We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chance Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Costa de Papito

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Costa de Papito to your Saves list
Hotel La Costa de Papito
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$69 Last Minute Rate!
Certificate of Excellence
salt lake city, ut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Chance Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Our group was on our way back from downtown and looking for a nice cold drink and someplace to have dinner. We happened upon this hotel and was intrigued even from the outside driving down the street. What a find!

We had just stopped a The Good Vibes bar and they were out of this and that so we continued south towards our hotel and found the Papito. The bar/restaurant building was typical Carribean style thatched roof, heavily clad in hardwood, and filled with good vibes.

The bar was cool and dubbed the Sloth Society Club. The bar menu was huge for what we had found everywhere else. The bar tenders were great and the drinks they mixed were totally awesome.

It began to rain and we decided to stay for dinner. DELICIOUS! The fish and seafood was FRESH and cooked with love, not over spiced or too salty. The prices were excellent for what you got. Our party of four got out for less than $200 USD including drinks. We all had lobster!

Looking for a last dinner while on the coast? Look this place up! You won't be disappointed!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    117
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
100
213
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend in the Dolphin Bungalow of this hotel. It is a budget cabina with a nice porch and a separate private bathroom. It is right next to the restaurant and reception area. I would say that if noise bothers you this bungalow is not the one for you but it does quiet down after 10pm. Depending on how the breeze blows you may get the smell of trash in the porch since it seems it gets store right behind this bungalow. You do get a gorgeous view of the jungle though and we enjoyed the hammock very much. We did run into an issue our first night since we found some small bugs on the bed and it was probably due to the fact that the nets are kept open and so was the door before we arrived. We got help from the bartender since the front desk was closed...we didn't notice the problem 'til 11pm when we went to go to sleep. He was very helpful and got clean sheets for us which he put on with my help. We really liked the fact that you can rent bikes from them and the price per day is affordable. Cocktails from the bar are tasty but the food is average. Breakfast was included in their fee and plentiful. It is a distance from town so you will depend on bikes and taxis to go unless you don't mind the 20-25 minute walk.

Room Tip: Bungalows closer to the entrance are more private. The budget bungalow can smell like trash sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Owner at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Because the Dolphin cabin is located close to the reception-restaurant area a guest may get to hear more than the sounds of the jungle. We bring clear attention to this on the website and charge $36 less for the cabin.
The unpleasant smell (mistakenly referred to as trash) was the result of the annual cleaning we do of the 4 part trap and filter system for the water from the kitchen sink and, unfortunately, the residue we shovel into a container does not smell sweet.

Eddie Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 night in January. The bungalow we stayed in, Number 3, could sleep 6 people. I would have given this a 5 but the beds were not the most comfortable for us. We slept without the bed nets without any bug issues. the included breakfast was great and each day there was a different special. We were able to walk across the street to see the sunrise. The street dogs that were on the beach were so friendly. We rented bikes and rode into town about a mile or so. On the way we got a picture of a sloth that was hanging on the tree above the road. Puerto Viejo is a nice under developed town. I hope it stays that way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The photographs look much better than is the reality. The accommodations are adequate but certainly not overwhelming. Beds are not very comfortable and covers are just a sheet and an ugly blanket. Two small pillows don't help.
The restaurant is very inviting and the food is pretty good.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Owner at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We always hear people saying that the place looks even better in person than in the photographs. This guest liked the photos better?
We have very comfortable orthopedic quality mattresses but someone who likes to sink into the mattress might be disappointed. The queen bed has queen pillows and the double bed standard size. The blanket is folded at the end of the bed for cool evenings and I just went to look at it and I still like the design.
We work hard to provide a special experience so I´m sorry that we didn´t meet this guest´s expectations.
Eddie Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I went here with my father after traveling around Panama for a week. We happened to stumble upon this hotel just by googling. It was a happy find that's for sure. The location was wonderful. Driving in I was amazed by how beautiful everything was. The area was so green and lush. Wonderful flowers, birds and even a sloth. We loved it. We stayed in the bungalow towards the back left away from the main check in/ restaurant area. The bungalow was great. They have the bug netting for nights. The beds were plenty hard though. No tv, phones, no need to stay connected. You can check email in the front though. The bathroom was small but you had everything you need. The shower was cold and there was a heater but being from the states it was a little scary. Being it was hot out I didn't mind taking a cold one anyways. The food was wonderful. We had breakfast at the bungalow a few times and always had dinner at the restaurant at the hotel. Loved the food. Every night the special was different and yummy. They had a bartender from England who was funny and entertaining. He kept the energy up for the small group at the bar. They made us a banana chocolate mudslide most nights. I received a facial at the spa while there and I have to say it was a treat. I choose a mango pineapple facial. Being a esthetician in the states I tend to be very picky but the lady did a great job. It was a all natural facial and very relaxing. I would love to go back and bring my husband. This was defiantly a wonderful family get away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ås, Akershus, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My sister and I stayed at La Costa de Papito for 4 nights and we had a wonderful time. The bungalows are big and clean with a lounge outside with a hammock and a table. Here you will have your privacy since green plants divide the bungalows. Staff were friendly and helpful and you could rent bikes or arrange tours if you wanted to. In the restaurant you could eat lunch or dinner (great breakfast buffé was included) which we did several times because of the nice atmosphere. They also had a bar with well made drinks and on thursday they had locals coming to play music. During christmastimes this was also a place where people came to eat, from other places it seemed and not just people staying at the hotel. At La costa de papito we felt welcomed and we got the relaxing vacation we were looking for! Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise you can ask for a cabin which isn't close to the reception and res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great family run hotel and restaurant. Delicious meals with fresh ingredients. I loved the ceviche and had it two night in a row because it was so tasty. Beautiful bungalows at great prices. Bike rentals allowed you to ride in to town. Just had to walk across the road to get to great beaches. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a safe and laid back stay for any length of time. Too bad I only had three days I wished it could have been longer.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Costa de Papito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Costa de Papito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.