We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalows Calalu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bungalows Calalu
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Gorham, Maine, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Not only was the couple who runs Bungalows Calalu incredibly short, rude and unhospitable, but boy, were the photos on the website deceiving! The rooms and pool looked spacious and the poolside bar enticing... don't be fooled! A wide-angle lens was used to shoot these photos. The "bungalows," located just off the main road in Puerto Viejo in the downtown area, are tiny, and I have never seen a pool so small. The bar pictured on their website is not only inactive, but guests are not allowed to bring beverages to the seating next to the pool area. The site is set back from the road a bit and the landscaping is nice, but the bungalows and the entire campus are miniature! We expected small, but even the two-story bungalow for two couples was ridiculous. The stairway to the second story, a series of slickly coated wooden planks with staggered bumps just big enough for your toes and with no risers, were wildly dangerous, particularly since the AC was dripping water onto the stairs whenever it was running. The owners were angry with us for using too many towels (2 per day) and tried to prevent us from making coffee in our room ("No cooking!"). There are so many options in the area... keep looking!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

It’s a shame the owners don’t have a hint of what Customer service means. I arrived very tired from my trip and far from feeling welcome I had to deal with the owner, a very rude lady. My friends arrived a day later and ran into the same luck I did.
I go to Puerto Viejo a lot, and I like to stay at different places, I had always had great experiences with customer service until this time. Definitely this was my first and last time on this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Bungalow was exactly as the pictures shows there were no surprises. I was travelling with my 13 month old daughter and the option for a kitchen was a good choice. I was able to make her bottles and brew a few cups of coffee each morning. Added bonus is that its in near to town.. A bakery and lots of restaurants within walking distance...

I would recommend Bungalow Calalu..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Private, super nice bungalows, cozy pool, no wifi in our room - the one with a/c, terrace and kitchen-, no fresh towels, toilet paper or soap if you dont ask for it.
Super affordable, if we had actually liked Puerto Viejo Limon, we'd come back to stay here.

Room Tip: no wifi in our room - the one with a/c, terrace and kitchen-
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed only 2 days, 1 night ...love the rooms, excellent service, very clean place, the swimming pool was delicious..The environment was exactly what i was looking for, a lot birds, no mosquitoes , lovely gardens.
We didn't have any problem with the service since the kitchen was fully equipped just ready to cook... Markets very close and also a very good restaurant.
The owners very nice people, no complaints ...100% recommended

Room Tip: If you wan to have a home made dinner pick the 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

There are a lot of good things about this place; its quiet, nearby town (10 minute walk), has a swimming pool and is not too expensive for what you get. There's also a gate that closes at night, so you feel safe. The garden is beautiful with al the flowers and we saw some hummingbirds. Unfortunately they don't have breakfast and you cant buy anything to drink or eat. But a supermarket and restaurants are nearby. The room is basic, buth clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

It is 100% true, the owners of this hotel are EXTREMELY rude!! They got wrong our reservation dates, room type and rate. When we checked in and asked for the proper room we were told we never booked that room and everything was "our" mistake. The woman's attitude was aggressive, abrasive and just plain mean. She refused to listen to any common sense or even offer us any other options, other rooms, discount, money back...nothing. She point blank said, "I own this place and I don't make mistakes"! The only reason we didn't go elsewhere was because it was a busy weekend. I won't go back. The owner is not from Costa Rica, she is from Spain, and has no manners. No real restaurant or bar and very small pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bungalows Calalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Calalu

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 66 Specialty lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Also Known As:
Calalu Hotel Puerto Viejo
Bungalows Calalu Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalows Calalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bungalows Calalu to your Saves list