We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hotel Shawandha Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited Shawandha for the first time, had heard for years about the place!
The owner is great, she makes sure you are comfortable and enjoys speaking with guests.
The staff are very friendly, Argelis is amazing! Lots of information on the area.
The grounds a great, they have a beautiful pool and lots of animals come onto the property.
The bungalows are close to roads but really at night there is next to no traffic.

What makes this place unique is the special care that has gone into the design.
Each bathroom in the bungalows is different and tells a story.
The restaurant is palm thatch and has a very high roof, very relaxing the atmosphere at diner is beautiful.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable beds and the patio at each bungalow provides a great place to sit and chat in the evenings.

Recomend this place for sure, but as most lodges in the caribbean the aim is to escape, there are no phones in the rooms or television or radios. Not a problem is you want a break but maybe not for everyone!

Room Tip: Bungalow #12 is beautiful and spacious! Bungalow #6 has a great bathroom design!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    107
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
166
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Since we live in South Florida, being on the beach was not as important as being in the jungle and, while the beach is close, the jungle is all around you at Shawandha. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the rooms while not elegant, fit the location and were quite comfortable. After many trips to Costa Rica, we always enjoy hearing the howler monkeys in the morning and late afternoon. Now if someone could just feed that neighbors hound so he didn't bark so much, things would be just about perfect!

Room Tip: The rooms are very private and the restaurant was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited Puerto Vieja and lucked in to booking a night here and fell in love with the place. Designed by the owner some 19 years ago it is a wonderful retreat into gardens with beautifully planned cabins throughout. Quiet, serene, and a 5 minute walk down the trail to a fantastic beach to swim at. The cabin design and wonderful gardens and trials are difficult to imagine being 19 years old...I wish we had known and taken a week in this marvellous cabin. Great food and service of course...but what a little piece of paradise she's carved out in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay here surrounded by the jungle plants and saw a 2 sloths and some agoutis and the swimming pool was great--the howler monkeys are your alarm clock and the birds around all day.
we only eat at the restaurant once as the bill was a bit of a shock--we eat at some local restaurants with good food for half the price as the hotel has to charge taxes etc which pushes the price up/ the breakfast was excellent. and was included.
one problem was the lack of furniture in the rooms and only fixed hangers in the miniscule hanging area and the lighting was so dim it was impossible to read in bed.
the madame manager kept an eye on everyting that was going on and this was reflected in the standard of cleanliness and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Well maintained resort that was very quite and isolated from the hussle and bussle of Puerto Viejo. Beach area was beautiful, but the surf was very rough so we didn't dare to go swimming. The beach was nearly empty. From San Jose we drove to Cartago and took route 10 through the "Costa Rican Alps"......absolutely beautiful....no traffic and a hugh vistas around ever turn. Ate at local "sodas" along the way and were surprised at the quality of the food for $5. We don't speak Spanish, so it was a bit of a challenge to order, but the locals were more than helpful, even though they didn't speak English. The breakfast buffett consisted of lots of fresh fruit, eggs, and toast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we have spent there 3 wonderful days in a very nice and original lodge.
everything was great, surroundings rooms, people and breackfast[the best we had by far in all costa rica]

really recommend

Marco & nelly Hofmann

Room Tip: all rooms are super ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My son and I stayed at Shawanda for 3 nights at the end of our Costa Rica trip. It was Christmas and I turned 40. The owner went out of her way to make sure I had a wonderful birthday and my son had a fantastic Christmas. The bungalow was super clean and cozy. We woke up to the sounds of the rainforest. The food was amazing!!! I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shawandha Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.