We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cariblue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cariblue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cariblue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Cariblue the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our room was always cleaned beautifully. The grounds were visited by Sloths, lizards and a wonderful array of birds. There are some bad reviews about the food at Cariblue so be careful about what you pick from the menu on the whole we had some good food especially the fish fingers (unlike ours) it was fresh fish lightly cooked and was very good, same goes for the chicken fingers (whole fillets).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    128
    40
    19
    10
See reviews for
78
175
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

These is a hotel that has seen better times although it still has some strong points, the biggest of which is its setting. Reception was fast, easy and friendly. We had chosen a standard room, which was a mistake. Although the room was clean and adequate, these roms suffer from significant drawbacks from a sleep perspective. They are alongside the carpark, which although hidden can be annoying when alarms go off at two am. They also adjoin an area where some of the hotels water systems are placed and the sound of cisterns switching on/off all night is unpleasant. The grounds are superb and it is possible to lie by the pool and watch sloths in the rainforest. Birdlife is good. 6 The hotel really lets itself down in the catering department. On arrival we ordered a beer, a glass of white wine together with a club sandwich and a chicken roll. The club sandwich was OK but the chicken roll was virtually inedible; both were served with fries that were soft and unappetizing. The wine was not good and served in very small measure. When I asked for the bill to be allocated to the room, it came back duly completed with service added and a hand written note on a scrap of paper saying; "Welcome, your tip is not included in this bill". An evening meal was taken in the restaurant which was adequate, but trying to get a bottle of wine was a joke. Asked for the wine list, we received only the list of reds. Then we asked for the list of whites and of about fifteen wines, only two were stocked - both vastly overpriced vin de table. The same ocured with the reds where we pushed to take overpriced house or very expensive European wines. All of the decent reasonably priced reds were unavailable. This is not the best way to start a meal. For information there is a good Italian trattoria fifty yards from the hotel on the road into town. Although the wine is only served by the glass, it is of good quality and well priced. The food is much superior.
However the breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

after long travels & crappy hot uncomfortable rooms - we found Cariblue :) apparantly tv's & a/c are hard to come by in Puerto Viejo? but Cariblue had both! plus a big comfy bed, a pool, the best breakfast & a lovely safe atmosphere. for the money - this is BY FAR the best deal in PV. i mistakenly follwed the advice of tripadvisor, but Cariblue should be #1, not 6

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la fortuna, cr
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

all the staff at cariblue are very friendly, capable and competent. they do try their possible best to make you feel at home and even fulfil special requests (i.e. a whole red snapper bbqed, which isn't on the menue) - besides, the food on the menue was excellent as well. what could be improved upon? make sunbeds and parasols (foc) available at the beach side opposite the hotel + apply little more chlorine to the pool water (was little turbid). p.s. they do serve the best caipi north of brazil (((-:

Room Tip: we were placed at bungalow no. 4, which had no flaws at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our first stop in Costa Rica. Great place! Secluded cottages in a lovely setting. Great swimming pool with swim-up bar. Nice restaurant, good food, friendly staff. Short walk to the beach and not too long a walk into Puerto Viejo. I'd recommend as a place for adults more than kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed there three nights. Rooms are simple but nice and the grounds are VERY nice. It is between five and ten minutes from the centre of town but not sure I'd want to stay in the centre of town anyway.
The staff was professional yet friendly and helpful and most speak english.
The included buffet breakfast was not fancy but quite good and definitely a solid meal. The restaurant is a bit overpriced IMHO but that seems to be true throughout the town.
I would definitely consider staying there again if and when I return to PV.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Cariblue in November 2012. We found the staff to be accommodating and professional. Anything we needed they were happy to provide if possible. Loved Elmer at the front desk!!

Grounds and pool are well kept but it would have been nice if the hot tub was hot and working correctly.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cariblue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.