We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush jungle vegetation, beautiful beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Totem Hotel Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Totem Hotel Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Totem Hotel Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1,5 km south Puerto Viejo Beach Front | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Springfield, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lush jungle vegetation, beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A wonderful hotel that is surrounded by lush vegetation, and a beach right across the road. The beach is beautiful but there are huge waves and a very strong riptide. Not advisable unless you are a surfer.

Chairs (any kind) to sit on the beach were uavailable, either for rent or to purchase, and sitting on a towel was not an option for us. Even in the hotel areas there very few lounge chairs. The hammocks were very comfortable and made up for the lack of the chairs in the hotel area.

The restaurant had delicious food and the menu was varied. You can tell this is a family owned hotel and the family makes sure everything is done correctly. Very acommodating staff who showed genuine concern for our well being. When I had a upset stomach one night, the che made some food that I would be able to eat on his own initative.

This hotel is near to everything and well worth a visit. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Totem Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments.

It is a pleasure to know you are happy with the services of Totem Hotel. The wellbeing of our clients is the most important for us.
See you next time.

Mariela Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    86
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
44
132
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This has the best beach access in the area. You are just steps away from the beach. They also have a wonderful surf shop that gives great lessons. We had the suite rooms that are huge and can easily sleep a family. Our room had 1 king and 2 queen beds and walked straight out to the pool. It is well worth the extra money for the suites. The staff was excellent and very kind and helpful. AC worked great the entire stay. The resturant had very good food and we ate there several times. Parking is secure and we also felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was looking for a peaceful get-away (from San Jose) and this was perfect. Within walking distance to Puerto Viejo but far enough away to be a retreat, right across from a lovely beach (Playa Cocles), this lovely hotel was perfectly situated amid lush gardens. I appreciated the chair hammock by the room (standard) and the larger hammocks by the jacuzzi. Room was large, clean, and well-appointed (except for no TV). I enjoyed waking up to the birds and the sound of the ocean waves. Breakfast was included and was ok, but a little skimpy on the fruit. Still, this is a place I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Finding this hotel on the Internet was our lucky day. My sister was visiting from Canada and wanted to see the blue Caribbean. As I live in Atenas, Alajuela we got the bus to San Jose and then visited Siquirres on the way to Peurto Viejo. It was a little confusing with the bus stop but once we arrived the desk staff were very helpful in extending our stay and giving information on activities and the room was very comfortable and spacious. The service and meals in the restaurant was excellent and breakfast was included in the room rate. The beach was directly across from the hotel and the sound of the surf at night was so calming. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you are looking for a place that will live up to expectations...book the Totem Hotel.
Helpful, friendly staff, nice rooms and you are close to town, but far enough away to be undisturbed by the noise of bars, restaurants, traffic or other tourists.
Front desk staff (Mariella) will handle all arrangements for trips to animal rescue sanctuaries, canopy (zip line) tours and side trips to Panama (Boca del Toros)....she was sooo helpful!
Restaurant on site serving breakfast, lunch or dinner was adequate to satisfy your palate, even if not fine cuisine.....this hotel gave you your monies worth and then some...would definetly book this site on any return trip to Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Totem Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello Dave & Linda,

It was a reeeally pleasure you stay with us and can help you. For me, my best reward is to realize our guests, can become our friends and that you are pleased with our labor.

Thank you very much to let other people know about your experiece in our Hotel.

I hope see you again. some day.

Hugs,

Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alki, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

After staying the night at a hotel we hated down the street, I stopped in here to see if they had rooms (they had gotten good reviews in the Lonely Planet guide book ). The woman who was in charge was so nice - she showed me all the different types of rooms available and the prices were very reasonable.

Our room was huge - and we had a great view of the beach, air conditioning, a mini fridge and cable tv. It was clean, the food in the Italian restaurant for breakfast and dinner was fantastic and everyone who worked here was so nice and helpful.

You can rent bikes, take surf lessons and book tours all through the front desk. The location can't be beat - you walk directly across the street to surf, boogie board or just watch the locals hit the waves.

Thank you to Totem for saving our honeymoon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Proprietario at Totem Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We're really happy that I could contribute to making your honeymoon pleasant and relaxing, often everything you read in the reviews and 'greatly exaggerated compared to reality' we should not take everything literally, the service in the hotel is the staff .
cordial greetings and good marriage ...
Marco Ferrara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stopped off here for one night on our way to Bocas del toro. The room was basic with a decent bathroom and was pretty clean. The grounds are lush and the location is right across from a nice beach. Place was quiet and staff was friendly. The restaurant food was not the best but it did look clean. The pizza was doughy and undercooked service was good. Breakfast is included and the food in the morning was better than dinner. If you are looking for a basic place that is clean and close to the beach this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Totem Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello Schneickos

Thanks a lot for share your comments with other people. And good to know that Totem was exactly what you were looking for to spend the night.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Totem Hotel Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Hotel Beach Resort

Address: 1,5 km south Puerto Viejo Beach Front | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Totem Hotel Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totem Hotel Resort embrace the spirit of simplicity and quality, timeless elements of tropical architecture are employed in creating accommodations of impeccable elegance and style. The hotel is a perfect place to relax, enjoy the beach and experience typical Italian cuisine.Totem is designed as an homage to the sand, sun, waters, and all things beautiful of the beach that is only a few feet away from the resort. This place was surrounded by jungle and yet just steps from a REALLY nice, uncrowded beach: Playa Cocles. Very relaxed atmosphere, nice hotel grounds. A big plus is the wonderful, family owed restaurant with an array of Northern Italy foods as well as tasty Costa Rican dishes located right on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Totem Hotel Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totem Hotel Beach Puerto Viejo
Totem Hotel Beach Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Totem Hotel Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.