We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Staff, Location, and Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaya's Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kaya's Place to your Saves list
Kaya's Place
In Front of Playa Negra | Before Last Bridge Into Town, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Kenora, Canada
1 review
“Perfect Staff, Location, and Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The construction of Kaya's Place is a timber-framed work of art, with a very artistic attention to detail- the furniture is built in the same manner, and is both beautiful AND comfortable! It does not look like a budget hotel by any means, almost every wall having a bright, very well painted jungle-themed murals and framed pictures everywhere depicting the African roots of the region.

The rooms are clean, quaint, and beautiful, the beds are the same artisan construction as the hotel. The rooms stay relatively cool in the most intense heat of the day, and the A/C can be turned on if need be. The two places I stayed in Costa Rica were both very aware of energy conservation. Lights and A/C should not be left on at all when not in the room.

The staff are excellent, and are eager to help. It is difficult to find locals who speak good english, which is probably the root of the poor comments about the staff. They don't have to learn english- we are in THEIR country, and trying to speak un poco espagnol helps.

The restaurant is EXCELLENT, but only offers North-American style cuisine. Great breakfast, lunch and dinner!

All in all, it was a fabulous stay, every morning walking out of my room through a lush courtyard garden to the front lobby, then cross the road straight onto the black sand beach and the Carribbean!! At the end of the 4 nights it felt like home. Thank you to the staff, the owner, and the other guests!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    14
    14
    14
See reviews for
15
27
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Viejo is a gringo-town, no doubt about it. Of all the places I stayed in CR, this town by far has the most amount of tourists and expats. This little joint is owned by fellow from Vermont who is super kind. All of the staff speak great English. It's situated right across the beach and about a 5 minute walk away from all the hustle and bustle of the town. Food here is all Italian (great pizzas and sandwhiches but don't expect anything healthy). The American-style breakfast is delicious. They also brew there own honey beer here which is heavy on the honey side.

Expect a lot of old American dudes, blues and classic rock playing non-stop, and lots of places to lounge around (including a few hammocks). The rooms are clean and cool enough -- open air with fans. Prices were decent. Laundry service is a plus. WiFi is respectable. Many of the rooms do not have a private bathroom but they keep the shared toilets and (freezing cold) showers relatively clean. There's also a pool table in back. Fun place -- loved the vibe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We were excited about staying here and in the end we were let down. We called ahead and booked a room for 2 nights and left our number. After we drove 10 hours, we were informed that the room we booked was not available and that we could only stay one night. They didn't call us or suggest any alternative options. The room was musty with only 1 towel, 1 coffee mug, and a broken coffee maker. The bathroom smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in months. Our outside light did not work. Too bad because the buildings themselves are beautifully decorated with amazing murals and tile work.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very affordable, very friendly staff who welcomed us when we arrived. The restaurant/bar downstairs offers excellent food (no, really!). There was a regular hum of music and conversation at night, but nothing unpleasant. We stayed in the budget room, which still had a comfy full size bed and even a room cleaning service daily. It gets a little hot on the side facing the street, but with the fan on we slept fine. We had a great time in this town, and Kaya's was the perfect place to stay. The beach right across the road is great, and just a (3 km) bike ride away is some awesome snorkeling! Definitely a great value, and family friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are warmer at night and you can hear people talking on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Friendly, welcoming staff, great breakfast, great location (main street 3 mins walk, beach is opposite). Ok, the rooms arn't the cleanest and they do smell of damp, but they look fantastic, - apartments with sofa, lounge and bedroom in the jungle!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

For me, Kayas Place was the best choice in Puerto Viejo. A quiet locaiton only 200 m from town, a wonderfull Playa Negra just across the street.... Very friendly atmosphere and staff, restaurant and bar where you never get bored....espetially when the home made Honey - Mango Bier was on tap. A luxury beer, I loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We enjoye our stay at Kaya's place. It's ideally located by the beach (although I'd recommend walking/cycling further up for nice beaches) and very near the town and supermarkets.

We got given a nice garden room, and would recommend paying extra for this as the other rooms are very basic.

The food is very nice in their hotel restaurant, with delicious pizzas and cheap drink deals.

If you get your washing done with them make sure you give plenty of time, plus if you're going to rent a bike choose one of the places in town as they're cheaper than Kaya's place.

It was a very nice hotel though and we'd certainly stay here again if we're ever lucky enough to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaya's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya's Place

Address: In Front of Playa Negra | Before Last Bridge Into Town, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, Hostel and Private Bungalow with Bar (Luke's Tap Room - Hand Crafted Beer on Tap) and Restaurant (specialising in wood oven pizza) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kaya's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya`s Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kaya's Place Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaya's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.