We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Excpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cariblue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cariblue Hotel to your Saves list
Cariblue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than Excpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Reading mixed reviews I was a little leery to book here but it was the only option available on very short notice. The room was clean and does not offer a tv. It smelled a little damp but that's something that we found in many hotels in Costa Rica. The jacuzzi was not in working order which was disappointing but there's an ocean across the street so we didn't really care. Loved the hammock area to relax in. The food was tasty and we got a 20% discount on one of our meals upon check-in at our room. For us the location was perfect as we don't like to be in the middle of it all but in a five minute drive or quick bike ride, you're in town with plenty to do. There is a cat that loves to share your food and a very friendly dog that might follow you to the beach for a game of stick. We are animal lovers and having pets in restaurants is a normal occurrence in CR, so it didn't bother us. The only thing that irritated me was the ants in our room. Then again, it's CR and there are bugs every where. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello NickyEric,

Thank you very much for letting know to the other people your experience with us. It is motivating when our labor is good enough for our guets.
I hope see you next time.

Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    238
    87
    34
    21
See reviews for
138
333
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights last January and the place is good,my overall expience was positive but I wasn't lucky enough with mother nature,the high tides wouldn't let me go into the water a single day.I'll give it a try again next year to see if I have better luck with that.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi, how are you?
Thak you very much for your positive opinion. Next time we can help you to find some places on the beach that are better for swimming. Come back to us anytime you want... you will be welcome to our Hotel.
Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

These is a hotel that has seen better times although it still has some strong points, the biggest of which is its setting. Reception was fast, easy and friendly. We had chosen a standard room, which was a mistake. Although the room was clean and adequate, these roms suffer from significant drawbacks from a sleep perspective. They are alongside the carpark, which although hidden can be annoying when alarms go off at two am. They also adjoin an area where some of the hotels water systems are placed and the sound of cisterns switching on/off all night is unpleasant. The grounds are superb and it is possible to lie by the pool and watch sloths in the rainforest. Birdlife is good. 6 The hotel really lets itself down in the catering department. On arrival we ordered a beer, a glass of white wine together with a club sandwich and a chicken roll. The club sandwich was OK but the chicken roll was virtually inedible; both were served with fries that were soft and unappetizing. The wine was not good and served in very small measure. When I asked for the bill to be allocated to the room, it came back duly completed with service added and a hand written note on a scrap of paper saying; "Welcome, your tip is not included in this bill". An evening meal was taken in the restaurant which was adequate, but trying to get a bottle of wine was a joke. Asked for the wine list, we received only the list of reds. Then we asked for the list of whites and of about fifteen wines, only two were stocked - both vastly overpriced vin de table. The same ocured with the reds where we pushed to take overpriced house or very expensive European wines. All of the decent reasonably priced reds were unavailable. This is not the best way to start a meal. For information there is a good Italian trattoria fifty yards from the hotel on the road into town. Although the wine is only served by the glass, it is of good quality and well priced. The food is much superior.
However the breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

after long travels & crappy hot uncomfortable rooms - we found Cariblue :) apparantly tv's & a/c are hard to come by in Puerto Viejo? but Cariblue had both! plus a big comfy bed, a pool, the best breakfast & a lovely safe atmosphere. for the money - this is BY FAR the best deal in PV. i mistakenly follwed the advice of tripadvisor, but Cariblue should be #1, not 6

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in the totem. It wasnt that clean, betoveral was dirty, there was a worm in the shower, some ants on the buffet.
Waves in the ocean were to high to swim. Wasnt in the centre, so we had to walk 20min. Or to take the taxi for 5$
Breakfast was not lovely and just a small buffet. Dinner in the restaurant was good but there walked dogs/cats around. Normaly for puerto viejo, but not for us.
We wouldnt go to this place and hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It's a shame to know that your stay with us has not satisfied at all, but it helps us to improve. Our website clearly states that the Hotel is located in Playa Cocles, 1.5 Km South from Puerto Viejo;
taxis get only $4 dollars and we always say the people "if you need a taxi, we call it at the reception", because it is the same taxi we always work with, in the case you have complains you can show up at the reception and we fix everyhing; maybe you get your taxi in the street and not ask for it at the reception. About the room, if you come to the reception and tell us what is happenning, we can mend it and try the rest of the travelers do not get a distorted view of reality.
Thak you very much for everything; we will take it into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just back from Costa Rica and I have to say the totem is the best place where I stayed during the all trip. The location is amazing, just in front of the beautiful cocles beach, few minutes walking from puerto viejo. I have been lucky enough to sleep both in the standard rooms and in the suite and I have to say was impressed by the attention to details. The suites are in front of the Caribbean sea and I loved falling asleep and waking up by the sounds of the waves. The standard rooms are in the middle of an amazing tropical garden, which gives you the feeling of being in the middle of the jungle and actually....you are. The owners and the staff are available, friendly and very helpful, always ready to give advises on things to do. To summarize, I would say, if you are going to the Caribbean coast, this hotel is a must. A little paradise in the Caribbean Paradise. Simply perfect. Matteo

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you Matteo for your comment and the vibe. Comments like yours are our engine to provide better service to all who visit us every day.
All of you will be welcome to our Hotel anytime you come back to us.
Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la fortuna, cr
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

all the staff at cariblue are very friendly, capable and competent. they do try their possible best to make you feel at home and even fulfil special requests (i.e. a whole red snapper bbqed, which isn't on the menue) - besides, the food on the menue was excellent as well. what could be improved upon? make sunbeds and parasols (foc) available at the beach side opposite the hotel + apply little more chlorine to the pool water (was little turbid). p.s. they do serve the best caipi north of brazil (((-:

Room Tip: we were placed at bungalow no. 4, which had no flaws at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cariblue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.