We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a rainforest should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samasati Nature Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Samasati Nature Retreat to your Saves list
Samasati Nature Retreat
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Carbon 1, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cummington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything a rainforest should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great experience. The staff is very friendly. They all speak English. They arranged everything for my trip to arrive and depart. Buffet was tasty and good veggie food. The rainforest is spectacular. Sleeping right in it to the sound of rain at night, very peaceful. The rain stopped during the day and I saw sloths, monkeys, parrots, tucans, potoos, humingbirds galore, an electric blue butterfly, and many other amazing critters. They have a free shuttle into town and a jacuzzi. This place is for nature lovers. I will visit again next year perhaps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    45
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
25
88
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A total immersion in nature and yoga, I spent wonderful moments of complete relaxation in my private bungalow alternating with energizing yoga classes, relax in the Jacuzzi overlooking the immensity of the ocean waiting for the delicious vegetarian dinner, thanks to all the staff for constant attention, and cooks for the birthday cake! I will continue to return to this wonderful oasis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Despite the utterly beautiful location and hearty food (not gourmet, more like home-cooking), I found staying at Samasati to be an uneasy and disappointing experience. Anyone who is not highly experienced in yoga should avoid this place like the plague. The guests were mixed in with a teacher training class when i was there, and lots of people were frustrated (after having been told the classes were 'for everyone'. ) The teaching is very macho. There is a somewhat cult-like feeling to the place. I saw at least one person sustain an injury from the classes, and several other less-than-perfect yoga practitioners were sidelined, and ignored. I've been to a lot of yoga retreats and have never seen attitude like that. The bungalows , while charming, can be hard to get to at night and there is very little in place to deal with emergencies. The rooms are cold in the evenings and no extra bedding is provided. Because of the climate, towels are never really dry and are not replaced as promised. The hot tub is filthy, with algae ridden water that never seemed to be cleaned. It was mostly turned off, in any case. Getting in and out of the place is a pain. It takes an extra day to get to Samasati by bus, and reservations, it seems, are often bungled. I met many lovely people, some loved being there but many felt it wasn't all it was cracked up to be. This place is a business, nothing more; there is no spiritual aspect to it.There are other, much better and more reasonably-priced yoga retreats all over North America and no doubt in Costa Rica as well. Or, just stay in Puerto Viejo or Cajuita, and do your sun salutations on the beach

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaZani1, Owner at Samasati Nature Retreat, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear,
I am sorry to hear you did not have good time while staying at Samasati. Addressing some of the points you are mentioning:
Yoga classes are offered twice a day and, while the morning class is more active, the afternoon class is more restorative. If you have any injuries or any special requests, we suggest you talk directly with the resident Yoga Teacher. While making the reservation, we give as much information as possible on the activities and the surroundings so that you know where you are going and your stay can be smoothly and enjoyable. The hot tub water is replaced once a week and cleaned daily with ecological products; there are instructions on how to turn it on and off.
Bungalows are simple yet very comfortable and cleaned daily. Food is vegetarian and locally grown. There is one daily shuttle to the beach and all excursions have transportation included. Never the less, if you want to be independent and explore more the area, we suggest you rent a car. I am very glad you met lovely people while at Samasati.
Warm regards
Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Thanks to Groupon, we found ourselves at this Yoga retreat resort. The trip included a 5 night stay, all meals and two yoga classes at a very reasonable price. When I went on the website I actually found that I didn't necessarily need the Groupon to get the deal as they regularly run specials. The resort is very secluded in the rainforest at the top of a hill. The bungalows are open with mesh netting all around so you can see and hear your surroundings. You feel one with nature and it was very clean and comfortable. The first thing we saw was a big group of people who were there for Yoga Instructor Training. At first we were very intimidated and thought "what did we get ourselves into?". While we are active people who like to take the occasional yoga class or hike, we are by no means yoga experts. However, we were quickly put at ease by all the welcoming and friendly staff. We were assured that the group had their own program and would not be in the regularly offered yoga classes...phew! The yoga classes were great and the instructor is also the message therapist on staff.
The staff assisted us with setting up excursions and transportation to town, etc. We went ziplining (awesome), on a boat, snorkeled and had a tour of the National park (also recommended). But one of the highlights of the entire trip was a day when we took the shuttle to town, rented bikes (for $4 for the day!) and biked to the Jaguar Rescue Center in Playa Chiquita. There was an entry fee of $15 if I recall correctly. The knowledgable volunteers took you on a tour of the sanctuary and told you all about the animal residents. There was also a monkey area where you can go in and mingle with the monkeys, priceless experience. I would highly recommend that on your trip!! If you miss the shuttle back it's only about $10 to get a cab back.
Back at the resort, there are also many trials to explore on your own.
THE FOOD IS AMAZING!!! I wanted the recipe of just about every meal! We are vegetarians and were happy to go to a resort that served only vegetarian food, but you do not have to be vegetarian to enjoy these amazing meals! We looked forward to going to every meal to see what would be served!
You have to realize, you will be in the rainforest, so it will be DAMP! After a few days we found that all of our clothes felt a little damp and if you went swimming, forget it, that's going to stay wet for the entire trip so bring plastic bags to keep them separate from other clothes. Or bring a hair dryer to dry them. Wifi was available at the bottom of the hill so you would just have to ask the staff for a ride down and back. I think it's about a mile or so.
Overall, we had a wonderful time and would recommend it but you have to know what to expect- yoga, nature, relaxation or adventure and great food...not your hot, sunny all-inclusive party vacation. If you want that, stay in town (or on the other side of the country). We probably wouldn't have gone if it wasn't for Groupon but I'm happy we had this experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaZani1, Owner at Samasati Nature Retreat, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear,
thank you for your detailed review as it will help many other guests! I am very glad you enjoyed Samasati and the surrounding area!!
I look forward having you back
Kind regards
Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hone Creek, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We fell in love with Samasati and the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica the first time we visited. We have been here many times since then and have never been disappointed. Samasati is a collection of bungalows and guest houses located 1.5 km up the side of a hill and in the middle of lush rainforest. The views are breath-taking and you are surrounded by incredible flora and fauna of the jungle ... Hummingbirds, electric blue morpho butterflies and toucans are every day sights. The restaurant is a breezy open-air covered deck overlooking the sea. The food is excellent, particularly dinner, which is varied and delicious. Dinner is also a great opportunity to meet interesting people and chat over your coffee, tea, dessert. The staff is always attentive and accommodating. Samasati is very safe and secure. The ride from San Jose is long (~4 hours) but well worth it
W love it so much that we decided to build a house just up the hill from Samasati..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

First let me say that I had a wonderful time. The weather was cool & breezy, wildlife was abundant. The house we stayed in was adorable, well ventilated, neat and clean. The staff helpful and friendly. If you're really into yoga, it's probably the perfect place.
Now let me tell you what the cons were. The meals were bland. I read everyone's comments about the great food before I booked. What do you people usually eat that you could call the food at Samasati good! Come on Samasati. You are in a country with some of the best produce I've ever seen and catering to vegetarians. Give us something more exciting. More vegys in the gallo pinto. Tomatoes and avocados with breakfast. Some pipas, yucas, platanos maduras. We're in a tropical country at a yoga/nature retreat. Obviously we're at least a little bit adventurous. Put some adventure in the food, some tropical fruits that we won't see back home. Some spice. Some fresh salsa. The best meal was the evening when the ladies in the kitchen cooked their own style of food. Coconut rice, patacones and such.
If you're in the area for the beach, Samasati is not the right place for you. Too far from the beach.
There are other places to stay that are far less expensive, have air conditioning in case you don't get the perfect weather that I got and are easier to get to. And you'll save enough money to get some real Caribbean food and take some excursions.
But if you're really into yoga it may be worth the price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful time at this nature retreat. All the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We especially appreciated Barbara's help in planning excursions, transportation, etc. The vegetarian meals were very good. The bungalow we stayed in was spotless. Had housekeeping service daily. Very safe. Beautiful jungle experience with lots of hiking on site. Had a great massage the day I left. We did one yoga class which was very good (people who are "in" to yoga said the yoga is excellent!)

Used a Groupon for this vacation, but would come back and pay full price. It is worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaZani1, Owner at Samasati Nature Retreat, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the review, I am very glad you enjoyed your stay there.
... Yes! Come back soon to stay with us again.
Warm regards
Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samasati Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samasati Nature Retreat

Address: Carbon 1, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samasati Nature Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samasati Nature Retreat is Nature Retreat and Yoga Center on the South Caribbean of Costa Rica. Nestled in 270 acres of primary forest, Samasati Nature Retreat is blessed with spectacular views of the Caribbean sea and of the surrounding tropical rainforest. It is the perfect and romantic getaway for nature lovers, adventure fans, yoga practitioners and groups. We will help you reserving transportation to Samasati and organizing your visit in all its details! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Samasati Nature Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samasati Nature Retreat Hotel Puerto Viejo
Samasati Nature Retreat Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samasati Nature Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.