We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens, nice breakfast and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cariblue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cariblue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cariblue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, nice breakfast and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed three nights here during a ten day trip to Costa Rica in June. We had rented a car and arrived late the first night. Our first room left much to be desired as it was on the first floor, did not feel very private and was poorly decorated. On the plus side! The grounds were incredible, with flowers, gardens, an incredible pool... the next day we requested to be moved to one of the second floor bungalow rooms, and it was so much nicer! We had out own small deck with colorful hammock... and the room was much nicer, with high ceilings and nice decor.

The service was great, so was the breakfast buffet, and we really became quite fond of going for morning swims in the pool to start off the day. The bartender Nacho was a very nice guy and made good cocktails. You are a short drive from almost everything in Puerto Viejo here, and the security is good for at night. Short walk across the street to get to the beach... Good value, good service, beautiful property...I would go back for sure!

Room Tip: DEFINITELY get one of the second floor bungalows... the lower level less expensive ones are really n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    128
    40
    19
    10
See reviews for
78
175
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My friend and I spent two nights at Cariblue, and from the moment we entered the fence we felt it was the right place to enjoy and explore Puerto Viejo and its surroundings. The bungalows are in the middle of a beautiful garden with access to a wonderful swimming pool, although a stunningly beautiful beach is before the hotel main gate. Avery recommendable experience if you want to visit Puerto Viejo, Cahuita and Manzanillo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel during a 17 day trip through Costa Rica with a rented car. The grounds were very pretty with lovely tropical plants, and the pool was pretty, but we did not use it. We expected to be in a bungalow, but were in a building that had 2 rooms upstairs and 2 downstairs. We were upstairs. The room was clean, but average.
Had an acceptable dinner, and an excellent buffet breakfast. This hotel is located a short distance south of Puerto Viejo in a location near Playa Cocles. My wife and I are 60 and 56, and Puerto Viejo village was a little too busy and youth oriented for us. We traveled about 15 miles to the south to a village named Manzanillo - as far south as you can drive on the Caribbean coast, and would certainly have chosen to stay in THIS town if we had known more about the differences between the two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here while travelling from San Jose to Bocas Del Toro. Wonderful people that wanted to help without being overly "pushy"! Got a beautiful bungalow - 2 full beds and a set of bunk beds. Excellent supper and breakfast. They packed us a "box lunch" because we had to leave before the breakfast buffet was ready.

Definitely wanna go back so we can stay for a longer time!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great place to stay, great service and breakfast was awesome, everyday a variety of foods. Poor was nice and tranquil after a long day out. Staff was the best, liked that there were hummingbirds right next to the registration desk. Room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice, calm, clean, excellent personnel service, very good breakfast, insode the forest but at the same time just at 50 m from the beach, perhaps a little expensive.I recommend it for groups of friends or to go with the family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We loved our cabin with limited view to the other cabins. the lush green surroundings were great and we saw humimng birds, sloths and different birds - so nice. the pool area we spent a lot of time at in the afternonn and the pool bar made great drinks. the restuarnt is really good - the fish and sea food platter was amazing. service was really good - we loved the hotel - and went in the morning down to the beach to swim - so nice that the beach is not filled with restaurants and hotels etc. really great place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cariblue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.