We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful environment with welcoming people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Chiquita Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Chiquita Lodge to your Saves list
Playa Chiquita Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful environment with welcoming people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were visiting as a family (all adults), looking for a relaxing but culturally authentic experience for our first time in Costa Rica - and that's exactly what we found.
Location: perfect. You're surrounded by nature and barely 5 mins walk to a gorgeous private beach. The lodge is far enough out of Puerto Viejo that there was no noise from the town, but close enough to walk in, and there are a number of bars and restaurants nearby.
Atmosphere: Between them, the staff and volunteers spoke English, German, Spanish, Catalan and French, so travellers from all over the world would be catered for here. We found everyone friendly and more than willing to help if we had any questions. The lodge would be suitable for families, couples, groups of friends or individuals. People who are huge partiers would probably not like it, as it's fairly quiet.
Food: The breakfast was simple and fantastic - fruit platters and freshly squeezed juice of your choosing, eggs as you like them and bread with cheeses. I highly recommend having a dinner at the lodge during your stay. The owner's family prepared a veritable feast and we chatted and drank wine for a good part of the night.
A couple of people in our party became ill (nothing to do with conditions at the lodge!) and the owner, Wolf, was more than accommodating in finding them medicine and food they could eat.

As for some of the negative reviews on here...it's clear these people were looking for a ritzy resort experience where they could have the exact same amenities as they do at home, with the benefits of a beach and jungle. The lodge is not luxurious, but it is clean, comfortable, surrounded by nature, and feels like a home while you're there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollebissinger, Manager at Playa Chiquita Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, you understand perfectly what our lodge is, come back anytime friend. Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    33
    15
    21
    16
See reviews for
25
50
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Don't come here if you look for luxury and attractions. Come here if you are looking for cerenity, piece and connection with nature.

I left part of my heart at this lodge. It feels like it belongs exactly where it is and that it is part of the nature. Wolf the owner is an amazing human being, and it is worth staying in the lodge just to get to know him.

Staff, includibg Tito, Eddi, Elias, are very friendly and forthcoming.

Free breakfast includes fresh juices and fruits, eggs, omlets, cream cheese (never had such fresh in the USA), jams, coffee and tea. Staff allows its visitors to use kitchen to cook their own meals (restaurants in the area are rather pricey).
Towels are fresh every morning. Hammocks near each room. Kids stay for free until age of 10, just paying for breakfast.

Private path to ocean is a little piece of jungle with blue crabs, banana trees and birds. Takes about 4 minutes to get to water. Ocean is secluded, beach is clean.

Amazing, clean vibe.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollebissinger, Manager at Playa Chiquita Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Masha and family, thank you very much for your comment, all of you have left footprints on our hearts, has been a real pleasure to met all of you, come when you want 'cause this is your home, see you in NY when we go. Lots of love! Tito & Wolle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Costa Rica last month and were loooking for rustic places, to experience nature and peace. This place was perfect for us. Gourgeous jungle area, beautiful natural rustic ambiance, the little beach is magical, and the Spanish owner and all the people working there were super kind, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family traveled to Costa Rica for the first time and were looking for a truly authentic experience. We loved it! The lodge is right in the jungle, with easy access to a beautiful private beach. The cabins are roomy and clean, with a covered front porch where you can swing in the hammock while listening to the jungle sounds or an evening rain. It's just a few minutes from the nearest town of Puerto Viejo, an easy bike ride. Wolf was so completely hospitable, we felt very much at home.
If you're looking for a pristine, controlled air environment with all the amenities and look of an American hotel, this is not the place for you. However, if you're looking for an authentic Costa Rican lodge in the jungle where you can experience the culture and feel of the local environment, this is most definitely the best place and is a great economic value. Thank you Wolfe and Tito!

Room Tip: All rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at this lodge for a few days, the rooms are kind of rustic, they are nice if you are looking for a real in-touch-with-the-nature experience, since the only thing in the bedrooms was a fan that barely worked and a mosquito net (mine was torn). The bathroom was clean. The included breakfast was a little bit disappointing.
The best thing about this hotel is the 200 meter path to the "private" beach, if you don't care about the walking, this is a really beautiful path that ends right in the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollebissinger, Owner at Playa Chiquita Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
the critic about our breakfast sounds a bit strange: We offer Coffe and tea, eggs, 3 kinds oft fruits, pineapple,water melon, papaya or melon ,creme cheese, hard ch eese, butter, jam, cold milk with cereals, fresh fruit juice. should we offer more?
Wolf Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

Puerto Viejo, Limon, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed at this lodge for a few days. As nice and amazing and clean the rooms are they are a bit on the expensive side. The owner is an amazing german man who has much to talk about and is the sweetest person alive. The place is relaxing and close to the beach. The manager of the lodge you definitely want to avoid because he never has anything good/helpful to talk about. A waste of life.
But on the other hand, check it out if you want some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollebissinger, Manager at Playa Chiquita Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Petlik , I haven't the pleasure to know you and I guess you don't know me either. Makes me laugh that talk like that about me, I'm in the lodge for 7 months and you can read reviews that talk about me, I don't care what you think of me because you don't know me at all, I guess when you talk about a waste of life you mean your life, right?, please don't judge people without knowing them, will be certainly better for you. Thanks and nice regards. Tito (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stay there a couple of days ago and we are in love of this place and our stay was very pleasent...the staff is so friendly!! Specially Tito! We would definitively stay here when we come back :) Muchas gracias amigos!! Vielen danke Wolle!! PS I was checking the past reviews and I want to make something clear...here in Costa Rica we LOVE animals and we dont have a problem whatsoever for them to be a company for us and you can't expect to have a typical dish for breakfast if the place is run by germans! :p

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Chiquita Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Chiquita Lodge

Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Chiquita Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolf personally oversaw the planning, construction and design of the lodge. He draws his inspiration on the simplicity of the local architecture. – Wolf’s idea was to maintained the simplicity of the local life style and live in harmony with the surrounding nature, so us to destroy as little as possible the original flora hence its habitat – Wolf’s long standing relationship with and commitment to Playa Chiquita community is reflected in all aspects of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Chiquita Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Chiquita Hotel Puerto Viejo
Playa Chiquita Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Chiquita Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.