We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In front of a lovely beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Costa de Papito

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Costa de Papito to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$74 Last Minute Rate
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“In front of a lovely beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights there. The bungalows are fantastic, very clean and in the middle of a nice garden. In the morning you can enjoy the butterflies in front of the bungalow.
Breakfast is extremely good. The restaurant is also very good.
You can also get beach towels from the hotel. Wifi works everywhere. Great place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    95
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
85
179
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed this unique lodging expereince. As a woodworker, I was fascinated with all of the wood used in the construction. Yes, I have slept on better beds and the ergonomics of the bathroom sink could have been improved. However, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, privacy nd location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I run a tour business and we had the opportunity to enjoy this hotel last week. A few minor hitches prevented me from giving this hotel a 5 star rating but overall, it was a very good hotel for its' price.

The location afforded its' peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Puerto Viejo. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was plentiful, and varied from day to day which was a plus. Lunch and dinner is the same menu each day.

While the lunch prices were reasonable and better than nearby restaurants, the only downside is the lunch was processed slower than other nearby restaurants within walking distance which served our lunch faster.

As for transfer arrangements, they were gracious enough to help us with the taxis for local needs, and do have bike rentals, and plenty of parking spaces for those driving in themselves, I would not recommend using their services to arrange for transfers to/from the hotel to San Jose.

As for the rooms, more than spacious, plenty of beds to go around, and it appears our group loved the bathrooms and the hammocks. Overall, you can't go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Be aware that the illumination at night from the lights outside is very minimal and for those who ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, that's all the availability they had. I just wish I could have stayed longer. The cabins are incredible. My cabin (12) was spacious, really clean, bright and airy. It had a deck with hammock which was bliss to read on in the evenings. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient and it was lovely to be greeted with a delicious & complimentary fruit juice. The breakfast in the spectacular restaurant was exquisite. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is very nice and interesting. The bungalows are very pretty and we really enjoyed having our own porch and hammock to chill on. We also enjoyed the privacy. However, the place is kind of dark and the mattresses are not very comfortable, although tolerable. The bathroom sink was not ergonomically designed. There is about an inch of space between the mouth of the faucet and the sink bowl; your toothbrush often touches the bowl when rinsing it out after brushing. We are both about 6 ft tall and kept bumping into the hanging bathroom light. It was difficult to wash your face in the sink without risking bumping your head on something. The place is loud at night and we had creatures jumping on the roof of our bungalow. Nonetheless, all of these things are tolerable. We are young simple chicks and are not at all high maintenance. Our main complaint has to do with the incorrect total amount that we were given at the time of making our reservation. Once we arrived we were told we owed more than what was initially quoted (had email as proof). We planned on paying in cash because there is a 30% surcharge when you use your card. Therefore, this misquote was a big inconvenience. It was THEIR mistake which could've potentially cost us an additional $200. The worst part of this was that no one owned up to the miscalculation which was attributed to faulty "computer program". It took 4 days for the issue to be somewhat addressed. We were indirectly told to be grateful that we didn't get charged the extra fees because we paid in cash. The owner's solution was that we split the cost of the error, although we played NO ROLE in causing it. I was tired of the staff's pageant smiles that covered their inability to understand my argument and decided not to pursue it anymore; therefore, we conceded. The owner never once bothered to talk to us directly not even to say hello or check if we were otherwise satisfied. It seemed to us that the owner really needed the money more than we did. I hope he uses it to buy a new calculator! Overall, we got the feeling that this place is all about taking your money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Owner at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
This guest requested availability information by email and received a reply indicating our $95 nightly price. She reserved for 4 nights and received the confirmation for 4 nights at $95 nightly with a total of $380. At a later date she requested to add a fifth night and we sent the confirmation for that additional night at the $95 price but a mistake was made in the new total for the now 5 nights.

When our guest arrived to check in she presented the very last email with the incorrect total and said,¨ I want this price¨. After a quick review we showed her all the emails she received with the correct price and pointed out how we made a mistake in that last total after adding the fifth night. She told us that she understood what had happened but that she wanted the mistaken price. When I was called in San Jose for advice on how to proceed I decided to show good will and keep the peace and credit her $27.50 which was half the mistake. I had hoped our guest would appreciate the gesture so I´m disappointed she felt mistreated.

There is absolutely no surcharge when you pay with your credit card so our guest was wildly mistaken about paying a 30% surcharge had she used her card??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city, ut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Our group was on our way back from downtown and looking for a nice cold drink and someplace to have dinner. We happened upon this hotel and was intrigued even from the outside driving down the street. What a find!

We had just stopped a The Good Vibes bar and they were out of this and that so we continued south towards our hotel and found the Papito. The bar/restaurant building was typical Carribean style thatched roof, heavily clad in hardwood, and filled with good vibes.

The bar was cool and dubbed the Sloth Society Club. The bar menu was huge for what we had found everywhere else. The bar tenders were great and the drinks they mixed were totally awesome.

It began to rain and we decided to stay for dinner. DELICIOUS! The fish and seafood was FRESH and cooked with love, not over spiced or too salty. The prices were excellent for what you got. Our party of four got out for less than $200 USD including drinks. We all had lobster!

Looking for a last dinner while on the coast? Look this place up! You won't be disappointed!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend in the Dolphin Bungalow of this hotel. It is a budget cabina with a nice porch and a separate private bathroom. It is right next to the restaurant and reception area. I would say that if noise bothers you this bungalow is not the one for you but it does quiet down after 10pm. Depending on how the breeze blows you may get the smell of trash in the porch since it seems it gets store right behind this bungalow. You do get a gorgeous view of the jungle though and we enjoyed the hammock very much. We did run into an issue our first night since we found some small bugs on the bed and it was probably due to the fact that the nets are kept open and so was the door before we arrived. We got help from the bartender since the front desk was closed...we didn't notice the problem 'til 11pm when we went to go to sleep. He was very helpful and got clean sheets for us which he put on with my help. We really liked the fact that you can rent bikes from them and the price per day is affordable. Cocktails from the bar are tasty but the food is average. Breakfast was included in their fee and plentiful. It is a distance from town so you will depend on bikes and taxis to go unless you don't mind the 20-25 minute walk.

Room Tip: Bungalows closer to the entrance are more private. The budget bungalow can smell like trash sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Owner at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Because the Dolphin cabin is located close to the reception-restaurant area a guest may get to hear more than the sounds of the jungle. We bring clear attention to this on the website and charge $36 less for the cabin.
The unpleasant smell (mistakenly referred to as trash) was the result of the annual cleaning we do of the 4 part trap and filter system for the water from the kitchen sink and, unfortunately, the residue we shovel into a container does not smell sweet.

Eddie Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Costa de Papito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.