We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but very poor Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalows Calalu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bungalows Calalu
Save
You added Bungalows Calalu to your Saves list
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place but very poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

It’s a shame the owners don’t have a hint of what Customer service means. I arrived very tired from my trip and far from feeling welcome I had to deal with the owner, a very rude lady. My friends arrived a day later and ran into the same luck I did.
I go to Puerto Viejo a lot, and I like to stay at different places, I had always had great experiences with customer service until this time. Definitely this was my first and last time on this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
34
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Bungalow was exactly as the pictures shows there were no surprises. I was travelling with my 13 month old daughter and the option for a kitchen was a good choice. I was able to make her bottles and brew a few cups of coffee each morning. Added bonus is that its in near to town.. A bakery and lots of restaurants within walking distance...

I would recommend Bungalow Calalu..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Private, super nice bungalows, cozy pool, no wifi in our room - the one with a/c, terrace and kitchen-, no fresh towels, toilet paper or soap if you dont ask for it.
Super affordable, if we had actually liked Puerto Viejo Limon, we'd come back to stay here.

Room Tip: no wifi in our room - the one with a/c, terrace and kitchen-
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed only 2 days, 1 night ...love the rooms, excellent service, very clean place, the swimming pool was delicious..The environment was exactly what i was looking for, a lot birds, no mosquitoes , lovely gardens.
We didn't have any problem with the service since the kitchen was fully equipped just ready to cook... Markets very close and also a very good restaurant.
The owners very nice people, no complaints ...100% recommended

Room Tip: If you wan to have a home made dinner pick the 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

There are a lot of good things about this place; its quiet, nearby town (10 minute walk), has a swimming pool and is not too expensive for what you get. There's also a gate that closes at night, so you feel safe. The garden is beautiful with al the flowers and we saw some hummingbirds. Unfortunately they don't have breakfast and you cant buy anything to drink or eat. But a supermarket and restaurants are nearby. The room is basic, buth clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

It is 100% true, the owners of this hotel are EXTREMELY rude!! They got wrong our reservation dates, room type and rate. When we checked in and asked for the proper room we were told we never booked that room and everything was "our" mistake. The woman's attitude was aggressive, abrasive and just plain mean. She refused to listen to any common sense or even offer us any other options, other rooms, discount, money back...nothing. She point blank said, "I own this place and I don't make mistakes"! The only reason we didn't go elsewhere was because it was a busy weekend. I won't go back. The owner is not from Costa Rica, she is from Spain, and has no manners. No real restaurant or bar and very small pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We had no idea where we were going to stay in Puero Viejo. We were SO thankful when we stumbled onto this place!! Beautiful gardens, helpful staff, nice pool, and the bungalow was simply amazing. Perfect for me and my three friends. Close to town and a 15 minute walk to Cocles. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bungalows Calalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Calalu

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Calalu Hotel Puerto Viejo
Bungalows Calalu Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalows Calalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.