We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel a bit out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cariblue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cariblue Hotel to your Saves list
Cariblue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Grecia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel a bit out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed there three nights. Rooms are simple but nice and the grounds are VERY nice. It is between five and ten minutes from the centre of town but not sure I'd want to stay in the centre of town anyway.
The staff was professional yet friendly and helpful and most speak english.
The included buffet breakfast was not fancy but quite good and definitely a solid meal. The restaurant is a bit overpriced IMHO but that seems to be true throughout the town.
I would definitely consider staying there again if and when I return to PV.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    238
    87
    34
    21
See reviews for
138
333
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I just stayed 4 nights at the Totem Hotel in Puerto Viejo. I have to say it was hard choosing a hotel, not ever being in PV before, so I felt like it was all a crap shoot. But I think I won the game.

The Totem Hotel is a lovely property full of gardens. Like all places in the Caribbean, it's a bit damp, but any hotel is going to be that way here. You get good value at the Totem however. The rooms have an air conditioner. Plus, the rooms are large by any standard. I had a suite, which comprised 2 rooms, and a bathroom. And after looking at a few other hotels in the area out of curiosity, I felt lucky that I picked the Totem. The decor is nice and the property secure.

My room was right across from the Ocean, and it was nice sitting on the balconey in the morning and evening. There is a road between the beach and the hotel, so you do hear cars, and it's an obstructed view, but you do see it. Rooms at the back of the property may not be suites, but they'll be more quiet. (We had the misfortune of being there during a surf competition, and one night music played on the beach very loudly all night long. Terrible. But not the hotels fault. Even the girls in the restaurant were sleep deprived the next morning.)

PV is a great place for a get away, and I'd stay at the Totem again. Even though it's at Cocles, not in PV, it's only 1.5 KM away. You can get there quickly by bike. It's not safe to ride the bikes at night, but seems fine during the day. I especially enjoyed riding the bike to Manzanillo beach 2 days and eating at Maxi's-- a must! The bike ride into PV takes about 5 minutes, so you are close, but in a more quiet place.

Other good things about the Totem: Full breakfast. It was skimpy on the fruit. But otherwise great. Bike rentals. One day they ran out of bikes, and the nice folks at the front desk helped me arrange rentals from somewhere else that were delivered to the hotel. Natalie at the front desk was particulary helpful. When I said I wanted to do a night tour in the jungle, she went out of her way to arrange it. Lovely lady. The young man who rents the bikes was also nice and you could tell he truly loved PV. The nice rasta man that worked the desk at night was also great. The 2 daughters of the owners also work at the hotel, and were working so hard at breakfast every morning. Even when harried, they were still pleasant.

Down side: The restaurant is only open to 8. And they do run out of fish, so make your request early if you plan to eat there. Otherwise, it's not bad. (Other restaurants in the area that I can recommend are Mopri in PV for great and reasonable seafood. Try the soup and ceviche! Soda Johanna's if not bad and has good grilled fish. The well known Lidia's Place-- perhaps I expected more, but it's good and the service is nice. You'll find cheaper sodas though, off the main street of PV, that are excellent and you can eat for 2,500C or 3,500C easily. Stay away from the really touristy places for reasonable prices. Don't miss Maxi's though on Manzanillo beach! It was the best food we had while there.) Back to the hotel though, my downsides are so few. I do wish they'd get better pingpong equipment and better lighting on the table, but the very fact that they HAD a pingpong table was fun. If that's my main complaint, not too bad!

Other notes: Bring flashlights for walking around at night. Even on the property. A bit dim.

In short though. I love this hotel. Loved my room. Breakfast did it's job. The front desk was always willing to help, most of the time with a smile. I'd stay here again, and plan to do so in fact. :-)

Room Tip: Front rooms have partial ocean view but can be noisy.It was when we were there do to a surf tournam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your great comments; It encourages us to be better every day. You will be welcome anytime you comeback to Totem Hotel.

Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at Totem Hotel for a few days, as I was on my way down to Bocas Del Toro.

This hotel is a great option for beach bums, it's right across the street from a great beach. It's also about a 10-15 minute walk to town. Our room and bathroom were big and clean, but dated. The water was hot. The wifi signal was weak.

I couldn't figure for the life of me figure out the the clientele at this hotel. There were young tourists from other South American countries. There were also 60+ americans who looked like they just got off the tour bus.

The food at the restaurant was really awful -- heavy, bland italian fare. The complimentary breakfast was pretty bad as well. I think I ate the soggiest pancake in the world.

Overall, I would not return to to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hello,
Your opinion is welcome, but in other reviews the people raving about the food at our restaurant, it was not to your liking but loved by many people who have been here. Anyway thank you for your opinion, we will take it into account.
Mariela Përez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Cariblue in November 2012. We found the staff to be accommodating and professional. Anything we needed they were happy to provide if possible. Loved Elmer at the front desk!!

Grounds and pool are well kept but it would have been nice if the hot tub was hot and working correctly.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A wonderful hotel that is surrounded by lush vegetation, and a beach right across the road. The beach is beautiful but there are huge waves and a very strong riptide. Not advisable unless you are a surfer.

Chairs (any kind) to sit on the beach were uavailable, either for rent or to purchase, and sitting on a towel was not an option for us. Even in the hotel areas there very few lounge chairs. The hammocks were very comfortable and made up for the lack of the chairs in the hotel area.

The restaurant had delicious food and the menu was varied. You can tell this is a family owned hotel and the family makes sure everything is done correctly. Very acommodating staff who showed genuine concern for our well being. When I had a upset stomach one night, the che made some food that I would be able to eat on his own initative.

This hotel is near to everything and well worth a visit. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments.

It is a pleasure to know you are happy with the services of Totem Hotel. The wellbeing of our clients is the most important for us.
See you next time.

Mariela Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We love the Hotel Cariblue. We have had a wonderful experience in this beautiful place.
The service is excellent, the food is delicious, the pool is very rich and all the staff is very friendly.
The rooms are always clean and have a beautiful garden.
We return to this place as soon as possible ... is the best place in the Caribbean

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This has the best beach access in the area. You are just steps away from the beach. They also have a wonderful surf shop that gives great lessons. We had the suite rooms that are huge and can easily sleep a family. Our room had 1 king and 2 queen beds and walked straight out to the pool. It is well worth the extra money for the suites. The staff was excellent and very kind and helpful. AC worked great the entire stay. The resturant had very good food and we ate there several times. Parking is secure and we also felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cariblue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.