We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach front cabin with A/C” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camarona Caribbean Lodge

Save Saved
You added Camarona Caribbean Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camarona Caribbean Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cocles | Cocles 150 al sur de la plaza de futbol, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great beach front cabin with A/C”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

If you've been to Puerto Viejo then you know its a party town and accommodations are mostly basic, run down hostels without A/C. Its very humid in Puerto Viejo so paying a little more for A/C is well worth it.
This hotel is less like a hotel and more like luxury cabins on the beach. The rooms are all wood cabins, with wooden shutters for windows. The rooms are spartan in that there is no tv with hbo, if you came to Puerto Viejo to watch cable you should reconsider why you are traveling. They have very comfortable beds, in room safe, bathroom with hot water, and front balcony facing the beach through the jungle. They include unlimited coffee, juice, and breakfast which is a basic typical breakfast that would cost you about $6.00 per person anywhere else not including the price of coffee. So take that into account when viewing their rates.
Also most importantly while drinking coffee and waiting for your breakfast to be made fresh you will have to endure the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach, and the sounds of the Toucans frolicking above you in the coconut tree. You may also hear a coconut fall from the tree and hit the roof of the hotel. For us this was a perfect location for breakfast.
Aside from the absolutely gorgeous beach that lies just in front of this property, the toucans, the beautiful landscaping, the a/c, the free breakfast & coffee, and reasonable rates, this property is just south of the party area so it is quiet enough to enjoy and close enough to the party area to walk back to the room when your done partying. Oh and if walking isn't your style, then they rent bikes for $6.00 per day, which is what we did. This convenience costs a whopping $1.00 more than renting a bike in downtown from a place that wants you to leave your license and credit card with them while you have their bike.

Would we stay here again? Yes
Was the staff helpful and friendly? Amazingly so, even helped us make copies of our passports for our trip to Panama.
Was the breakfast good? Yes, not the best in the world but very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Camarona Caribbean Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your observations. We are in the path of improving in our service and keeping the concept of caribbean tourism, that is precisely what attracts the humind tropic lovers, It will be a pleasure to be at your service in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
10
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Awesome hotel with a resort feel. Very welcoming upon arrival...coconut refreshing juice on ice when we checked in. Rooms were fine, nothing fancy, but one of the nicer bathrooms on our trip. Rooms had fans and safes as well. The onsite restaurant was great for breakfast (included) and the bar was fun for pre-dinner drinks. The proximity to the beach was great. They had music pumping out there, soccer nets, volley ball, chairs, shade and offered to bring us drinks whenever we needed anything. We highly recommend this hotel to those looking for a nice room on the beach with friendly service. A+ in our book.

Room Tip: Go with an upstairs room, A/C is available as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Vinicio M, Gerente at Camarona Caribbean Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus observaciones, estamos siempre para servirle y esperando que vuelva pronto. Tomaremos en cuenta su opinión para seguir mejorando cada día.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Me and a friend went here to do some snorkling and really liked this place they were very welcoming and friendly. The owner also took us out for dinner and drinks one night,
I will definitely be back it was so peaceful and relaxing, Went for a swim and you can hear the howler monkeys in the trees it was great.
The town of Puerto Veijo is like walking into hippi commun very friendly free thinkers it was definitely different and entertaining.

Room Tip: Get the Airconditioned rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Camarona Caribbean Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. If you decide to come back it will be a pleasure to be at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We arrived in Puerto Viejo late as we go stuck in traffic in San Jose. It was dark and we had tried to get into a few other Hotels but they were all fully booked. In the dark with the lights this place looked ok and we were gratefull that they had a room after a long 12 hour drive from the Pacific Coast. We were told that we would be upgraded to a junior suite free of charge and all sounded good at this point. As soon as we were shown to our rooms i knew this was not good. The room had a strong damp smell, no room safe and there was a lot of active wildlife in the bedroom. For the 1st time in my life I requested a downgrade in room with a safe. We were shown to another room which was bigger but very basic, as it was dark we knew it would have to do for the night and at least it had a safe. We went to the restaurant and what a mistake, its more like microwave or boil in the bag food. We went accorss the road to the Italian Bar and were gutted when we realized we could have eaten a decent meal here. Anyway, we went to bed around 9pm exhausted and were woken up at 10:30 by the sound of someone trying our room key, then alarmed as the door opened. Thankfully we had put our suitcases against it before getting into bed. We shouted at the door and heard someone talking. In the morning, we were happy that we survived the night, the breakfast was as poor as the dinner. I told the Manager my concerns as someone coming into the room and he said it was staff bringing us water. we laughed at the thought but would still not recommend nor ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Very basic and smells of damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Camarona Caribbean Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We have a new administration and we hope to be at your service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Maybe one can't expect much from a so-called budget hotel but this place had a lot going against it: a general run down condition, no hot water to the bath basin, no curtains on the windows (the bathroom window didn't even have glass, only thin screening and a shutter that did not close and lock - anyone could come by, open it and look in or break in) and the room was less than cheerful. However it does have a good beach front location. For about the same money stay at the Playa Negra Guesthouse a few miles north in Cahuita, that's a superb operation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Camarona Caribbean Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We have a new administration and a new owner, we will be happy to be at your service in an upcoming visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camarona Caribbean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camarona Caribbean Lodge

Address: Playa Cocles | Cocles 150 al sur de la plaza de futbol, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camarona Caribbean Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camarona Caribbean Lodge is a rustic hotel isolated from the urban stress. All rooms are beachfront, located in front of Cocles Beach which was awarded with the Blue Flag. The Hotel is located just south of Puerto Viejo (Old Port) and 20 minutes from Punta Uva, Manzanillo and the Gandoca Wildlife Refuge.Camarona Caribbean offers comfortable rooms to enjoy a wonderful time.Book your oceanfront room in the southern Caribbean paradise, where relaxation, natural beauty and caribbean culture is enjoyed.From Camarona Caribbean Lodge to the magical city of Puerto Viejo takes just 5 minutes by car or 20 minutes walking. The light that is reflected in the Caribbean Sea gives a sense of grandeur, through 2 miles of unspoiled Cocles Beach, allowing you to admire one of the most iconic beaches of history. Cocles beach is a meeting place for surfers, attracted by its waves and scenic beauty. Thousands of tourists come by foot or bycicle in order to enjoy this beautiful beach.You will not resist the temptation to eat in our restaurant Lapalapa, where you can enjoy delicious international dishes and our chef's recommendation of a range of at least ten Caribbean dishes and the house salad Lapalapa, plus a diverse range of cocktails and desserts.If you want to enjoy the tranquility your personal satisfaction and a little break from the daily routine, Camarona Caribbean lodge is your best option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Camarona Caribbean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camarona Caribbean Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camarona Caribbean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.