We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and quiet place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Loco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Loco Lodge
Save
You added Coco Loco Lodge to your Saves list
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“convenient and quiet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Walking distance to Puerto Viejo main streets and the beach, away from the hustle and bustle. Easy access to the variety of restaurants and the main bus stop for those who are travelling via public transport. The property is large so parking is available in the premises. The room that we were in had a safe, a mini refrigerator, a coffee maker with tea and coffee, a fan, a tv set and an air conditioner. The bed had a mosquito net which was unnecessary in our case. Hot water shower in the attached bathroom. Outside the room, there was a hammock and a lounge chair. The cabina was on stilts so the room was cooler than I expected. Room 4 and 5 do have air conditioners. Overall it is a good place with a reasonable rate. Lilian was helpful and allowed us an early check in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    69
    15
    9
    1
See reviews for
38
119
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great area and the ground are wonderful. The staff was very nice and the cabins are great and very quiet. It would have been nice to have AC or at least to have screens on the windows so you can leave them open, but all beds did have netting. Overall a very nice place to stay and close to everything that you could want.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

i made reservations in june for our october trip, we get to coco loco
as soon as it gets dark and they tell us the gave our room away caused of credit card issues but when i made my reservation (back in june)they asked for my email address and phone number, so she could of called me to let me know there was a problem with the card but NO. so they had a place for us for that night but we would have to find something else for the rest of our trip, we wake up in the boring to see the pictures made this place look good but the mattress was gross the kitchen smelt bad the place needs an update boo boo boooo thumbs down to coco loco AND the beach is not as close as they tell you, not beach that you would want to hang out at

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownercocoloco, Owner at Coco Loco Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your respond on tripadvisor with which you threaten me already in the first place .
Yes its true you made a reservation in June for October with your creditcard and it was confirmed for the whole time. On your arrival date we tried to block your card for the first night because the hotel was full and we already sent other clients away ,but to our surprise your card was denied and so we canceled the reservation which is a normal procedure all over the world !
You arrived late at night and told us your card was stolen thats why it was not working ... well I am sorry for your problems you had with a stolen card but still it is your responsibility to provide a VALID credit card for your reservations ! It seemed as you had a bad time in Costa Rica and everything came out at our hotel . We had space for you for the first 2 nights and we also offered to find another hotel which we did after you stopped screaming at us and threaten us with your negativ review . I hope you had a pleasant time afterwards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a great place. The grounds are nice, the cabanas are great for the price. Beats a boring hotel room. No hot water or AC but that's part of the charm in my opinion. Staff at at the cocoloco are great; make you really feel at home. The only downside I can think of is that it's not right on the beach.. a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Take the owner's advice on activities such as jungle hikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownercocoloco, Owner at Coco Loco Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, its always a pleasure to see that people are satisfied. I do not know why you write there is no hot water and A/C ?? All units of the hotel have hot water ( maybe there was a breaker down and we did not know ) and we have 5 units with A/C . The palm thatched bungalows do not have A/C because they have a good natural air flow with the screens on top .
The swimming beach is 2 blocks away which is 2 minutes walking distance , and cocles surfing beach is 15 minutes walking
We appreciate your staement and we hope we can fulfill your stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The best part about staying here was likely the staff, although the location and fact that you can have your own cabina is great too. Our cabina didn't have A/C and the fan didn't seem to be adjustable so we had to get used to sleeping with it blasting directly on us. Some might enjoy this of course but I prefer to have it moving air but not blowing directly on me while sleeping. Mosquito netting around the bed was somewhat ineffective also due to the ongoing wind of the fan although the mattress was comfortable enough.

Cabina had a front porch with a chair and hammock and mosquito coils were provided. We thought the mosquitoes weren't too bad until we kept finding more and more bites and realized that the mosquitoes there were just smaller and more stealthy than our counterparts.

If you plan to go on any excursions talk to the front desk and ask them to help you book it since they know the different places and people and can save you having to choose between some of the tour companies - plus as a bonus the staff will receive a commission on the booking and it doesn't cost you any more - a nice way to thank them for their service.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was my second time in this place and I got back because I got satisfied with everything, the parking lot is safe, the bungalows are very nice and full equipped. The room is clean with a/c, t.v, a hammock in which you may rest any time. Being very close to the beach and the town this is a silent place, and in the morning you will be woken up by birds or monkeys so this is very nice it´s something different. The staff is friendly and just in case they also offer delicious breakfast..

Room Tip: Any room will be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice grounds, cute cabins in the jungle. We stayed in rooms #4 and #5 which have AC. Unfortunately, the AC unit in cabin #4 didn't cool the room properly. The owner disagreed and told us that it was working fine, but we could walk between the two rooms and #5 was cool and #4 surely wasn't. Puerto Viejo was really hot with no breeze, so we only stayed the one night.
Privacy could be an issue if both rooms in the cabin are occupied as the walls are very thin.

Room Tip: AC works great in room #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Loco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Lodge

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel A hotel with a more intimate atmosphere than a larger hotel, offering fewer rooms, staff members and/or services; all rooms have private bathroom facilities. Comfort equipped palm-thatched bungalows and private houses in hotel Costa Rica, village Puerto Viejo, Caribbean coast, surrounded by scenic jungle, huge garden, tropical plants, animal life, ocean side accommodation for 1-6 people with lots of amenities, TV, kitchen, wifi internet, fridge, drinks, breakfast, tours, transfer, parking, coffeemaker, night guard, room service, more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Loco Hotel Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Loco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.