We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Bungalow Chic-Wonderful Restaurant !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Costa de Papito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Costa de Papito to your Saves list
Hotel La Costa de Papito
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Jungle Bungalow Chic-Wonderful Restaurant !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Loved the Papito !! One of the most unique places I have ever stayed; it was a great experience. Mosquito nets ?! It felt like a true arrival to Costa Rica. Bungalow #1 and #4 each had two beds equipped with jungle themed sheets (which could use updating) and mosquito nets. The rooms have ceiling fans and so many windows to open (several which had screens to help keep the bugs out).
Sit outside and have cocktails on the patio as there are tables/chairs or take a nap on the hammock.
The water pressure was lacking for both the shower and the toilet, but for the coolness of the rest of the property, it didn't matter.
We rented bikes from the Papito and rode into town. The beach is also just out the front door. Dinner at the restaurant in the main building was one of the BEST meals in Costa Rica. Had the ceviche and a shrimp special of the day at the bar while chatting up the friendly bar tender. I must also give honorable mention to the hotel dogs "papitas".
Anyone who goes to Puerto Viejo must stay at the Papito.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    104
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
90
195
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

By far one of my favorite hotels ever! Relaxing, natural (no tv, phones, etc.) and absolutely beautiful! Excellent service, excellent kitchen, and excellent place to relax and take in the jungles of Limon. Isolated bungalows, extremely well designed, beautiful bathrooms and honestly one of the best kitchens in the Costa Rican Caribbean coast. Only 4 stars for value because we went during Easter week (every hotel costs more), but worth every penny! The spa is great too! Thanks Papito!

Room Tip: Any and every room is more than the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Wow. Where do I start? A few steps from the beach, great service (CINDY WAS A GEM!), HUGE, beautiful bungalows that are positioned so you feel you are in the middle of the rainforest. Quiet grounds and great customer service. Great for a romantic getaway or a family vacation. Takes some time to get to the location, but it was WORTH it. Very peaceful location and you can easily bike or walk into town.

THE FOOD IS FANTASTIC! Minerva is the reason we ate dinner at the hotel EVERY night. You HAVE to try the brownie (i had it every night and never got tired of it).

Room Tip: Book early, for this price Luxury sells quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed at La Costa for 1/2 week to relax at the beautiful beaches in Puerto Viejo. Our bungalow was perfect, with a relaxing hammock outside and plenty of room inside. The staff was super friendly and helpful and the meals great. Sleeping in the room felt like being deep in the jungle, even though you are just a stone's throw from the beautiful beach. The beach was sparsely populated, making it feel like you were alone on a private island. My only complaint would be that there just didn't seem to be enough light in the bathroom unless you showered during daylight hours. Other than that, it was fabulous and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This place is the one to go to if you are looking for great breakfast in the morning, beautifully done structures, and lush gardens.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Just came back from a week-long trip with my 16 year old daughter. As two females traveling alone, we were a little wary, as so much is written about the safety of tourists in Puerto Viejo. We always took cabs after dark and were safe, the only "issue" we experienced had to do with some missing money and a cell phone, taken from my daughter's carry-on bag which never left our bungalow. I was very wise and took the front desk's advice to use the safe for my wallet, cell phone, camera, etc. but my daughter thought her phone and wallet (which only had a student ID and a $20 in it) were safe in the carry-on bag left in the room. It wasn't until we got to the US that she realized those items were taken. We notified Eddie Ryan and he was responsive, but at this point my only advice is LOCK everything of value in the safe provided in the room. A slight "bummer" to what was an AMAZING stay. BUT, it wouldn't make me not go there again! The location and setting of the bungalows is fabulous. The only thing that could be improved is having a few more hooks, or some time of clothesline, to hang wet towels, bathing suits, and clothes (we got caught in a couple torrential downpours). As stated in other reviews, the front desk staff is truly amazing here. They even put our aloe vera gel in the freezer to make it cold (after we got burnt after a day biking to the beach in Punta Uva). The food at Costa de Pepito is delicious, some of the best we had. The breakfast includes cooked to order omelettes or eggs; and on our last day they packed us a bag breakfast because we were leaving super early. Other comments: Be aware that the beach access is across a road and a short walk north, but that never bothered us at all. The beach is lovely here, but a bit narrow and doesn't get much afternoon sun. The waves are powerful so it is not a great beach for small children. There are a few other eating places within walking distance (Tasty Waves Cantina, about 1/4 mile north, is by far the BEST), but you need a cab or bikes to get into town. BRING cash. Most of the places don't take credit cards. All in all, a memorable vacation and we plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Owner at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Sharon

I was very upset to hear that the cell phone and a $20 bill were missing from her luggage when she opened the bag back at home.
I wrote Sharon that I was clueless! Long term relationships and experience completely eliminated suspecting my staff.
When Sharon and her daughter checked out with us they were picked up by a Rafting company who drove them 2 hours to the river and then watched their luggage while they rafted.
I am really surprised that Sharon didn´t mention this in her review because she wrote me about this possibility. I am so sorry that this includent left a doubt in her mind and was an obvious let down after a good trip.

Eddie Ryan
- Owner -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011 via mobile

Up at the far end of the "strip" this place gets the best part of the beach and is quietly secluded. The rooms are great, really well designed and private. Details are key here. Beds are made immaculately with rise petals and we had breakfast brought to our balcony without even asking as they knew it was our honeymoon. Spa is good, food is good and music and restaurant are also great. Well worth 3 days!
Dan and Hels

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Costa de Papito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Costa de Papito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.