We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bungalow Style Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Costa de Papito

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Costa de Papito to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$69 Last Minute Rate
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Bungalow Style Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend in the Dolphin Bungalow of this hotel. It is a budget cabina with a nice porch and a separate private bathroom. It is right next to the restaurant and reception area. I would say that if noise bothers you this bungalow is not the one for you but it does quiet down after 10pm. Depending on how the breeze blows you may get the smell of trash in the porch since it seems it gets store right behind this bungalow. You do get a gorgeous view of the jungle though and we enjoyed the hammock very much. We did run into an issue our first night since we found some small bugs on the bed and it was probably due to the fact that the nets are kept open and so was the door before we arrived. We got help from the bartender since the front desk was closed...we didn't notice the problem 'til 11pm when we went to go to sleep. He was very helpful and got clean sheets for us which he put on with my help. We really liked the fact that you can rent bikes from them and the price per day is affordable. Cocktails from the bar are tasty but the food is average. Breakfast was included in their fee and plentiful. It is a distance from town so you will depend on bikes and taxis to go unless you don't mind the 20-25 minute walk.

Room Tip: Bungalows closer to the entrance are more private. The budget bungalow can smell like trash sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Owner at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Because the Dolphin cabin is located close to the reception-restaurant area a guest may get to hear more than the sounds of the jungle. We bring clear attention to this on the website and charge $36 less for the cabin.
The unpleasant smell (mistakenly referred to as trash) was the result of the annual cleaning we do of the 4 part trap and filter system for the water from the kitchen sink and, unfortunately, the residue we shovel into a container does not smell sweet.

Eddie Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    97
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
86
181
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brightwaters, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 night in January. The bungalow we stayed in, Number 3, could sleep 6 people. I would have given this a 5 but the beds were not the most comfortable for us. We slept without the bed nets without any bug issues. the included breakfast was great and each day there was a different special. We were able to walk across the street to see the sunrise. The street dogs that were on the beach were so friendly. We rented bikes and rode into town about a mile or so. On the way we got a picture of a sloth that was hanging on the tree above the road. Puerto Viejo is a nice under developed town. I hope it stays that way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The photographs look much better than is the reality. The accommodations are adequate but certainly not overwhelming. Beds are not very comfortable and covers are just a sheet and an ugly blanket. Two small pillows don't help.
The restaurant is very inviting and the food is pretty good.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Owner at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We always hear people saying that the place looks even better in person than in the photographs. This guest liked the photos better?
We have very comfortable orthopedic quality mattresses but someone who likes to sink into the mattress might be disappointed. The queen bed has queen pillows and the double bed standard size. The blanket is folded at the end of the bed for cool evenings and I just went to look at it and I still like the design.
We work hard to provide a special experience so I´m sorry that we didn´t meet this guest´s expectations.
Eddie Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I went here with my father after traveling around Panama for a week. We happened to stumble upon this hotel just by googling. It was a happy find that's for sure. The location was wonderful. Driving in I was amazed by how beautiful everything was. The area was so green and lush. Wonderful flowers, birds and even a sloth. We loved it. We stayed in the bungalow towards the back left away from the main check in/ restaurant area. The bungalow was great. They have the bug netting for nights. The beds were plenty hard though. No tv, phones, no need to stay connected. You can check email in the front though. The bathroom was small but you had everything you need. The shower was cold and there was a heater but being from the states it was a little scary. Being it was hot out I didn't mind taking a cold one anyways. The food was wonderful. We had breakfast at the bungalow a few times and always had dinner at the restaurant at the hotel. Loved the food. Every night the special was different and yummy. They had a bartender from England who was funny and entertaining. He kept the energy up for the small group at the bar. They made us a banana chocolate mudslide most nights. I received a facial at the spa while there and I have to say it was a treat. I choose a mango pineapple facial. Being a esthetician in the states I tend to be very picky but the lady did a great job. It was a all natural facial and very relaxing. I would love to go back and bring my husband. This was defiantly a wonderful family get away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ås, Akershus, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My sister and I stayed at La Costa de Papito for 4 nights and we had a wonderful time. The bungalows are big and clean with a lounge outside with a hammock and a table. Here you will have your privacy since green plants divide the bungalows. Staff were friendly and helpful and you could rent bikes or arrange tours if you wanted to. In the restaurant you could eat lunch or dinner (great breakfast buffé was included) which we did several times because of the nice atmosphere. They also had a bar with well made drinks and on thursday they had locals coming to play music. During christmastimes this was also a place where people came to eat, from other places it seemed and not just people staying at the hotel. At La costa de papito we felt welcomed and we got the relaxing vacation we were looking for! Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise you can ask for a cabin which isn't close to the reception and res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great family run hotel and restaurant. Delicious meals with fresh ingredients. I loved the ceviche and had it two night in a row because it was so tasty. Beautiful bungalows at great prices. Bike rentals allowed you to ride in to town. Just had to walk across the road to get to great beaches. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a safe and laid back stay for any length of time. Too bad I only had three days I wished it could have been longer.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent a week here in December 2012. We actually stayed in two different bungalows b/c we checked out for one night in the middle of the week to do a side trip to Punta Mona. Both bungalows were nice. As others have commented, these are semi-open-aired bungalows which means there may be some little flying bugs at night, but luckily there are bed nets which make these not a problem. The first bungalow (#7) did not have hot water but the owners were very accommodating about the situation and offered to let us check out and go to another hotel until it was fixed and refund us for those nights. In the end we opted to stick it out b/c we didn't want the hassle of moving hotels. The owners then gave us a credit on our bill which was cool.

The second bungalow (#12) was also very nice, I actually liked this one a bit better b/c the bathroom was on the same level as the room (in #7 it was down a little staircase). Both bungalows had lovely porches with hammocks.

The restaurant on site was nice, although pricey in my opinion. We ate most of our meals (other than breakfast) elsewhere. Breakfast was included and was good, with an omlette station and hot and cold items buffet-style. Having been to Costa Rica previously, I have always enjoyed the custom-made fruit smoothies that every other hotel we have stayed at in C.R. has offered - they did not have those at La Costa De Papito. But still, breakfast was good.

The hotel seems safe and we felt comfortable leaving our kids there while we went out to dinner, etc.

Things to know before you come:
1.It rains here, a lot. Like, every day. That didn't really bother us as we were expecting it and were prepared. But a lot of tourists seemed unprepared. Basically it is beach weather, so it seems to rain for a few hours each afternoon, and also sometimes in the evenings. Mornings were mostly sunny. Come with appropriate footwear (I suggest a couple of pairs of Keens per person, plus flip flops. Do not bring leather or cloth flip flops - bring the Havaianna type flip flops that do not retain water) and raincoats. Plan on getting muddy. We brought just a few sets of clothes and then dropped off laundry at the hotel (which they provide for a small fee) about every other day).
2. Bring bug spray and sunscreen as these items are not readily available.
3. It is about a one-mile trip into town, which is a nice walk or a leisurely bike ride. Be careful locking bikes - ours were nearly stolen.
4. There are a lot of restaurants and even a grocery within 1/4 miles of the hotel, so it is easy to pop out for dinner elsewhere.
5. Do not swim at the beaches with the warning signs - they are not kidding. There is a great beach a few miles south called Punta Uva which is good for swimming.

Restaurant suggestion: Pecora Nera - about a mile away. We had our 20th anniversary while we were there, and we went there for dinner and it is really amazing. Make a reservation - we saw lots of people being turned away.

Final suggestion: don't miss the spa. We did couples massage on two different days and this was maybe the best thing that has ever happened to me. Our massage therapists both times were Pam and Oksie (not sure about the spelling?). They were both amazing. Everything was very professional and the quality of the massage was very very good. And much cheaper than in the states.

Room Tip: Both bungalows we stayed in (#7 and #12) were nice, although both of them backed up to a gravel road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Propietario at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
´Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the house
Not a creature was stirring, except for our dear guests in Bungalow #7 who had no hot water!!
Coming to the rescue I realized that something had burned out in the hot water heater and that, with everything closed on Christmas day, there would be no replacing the part till the day after.
Nonetheless, it was a Merry Christmas because our guests graciously accepted a refund credit and then rewarded themselves with delicious massages at our Indulgence Spa and all was well.

We had unseasonably heavy rains that week but we enjoy more than 300 days of sunshine each year.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Costa de Papito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.