We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush jungle vegetation, beautiful beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cariblue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cariblue Hotel to your Saves list
Cariblue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Springfield, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lush jungle vegetation, beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A wonderful hotel that is surrounded by lush vegetation, and a beach right across the road. The beach is beautiful but there are huge waves and a very strong riptide. Not advisable unless you are a surfer.

Chairs (any kind) to sit on the beach were uavailable, either for rent or to purchase, and sitting on a towel was not an option for us. Even in the hotel areas there very few lounge chairs. The hammocks were very comfortable and made up for the lack of the chairs in the hotel area.

The restaurant had delicious food and the menu was varied. You can tell this is a family owned hotel and the family makes sure everything is done correctly. Very acommodating staff who showed genuine concern for our well being. When I had a upset stomach one night, the che made some food that I would be able to eat on his own initative.

This hotel is near to everything and well worth a visit. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments.

It is a pleasure to know you are happy with the services of Totem Hotel. The wellbeing of our clients is the most important for us.
See you next time.

Mariela Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    228
    87
    34
    21
See reviews for
137
326
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We love the Hotel Cariblue. We have had a wonderful experience in this beautiful place.
The service is excellent, the food is delicious, the pool is very rich and all the staff is very friendly.
The rooms are always clean and have a beautiful garden.
We return to this place as soon as possible ... is the best place in the Caribbean

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This has the best beach access in the area. You are just steps away from the beach. They also have a wonderful surf shop that gives great lessons. We had the suite rooms that are huge and can easily sleep a family. Our room had 1 king and 2 queen beds and walked straight out to the pool. It is well worth the extra money for the suites. The staff was excellent and very kind and helpful. AC worked great the entire stay. The resturant had very good food and we ate there several times. Parking is secure and we also felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cariblue Hotel for our honeymoon. The service was excellent, the rooms were clean and the property was beautiful.
As I'm sure every other hotel in the area has (because of the rainforest), there are HUGE spiders everywhere. They don't bother anyone and they are pretty cool to look at.
The only downfall of this property is that it is a little "far" from the main part of town. However, it is only a 20-30 minute walk. (or a $4 cab ride).
The beach is just steps away, and it is beautiful (although rough... they say you shouldn't go in).

If we ever make it back to this area, we would love to stay here again.

PS - Their fresh pineapple juice was THE BEST we had during our entire trip throughout Costa Rica!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel and the pool were beautiful. The women who cleaned our rooms were great. The free breakfast was good. And the guys who worked there on the grounds and on security were always friendly. But, this is the most expensive hotel in town, so I rated it Poor for these reasons:

1. Front desk staff was not friendly. When we got to hotel they sort of said, here is your key, here is your room, good luck! No offers of guidance or anything about the hotel or the location or where to eat or anything. It was odd.
2. I went to the front desk once to ask questions about where to go on some tours and the lady just kept answering the phone and holding up her finger to me. I waited 10 minutes and gave up.
3. The restaurant is not good and seemed like the most expensive restaurant in a town full of really good restaurants that are reasonably priced (at least compared to the states).
4. The hot tub isn't hot -- its cold. It's the rainy season, so getting in a hot, hot tub would be nice.
5. None of the reasons above doom this hotel -- but for the most expensive hotel in PV -- they should resolve these issues.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Let me preface this by saying the hotel grounds and the room are stunning and the maids and support staff are gracious and warm. And because the hotel is so beautiful I hate to write a nasty review but I have no choice. So here goes:

When you travel to a place like Costa Rica, you expect the front desk staff to go out of their way to make you feel at home and offer you guidance about things to do, where to go, what to eat, what not to do, etc. But the women working at the front desk were the exact opposite: cold and aloof.

Long story short: we rented two bikes and one broke. We were not far from the hotel about 2 miles. We called, asked for help, and they did nothing (no taxi, no pick-up). They told us they tried calling us but they never called. So, we had to walk the bikes back (which kind of stunk).

The next day, we rented two different bikes which were newer (and hence less likely to break) and decided to ride to Manzanillo which is about 10 miles away (a quiet beach town). On the way back, sure enough, the bike broke again. Many locals tried to help us, telling us that we were not in a safe area and that we were at risk alone in this part of the forest. We called Cariblue, and others called Cariblue telling them to come get us and where we were. Cariblue said they would come get us. They never came and got us. They said they sent out a red truck. We saw no red truck. It was unpleasant to say the least and we were kinda worried for our safety. Ultimately, we saw a taxi and got back to the hotel that way. This ordeal lasted for over an hour and there is NO WAY the red truck could have missed us. There is only one road and it only takes about 15 minutes to get to where we were. I asked to speak with the manager after the incident and the manager never came and the next day the front desk staff acted like nothing had ever happened. So I let it go because if they don't care then what is the point?

My advice, stay somewhere else. Cariblue is probably the most costly resort in the area and for that kind of $$$ they should go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Not the exact opposite!!!

Also, some helpful tips:
*Avoid the restaurant at Cariblue. By far the most expensive and worst meal we had there. If you are hungry and don't want to leave, call Mamma Mia and order a pizza.
*As you walk out of hotel, there is a awesome little restaurant/bar next door to the right. Good place to chill out.
*Good restaurants we found: Mamma Mia, Cafe Viejo (awesome Italian food and great bar), Le Casa De Pan (cheap and laid back) and Koki Beach (fancy but cool).
*Don't go to the bar called Tex Mex in Puerto Viejo -- locals warned us that it's dangerous.
*Cariblue is about a 25 minute walk to Puerto Viejo or a $4 cab ride
*Take the tour of the rain forest with Ricky -- ask for him at Gecko Travel.
* Buy cheep beer at the store and take them to the pool, better than buying beer at the pool for twice as much as the bartender is usually MIA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel is set in beaytiful tropical grounds, rooms are spacious with good en-suites and well separated from each other. All have balconies with hammocks. Great pool area with swim up bar which serves great cocktails esp the non alcohol passion fruit smoothie.
The reception area girls are charming and very helpful, however all the male staff are miserable and grumpy - no idea why.
Breakfast is hearty with plenty of choice, ate in the restaurant 1st evening, expensive esp once the taxes/service are added , food ok, but small portions. For 2 nights we ate at Cafe Viejo - great service and superb food - especially the steaks which were to die for.
Overall would go again, but be warned about some of the service and the restaurant prices.

Room Tip: Go for an individual bungalow for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cariblue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.