charming, nestled within wild landscape. While photographing the monkeys, I stumbled upon a sloth, giant grasshopper, fresh limes and fruit trees- wish we could have stayed longer!

katia / aaron

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Friends and I rented two bungalows - a 1 room bungalow for 2 and a 2 floor bungalow for 4. The hotel is located slightly outside of main town of Puerto Viejo so it is nice and quiet at night but convenient for going out to dinner etc. The owners are friendly, knowledgeable and flexible. We got back late from a day trip that we had planned on our last day in Puerto Viejo and the owners were very understanding about us checking out a bit late.
The rooms are not air conditioned, but ceiling fans overhead are reasonably effective. There are mosquito nets around the beds which are also quite effective. I didn't get any bug bits while sleeping. Breakfast is definitely worth going to every morning because the food and coffee are amazing. Highly recommend Tierra de Suenos to other travelers!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were there for a week at the start of June. The bungalows were very clean and nice. The location is great for both getting to the beach and the jungle, and there are a number of good restaurants close by. Puerto Viejo is a cab ride away at night, but it is easy enough to have the hosts (who were great) call one. Our hosts were very helpful in booking trips and giving honest and accurate advice about what to do (or not). It was fun to be surrounded by the noises of the jungle at night, although that did mean occasionally being awakened by howler monkeys. All and all, we had a great time and will go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We were referred to Tierra De Suenos by the owners of a local cafe'/guest house we stayed at on our previous visit to the area. We knew we wanted something rustic, with a mix of the feel of camping out doors but small luxuries of home and this lodge fit that idea perfectly! So we booked a week stay for our entire wedding party of 12 (which included 1 1/2 year old and 2 1/2 year old girls).
The layout of the grounds was perfect for our large group: each couple/person getting their own bungalow that was nestled in the beautiful lush trees/plants that were on their own neat little well groomed paths winding about property. My fiance and I stayed in Casa Colibri with our 2 1/2 year old daughter, our parents stayed in Zen Garden, and our friends (2 other couples, a family of 3 and a bachelor) stayed in the other single room bungalows. Ours came with a VERY refreshing rain shower that we enjoyed a few times a day after being out in the heat or being at the beach…it was a nice way to end the long day before slipping into our giant comfy bed upstairs. We did have some house guests such as spiders, roaches, ants, and even a very rare visit by a scorpion, but it was all part of the adventure and to be expected when being in the jungle. The scorpion was unexpected, but removed very quickly by the owners! We were also lucky enough to have a sloth hangout a few days right outside the Zen Garden bungalow, almost within arms reach from the top balcony on one of the lines! And we also saw a large iguana on the grounds behind the reception house who let me get within feet of him to take a great picture!
While it was a bit of a shock for some of our guests the first night (the heat, the bugs, the roosters), especially since we arrived after dark, by the end of the next day everyone had warmed up to the place and the location after seeing our true surroundings, having a wonderful breakfast, and visiting what turned out to be our favorite spot on the entire trip…the beach.
Just down the road (about a 5 minute walk), left of the bungalows, was a cool little path lined with flowers, large trees and crab holes that opened up to the most perfect spot on the beach that we found our entire two trips to the area. The water was crystal clear every single day, warm as bath water, with a great combination of shallow and deeper spots. There were coral reefs that some of us snorkeled around for hours finding different types of crab, fish, and beautiful sea shells. And the little one enjoyed playing in the white sand! There were also plenty of doggy friends that visited us each day, one pair even visited us in Manzanillo one day, swimming with us and having us hold them in the water!
On the same road, to the right of us, was a small Italian restaurant run by 3 “happy Italians” as we called them, who served tasty food, cold drinks, and charged only 50 cents for wi-fi! Just past them was a little grocery store that also sold fresh baked goods daily…some of our guests enjoyed a slice of fresh key lime pie every single day of the trip thanks to those ladies at the store! And down the road either within walking distance or by bike, left or right, were restaurants of different varieties…we ate at as many as we could and enjoyed them all ;)
I can’t thank Angie and Brendan enough for providing such a warm and beautiful place for our group to stay…they catered to the needs of 12 people wonderfully, providing a unique and delicious breakfast every morning, and even going so far as to help me hand pick the flowers for my wedding bouquet from their very yard…as well as put it together and make boutineers/corsages for all our guests :) If we needed a cab or to contact the company for any of our tours, they were there to help! And their staff was always friendly, the kitchen girls made for good chatter and company in the mornings, and they kept our rooms cleaned daily! Ginger and Cody, the dogs, were always present, but not pesty and kept us entertained and feeling guarded from any possible intruders…whether it be a chicken or bird ;) Everyone and everything really made it a perfect and beautiful wedding week adventure for all!
If you get the opportunity to visit and enjoy the outdoors and wild life, this is a wonderful spot with gracious hosts, beautiful surroundings, and access to many different restaurants, beaches, and small little towns to explore! Punta Uva, Playa Chiquita, or Manzanillo…they are all just a bike ride, walk, or cab ride away! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

we planned this trip for our 20th wedding anniversary. i thought it would be exciting to stay in the tropical portion of costa rica and experience the culture. Unfortunately, there is not much culture in this area. tierra de suenos is at least 10 min from the nearest town, and it is difficult to get there without a car. Yes, it is close enough to bike, but the drivers are crazy! the road is very narrow and there are no street lights, no where for bicyclists to ride except on the road with the crazy car drivers!! Not safe day or night for travelers. So, we felt a little secluded without a car.

it gets dark very early in august, 5-6pm. After dinner there is nothing to do unless you can get to the town. We usually ate dinner and then went to bed. We were awaken daily around 4-5am with the howler monkeys. i really loved the monkeys, but there was no sleeping in. Plus, the sun was up!

The accommodations were ok. We stayed in the 2 story suite. Can not remember the name. It has a kitchen upstairs with a family type room. What the description happens to leave out is that you must go outside to get upstairs or back to your bedroom. Just thought that a little odd. Should be mentioned.

The worst part, just so you know is the water, or lack there of! The water was turned off by the city at 6pm every night! no kidding. No shower, no toilet, no sinks.... it was not pleasant. Our hosts forgot to mention this to us. I was told on the day before we left that they had a water tank they could turn on if we needed it. Yes, please! For a shower before we left the next day! It was miserable being without water. It was muggy and hot, who wouldn't love a shower before bed or to be able to flush the toilet!!. The first night before I realized the water was off, I had already went to the bathroom and could not flush.... we lived with the stink throughout the night, yuck.

The hosts were pleasant enough. They do say that they have games to play in the common area, not so much a common area, it is their living space, their living quarters. When I asked for a few games to play in the evenings when there is nothing else to do, I got a deck of cards and connect four. I am not kidding. No other games. We played cards every night. Really.

The room had nice towels and linen. Unfortunately, the towels never dryed because of the humidity and were never replaced with new ones. A good thing, there was no need for the bug net because the windows has screens. A good thing.

Our excursions were interesting.... the first excursion with the whitewater rafting was fabulous! tons of fun. We set up all of trips with the same company, the one Brendan and Angela resommended. All of the other excusrions were headed by young guides, mostly just relaxing. One day our guide picked up a friend who did the tours with us. She just hangs out and joins tours occasionally. Another day, our guys flip flops broke and he hiked through the jungle in bare feet. Did show us some interesting bugs and animals, but overall just relaxing attitude, not that interested in making sure we had an exciting time. the atv excursion was definitely not a full day and not worth the money. Just pass. Zip line was crazy and exciting. So, overall the excursions were disappointing. I just felt the guides were not professional, just guys waking up that morning taking some tourists out. The rafting was different, very well done!

I would not recommend staying at Tierra de Suenos. It was one of the more expensive places, and i do not think worth it. There are a few other places almost next door with airconditioning. What a difference that would have been! I loved the rain forest, but needed to be able to step out of the humidity and have a good night sleep. Running water would have been so nice.

Room Tip: pick an airconditioned place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Owner at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Sounds like Tierra and the surrounding area were not a good match for you. The water issues (now all fixed at Tierra) which we last experienced 9 months ago were unfortunate and area wide. When the coast goes through a dry spell the town will ration water. After experiencing this issue we re-did our entire water system adding a well and reserve tanks to avoid having to ration for our guests so that even when the coast is experiencing extreme dry spells and shutting off the water supply we have plenty!

Costa Rica is still a developing country not without it's problems in infrastructure. Visitors who fully enjoy the experience come here with an open mind and adventurous attitude.

Tripadvisor and internet commentary in general should be used as supplemental guidance and insight after reading an establishment's official website. Reviewers make clear what they enojoyed or didn't enjoy but with so much commentary it is hard to sift through and find facts about what is actually offered. In this case had the reviewer read our FAQ page they would have seen that we do not have AC, are located 6km from Puerto in the amazing community of Playa Chiquita, etc. We go out of our way on our website to honestly depict our B&B and its amenities since it is not for everyone and realistic expectations lead to happy guests and happy hosts.

People choose Tierra de Suenos because our location provides a natural setting with quick access to the rain forest and the most gorgeous beaches on the coast. Playa Chiquita, where we are located, has two grocery stores and several wonderful restaurants. Again, we highly suggest that future visitors read our website thoroughly because it will help you form an accurate idea of what to expect which makes it that much easier to have an amazing vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tierra de Suenos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra de Suenos Lodge

Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine your exploration of the raw beauty of Costa Rica with a vacation that will suffuse your whole being with health and wellness. Tierra de Suenos Lodge is the only Wellness Center on the pristine Caribean Coast offering a traditional and holistic approach to health. With a diverse staff of holistic healers offering everything from healing with raw foods, reiki, massage , yoga and meditation, and a luxurious infrared sauna, you can spend your vacation reconnecting with your inner oneness and surrounded by the beauty of the jungle. Your Costa Rican Wellness Center cozy hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine beaches of Playa Chiquita and spectacular rainforest. Paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tierra de Suenos Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra De Suenos Hotel Puerto Viejo
Tierra De Suenos Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra de Suenos Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.