We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Puerto Viejo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Chiquita Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Chiquita Lodge to your Saves list
Playa Chiquita Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Puerto Viejo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Playa Chiquita lodge is a good place to stay if you want to spend some days in the Costa Rican Southern Caribbean "Cahuita-Manzanillo". It is located 200 meters from the beach, right in the middle of the forest. From our bungalow we could easily spot some animals : colibris, toucans, howler monkeys and iguanas. The bungalows are a basic but spacious with a nice veranda. The bathroom could be updated a bit. The location is excellent, in a quiet place by the beach and outside the noise and traffic from Puerto Viejo. It is 4 km (2.5 miles) south of downtown Puerto Viejo. You will need transportation if you want to move around that area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    12
    19
    15
See reviews for
25
48
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

You wake up and walk through the forest. On the beach no one in sight. You take a swim. Back at the lodge you grab a banana, have a chat with the owner and his partner. Friendly guys. One of the most relaxing place I've ever stayed at. And done a few. Will always be my choice in Puerto Viejo.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I recently spent a week at the lodge with my 14 year old daughter. The cabins are rustic and have only the essentials. Wolle, Tito, and the rest of the staff are extremely friendly and made us feel like family. They invited us to a special meal on new years eve, and there was also plenty of time to soak up the jungle, sun, and beach.

For anyone reading the bad reviews, I must say, when you live somewhere like the US or Europe, if you expect the same conveniences that you have at home, don't bother traveling, just stay home. Costa Rica and Playa Chiquita Lodge are a pleasant reminder of the simple life; the good life. All you need is there, and if they don't have it you should learn to live without it. Get over it.

Room Tip: Rooms are all good. Plan to bring some warm sleeping clothes if you visit in the winter- Only needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I chose this place because it was budget friendly and we were already spending 2 nights in a more expensive place. The website made everything look nice but this was not so. The rooms were ok but it was not clean... The bathrooms smelled awful, dead roaches on the floor, and I even had ants crawling in my bed and had to spray off to kill them. The fan was wired the wrong way so it turned the wrong way pushing hot air down on us. We asked for another fan but they said they didn't have one. The staff did not seem very friendly and spoke to us only when needed. The location of the lodge is ok. Not far from town and a short walk to the beach. I would definitely spend a little bit more money and stay somewhere else!!!!!!! I've stayed at many budget friendly places all around the world some with no hot water or electricity and have never had a negative experience like this!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollebissinger, Gerente at Playa Chiquita Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Google Translation
Hola, tenía muchas ganas de contestar a este comentario, sabíamos que iba a ser muy malo porque esta pareja nos dejó una nota amenazando con una crítica muy mala en TripAdvisor y deseándonos lo peor en el futuro, unos cobardes porque no nos dijeron nada a la cara en ningún momento, gente con ganas de hacer daño con críticas destructivas en vez de constructivas. Esta pareja llegó, no se comunicó absolutamente con nadie y se fue. Siempre estaban callados, precisamente nuestro personal es muy amigable y constantemente están riéndose y hablando con los clientes. Este es un hotel muy familiar y hay una relación estrecha con los clientes. El lodge estaba lleno y no habían más ventiladores disponibles, el ventilador tiene un dispositivo para cambiar el sentido del mismo, si nos lo hubieran dicho lo hubiéramos cambiado sin problema, pero no abrieron la boca en toda la estancia. Lo de la suciedad ya nadie se lo cree porque todos los comentarios son buenos al respecto. Este es un lodge de jungla y playa, algunos insectos pueden entrar en la habitación, lo que pasa es que hay gente que no entiende donde están. Nos amenazaron también en su nota de despedida con escribir una terrible crítica los dos, para hacer aún más daño. En fin, una experiencia lamentable con esta pareja. Tito Servitje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great Location! Private Beach. Rustic, but clean and comfortable. Monkeys and sloths in the trees....this place is truly paradise! Great breakfast in the morning. Friendly staff. Wolfe and Tito are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

For years I traveled with my parents to this place in the Caribbean and at that time fascinated us. Two months I traveled with my partner Central America and wanted to repeat the experience with him, I must say that the place was totally shocked me, what I thought was a paradise seemed to disappear when the essence of the place. Lack of cleanliness, bad dogs olientos, scanty breakfast, poor quality, and no attention from the hotel. I recommend not to stay in this place, because for the same amount of money we paid you can have much better things. I must admit that the location is great but other things do not. I hope one day again be the place that I met one day. Really a shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tito s, Manager at Playa Chiquita Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi Kimberly, I think you're wrong a lot, for a long time no one talks like that about the lodge, if you expect a 5 star hotel you confused of place. Neither is dirty or bad breakfast, you're the only one who thinks so, and you know that the exception proves the rule. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Playa Chiquita Lodge is set back from the main road, surrounded by jungle and a short stroll to your very own uncrowded beach. Wildlife surrounds you here, from howler monkeys to the hosts three dogs, butterflies and lizards.
The cabins are spacious and clean, with hot water showers and two double beds in each and you can laze the days away on your own hammock on the verandah reading a book from the extensive collection Wolfe has. Each morning, a yummy breakfast of fruit, eggs and toast awaits you.
The lodge itself is about five kilometres from Peurto Veijo so if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay, this is ideal. The area has a supermarket and restaurants nearby and a cab into town is about $8 or you can hire bikes for about $5 a day.
I would recommend Playa Chiquita lodge for the budget conscious family, couple or a group who don't mind sharing a cabin. Wolfe and Tito have extensive knowledge of the area and can help you with any questions you may have. Thanks Wolfe and Tito, hope to see you again someday :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Chiquita Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Chiquita Lodge

Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Chiquita Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolf personally oversaw the planning, construction and design of the lodge. He draws his inspiration on the simplicity of the local architecture. – Wolf’s idea was to maintained the simplicity of the local life style and live in harmony with the surrounding nature, so us to destroy as little as possible the original flora hence its habitat – Wolf’s long standing relationship with and commitment to Playa Chiquita community is reflected in all aspects of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Playa Chiquita Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Chiquita Hotel Puerto Viejo
Playa Chiquita Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Chiquita Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.