We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work. worth less than $50 or less per night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kasha
Playa Chiquita | 5 km. south of Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 1991, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Needs some work. worth less than $50 or less per night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel Kasha has the potential to be $80 / night rentals but are really worth $45 in my opinion. And here's why (I'll start with the bad and then give the good)
- The cabins need some serious TLC. Need paint in a bunch of places and those floors are just awful. Kept my flip flops on the whole time in there. Bathroom didn't give me the warm fuzzies either. Furniture in the cabins not really comfortable at all. Beds were ok though.
- Ants. BIG scary monster ants were all over our front porch and got into our cabin and into our beds. Everybody was bitten multiple times (my wife and daughter are still suffering from their ant bites after our stay there). Yes this is Costa Rica and we're in nature and stuff, but they had a powder that they used way to sparingly to control the situation. Mark off a perimeter around the cabin with that powder and be done with it!
- The pool is not maintained very well. Needs a thorough scrubbing around those edges.
- The whole pool area is kind of in shambles and needs some serious TLC to bring it up. Grass needs cutting, the oddly thrown together terrace needs the beams painted or hidden or something. No bathroom at the pool and that moldy tarp there reminds me of something from a redneck paradise.
Here's the good. The dining area was clean. The breakfast was fine. Too many of the coffee mugs were chipped at the bottom though (can hold bacteria there), but I was able to find an unchipped mug finally. In general, the grounds seemed well kept. Just around the pool was pretty rough. For the price and the current condition, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    5
    3
    13
See reviews for
16
33
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Kasha many times and I always have an amazing time. This time I visited the hotel with friends last week and they loved it! The bungalows are big, comfortable, clean and surrounded by trees. You can hear the howler monkeys at any time of the day. We had the typical Costa rican breakfast which is: gallo pinto, scrambled eggs, bread, juice and coffee. Plus cereal and banana bread. I love the pool area!! It has a beautiful garden and you can get cocktails and shakes! Yummy! The staff is very friendly and polite, and they are always willing to please their guest!

I totally recommend the hotel! When you visit hotel Kasha please say hi to Laura, Henry and Ana..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Cockroaches in the bedroom, and mousetraps in the kitchen... We checked out of our '1 week stay' after 1 night. Be warned!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Costa Rica, our second visit to Puerto Viejo. We have traveled the entire country, staying a few days at each location, exploring the area then moving on, usually a 15 day vacation. We have returned to the Caribbean coast boasting it as our favorite area.
We stumbled upon Kasha hotel purely by chance with 2 cabanas available to us. Our cabanas were joined together sharing a deck with a dividing wall between them. This was perfect since we were traveling with another couple. The rooms are more than adequate housing 2 double beds, a mini fridge with freezer, table and chairs in the room, a safe, closet and a bathroom with large shower.
When we travel we always bring a cooler with us to keep our drinks cold. The fridge in the rooms were very welcome to house our booze, sodas and ice; some snacks and treats store easily in the fridge away from the heat and humidity. There is a store 2 properties down the road we visited ofen to keep the fridge full!! LOL
Our first morning we were woken from howler monkeys in the trees behind us, there must have been 50 to 100 of them howling and jumping from tree to tree. What a sight, what a treat. In the tree next to the cabanas there were 2 sloths living in the tree, reaching for the leaves to eat 1 by 1 occationally stoping to look at us watching them. At one point a sloth came down from the tree, crawled across the yard and climbed up another tree.

The hotel has new owners....Laura and her father Henry. A tico family from San Jose. Laura was always ready and willing to help us with anything. She helped up book some tours for us. She called the tour company arranging a time for us and had the driver come pick us up, customizing the tour to our needs. Her father Henry is a quiet man and also the cook. Henry heard us talking about wanting going to Manzanillo, he offered to drive us there in his van and pick us back up when we were ready. He wouldn't take any money from us for the drive.
Fernando the gardener is a quiet happy man always willing to help at any time. He always kept the hotel grounds groomed and clean.

The Caribbean coast is very hot and humid, Kasha hotel has a welcoming pool with lots of lounge chairs in the sun and shade. There are very few hotels in Puerto Viejo area with a pool so we felt privileged to have this available to us. The hotel was intermittent with guests coming and going so the pool area was never busy, we often had it to ourselves or enjoyed a nice conversation with other guests. The ocean waves can be quite turbulent and aggressive so the pool was great for cooling off when the ocean was rough.

We have always traveled when we visit Costa Rica usually staying 3 or 4 days then move on to continue exploring. We were very relaxed and comfortable at Kasha, we decided to stay for our entire 14 day visit. I think this is the first time I have truly come down and really relaxed on a holiday, the atmosphere here allowed me to relax.
My husband is a mechanic so when it decided to rain all day my husband needed to keep himself occupied (he can't sit and read) so he went to see what Fernando was doing. Fernando was happy to include my husband in some of his maintenace chores, they decided what needed to be done and they worked together to get the job done. The 2 men became friends and chatted often during our stay.

I would like to plan another holiday next and would like to return to Kasha.

Great Hotel, picturesque surroundings, lots of wildlife, friendly staff and lots of amenities in the area.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the property are the nicest rooms but the rooms near the pool have air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Hotel Kasha is the place if you want an intimate, relaxing vacation, pampered by smiling faces

and incredible cuisine. We have promised to return every year, can’t afford to miss such bliss!



Besos!!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I read a multitude of reviews about Kasha and even contacted multiple people prior to going to Costa Rica/Hotel Kasha, and almost all of them said the same things about how great everything was, well, that was not our experience. I am not going to bother posting my review on here as I have seen that anyone who tries to say the first word wrong about Kasha is met with a myriad of excuses of why things were like that (as this likely will be). I am more than happy to tell anyone who is interested how my wedding/adventure trip to Kasha went so feel free to contact me and ask me.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we will always cherish the memories thanks to Louis and his wonderful staff at Hotel Kasha. We opted for the all-inclusive adventure package. After landing at San Jose we were picked up by Juan a.k.a "Senor Hota," our chauffer and guide for the next 2 days. Juan was a very professional and knowledgeable guide who taught us about the country, the people and enthusiastically provided us with a few Spanish lessons! Our first trip was to the local Dairy Farm where we were welcomed like family. We got to play with the calves, ate some delicious lunch, and enjoyed the magnificent views from the farm. We also got to witness the MOST ORGANIZED cows in the world!
We stayed at the “La Cava Del Duende” Mountain Lodge for the night. The view from the room was incredible. George at the restaurant-also from NY, was very pleasant and Cecelia the receptionist took great care of us.
Juan took us to the Irazu Volcano the next day before reaching Hotel Kasha. The whole ride to and from the volcano is breathtaking in itself.
Our bungalow at Hotel Kasha was located in the middle of beautiful vegetation and we were surrounded by the wildlife native to the rainforest. For those who expect a 5-star NYC Hotel …go somewhere else. Matter of fact, don’t go to Costa Rica! Try Vegas…
The pool on the premises is very nice and clean and offers plenty of privacy.
Ronnie and Nico, the restaurant-bar staff were extremely friendly and made us feel right at home. Try Nico’s bloody mary…its pretty good!
Canopy Ziplining is a must if you’re the adventurous type. Its an exhilarating experience to fly over the beautiful rainforest. We also recommend renting bikes from the supermarket right next door and take a trip to Manzanilla which boasts beautiful beaches in the area. You can also reach several lookout points by hiking a little thru the forest. We asked Louis and he printed out a map of the area for us and suggested several places to visit. We were even able to see sharks by following his directions.
The best part of this vacation however was the food! Louis, chef extraordinaire, can take anything to the next level! Don’t go by the menu, let Louis surprise you! You won’t be disappointed.
We really recommend Hotel Kasha if you visit Costa Rica. We were really treated like family and we can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasha

Address: Playa Chiquita | 5 km. south of Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 1991, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable all inclusive vacations, Weddings & Honeymoons, all gourmet meals, premium drinks, thrilling Adventure tours and Ultima Service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Kasha Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kasha to your Saves list