We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merged with Cariblue- awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cariblue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cariblue Hotel to your Saves list
Cariblue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Marco Island, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Merged with Cariblue- awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a room in Totem and learned that they are merging with Cariblue. This is fantastic, because the pool at Cariblue is awesome, while the one at Totem is tiny, shallow and ugly. It is also located next to the street.
Our room was clean and lovely, the shower and bathroom were clean and worked. We had twin beds, a table and a safe in the room. No TV or coffee machine. The air condition worked well. Our room was in a small building with 4 rooms, and it is possible to hear a lot from the other rooms. The resort is fantastic because we saw sloths, iguanas and frogs, in addition to beautiful plants. The staff (or owners) are very nice and helpful. Most speak English, but a few do not. Mariella and Andrea were particularly nice.There is a security guard on site, patrolling the resort. We felt safe at all times. Breakfast is served in Cariblue, it is very tasty and includes fresh fruit, toast, pastries, rice and beans, omelet and yogurt.
Cariblue has a fantastic seafood restaurant (same as the breakfast area), great ceviche. Totem has an Italian restaurant (love and peace), and the name says it all. We had pizza, which was ok. This restaurant is more basic in every way, compared to the one in Cariblue.
Internet was free, and available intermittently. We loved the table tennis set up and the hammocks.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    238
    87
    34
    21
See reviews for
138
333
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Service was great. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Fook was ok...
Music from the pool could be heard on the room which at times wasnt appreciated, but a very good stay overall.
The beach is walking distance and so is the town, but wouldnt recommend walking alone at night because of the town's insecurity.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We loved staying in Hotel Cariblue - it is only a short walk to Playa Cocles the best surf beach of the region: the hotel is very clean, has a wonderful garden, the personnel is very friendly, the food is nice and it is close to the beach - thanks ! Leen

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Having read some of the other review we would like to say first that the food in the Restaurant was very good, we ate here 4 out of our 5 nights stay and each time had wonderful and very tasty meals served by very friendly and helpful staff. In particular Karlin (pronounced Karen) she is always smiling.

Our idea here was to Chill out in the middle of our tour of Costa Rica, and it was the perfect place and although we did chill we also found that this area has a lot to offer, We did a snorkelling/hiking trip around Cahuita National Park, this is a must do, we saw Howler Monkeys, snakes, birds and lots more on the hike and Corals and huge fish during the snorkel trip. Fresh fruit provided half way through and a nice meal in the local village at the end of the trip.

We went to the Sloth Sanctuary which has been featured on Animal Planet and Discovery channel worldwide,and is not too far from the hotel.

Our room at the hotel was well furnished and had flat screen TV if you need it and at times we were able to get the internet in the room although the reception was better at the lobby or by the pool,

The Pool was clean and has a swim up bar. The Beach is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.

all in all a very enjoyable 5 night stay

Room Tip: Tea and Coffee available all day at the side of the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absarokee, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent 3 days at Cariblue in late November. It has a wonderful rainforest setting which is very close to a nice beach. The restaurant had very good meals at a reasonable price. The breakfasts were served on time and with good quality food.

Room Tip: rooms next to the lobby in case it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Let me first clarify that we did not stay at Cariblue, but merely ate dinner one night at their restaurant, SoleLuna, so I cannot speak about the hotel itself. The food was bland and uninspired, from the dry chicken breast to the tasteless fish fillet. Be warned that if you are not staying at Cariblue, they charge a 13% tax on your meal. Add that to the standard 10% service charge, and you are paying a 23% premium on already overpriced food to eat at a restaurant who's quality is in line with chain restaurants like T.G.I. Friday's and Olive Garden.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our 2 kids for 3 nights and enjoyed this place. We loved the rain-forest setting. The breakfast was very good. We loved the laid back culture and enjoyed in Puerto Viejo the most during our trip.

You have to walk a bit to get to the beach and beach there is not safe for kids. We did not eat at the restaurant as they don't have much options for vegetarians. Veronica's was a great place for vegans/vegetarians. The rooms had no telephones so you have to walk to the front desk if you need anything. Being in the forest setting, bugs can easily enter in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cariblue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.