We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating staff but run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra to your Saves list
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo | 500m from Bar Point, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 87555, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Altona, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Accommodating staff but run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This resort has so much potential but is run down. The rooms are comfortable and we had a balcony Oceanside which was great. The bedding is dated and beds aren't that comfortable. It's quite rustic. The shower stall had drywall and therefore had black mold on the walls and no fan. We did have hot showers though. Anytime we needed something (wine glasses, towels, etc.) the management was very accomodating. We enjoyed the small pool. The breakfast in the morning is good but not worth the extra $10/day. The location/beach is great and the 20 minute walk to town was nice, however you shouldn't do it after 6pm for safety reasons and there are no restaurants except for Banana Azul Hotel next door which I found a bit pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    17
    10
    19
See reviews for
29
49
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voecklabruck, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We did not book any hotel in Puerto Viejo, but arrived very late in the evening - stupid thing to do, but this hotel was open during the night, so that's a big plus.

Another big plus is that it is very very close to the beach - you just have to cross the street.

Breakfast was really nice and good, the pool was a little bit dirty, but overall - nice.

We stayed in a room without air conditioning the first night. In the morning, we took one with AC, that was worth a few dollars, because it was SO extremely hot.

The furniture is made of wood - smells a little, but that's ok, no wonder in this climate.

Close to the "city" and everything you need to see.

I would recommend this hotel to tourists on a budget, not too cheap but affordable.

Go to Cahuita if you can, very beautiful there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel Perla Negra Beach Resort is beautifully located on the Playa Negra bay of Puerto Viejo and and the beach is just across the road from the hotel. The amenities (like yoga room, free WiFi, bar, billiard table, pool area, tennis court) are great and just all you need to relax through the day. The personnel is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable offering a Caribbean warmth. We liked this place a lot and plan on coming back next year, it was awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place was okay but if I had it to do over again, I would pay a bit more and stay at Banana Azul next door. The place was clean and we had no problems but it felt a bit deserted and run-down. The front desk was not staffed all night and they had no dogs so it seemed like a place that could be robbed quite easily. I wish that the rooms at least had a safe but ours did not. It is right on the beach which is a major plus. One tip - the outlets here only have 2 prongs so plan accordingly if you need to plug in some electronics!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great location on the beach! We loved our room with the Oceanview, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was awesome! They were always available and very helpful! The room does need an update, but it was clean.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here, since it was our only option during the high season of December/January. I am not sure if it was because we booked last minute that price was high, but we paid ~ $170/night for a room that should have been no more than $70. The staff was friendly enough, but the place felt drab and dank. The shower had mildew, the towels and sheets were ancient, and the breakfast was OK. Overall, it was alright, but would not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While we were sleeping room was entered and money ,camera and backpack stolen.Feel fortunate we were not harmed physically. Thief had a bag of hotel key rooms that were dropped when people in second room that was entered scared him away.
Rooms were shabby and not too clean.Found ants in the bed and the two towels in the room were paper thin.
Owner did reimburse for the losses since he thought it was a former employee.

Room Tip: There are none.All need renovation and better lighting.NO room service or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.3 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#7 of 45 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be My Guest Cabinas
Be My Guest Cabinas
#20 of 75 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#24 of 45 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sibu Hotel
Sibu Hotel
#47 of 75 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#18 of 45 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo | 500m from Bar Point, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 87555, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Pearl is a Beach Front Rustic Accommodation, surrounded by an ecological, quiet and out of town atmosphere.   You will find an atmosphere of relaxation in the South Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica. Enjoy the services of Puerto Viejo town as bars, nightclubs and restaurants with a variety of local and international food, surrounded by very kind and friendly people.   Our Rustic Beachfront Accommodation  offers you a unique style of sharing and enjoying the environment of Costa Rica's Caribbean,we do not sell you a room , we offer you peace, tranquility and good life view as it is in our place, whitout seals or stereotypes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Negra Beach Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Rustico De Playa Perla Negra Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.