We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but ..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Perla Negra Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Perla Negra Beach Resort to your Saves list
La Perla Negra Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Perla Negra | Puerto Viejo de Limon, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 87555, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Voecklabruck, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We did not book any hotel in Puerto Viejo, but arrived very late in the evening - stupid thing to do, but this hotel was open during the night, so that's a big plus.

Another big plus is that it is very very close to the beach - you just have to cross the street.

Breakfast was really nice and good, the pool was a little bit dirty, but overall - nice.

We stayed in a room without air conditioning the first night. In the morning, we took one with AC, that was worth a few dollars, because it was SO extremely hot.

The furniture is made of wood - smells a little, but that's ok, no wonder in this climate.

Close to the "city" and everything you need to see.

I would recommend this hotel to tourists on a budget, not too cheap but affordable.

Go to Cahuita if you can, very beautiful there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    15
    10
    15
See reviews for
26
47
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel Perla Negra Beach Resort is beautifully located on the Playa Negra bay of Puerto Viejo and and the beach is just across the road from the hotel. The amenities (like yoga room, free WiFi, bar, billiard table, pool area, tennis court) are great and just all you need to relax through the day. The personnel is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable offering a Caribbean warmth. We liked this place a lot and plan on coming back next year, it was awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place was okay but if I had it to do over again, I would pay a bit more and stay at Banana Azul next door. The place was clean and we had no problems but it felt a bit deserted and run-down. The front desk was not staffed all night and they had no dogs so it seemed like a place that could be robbed quite easily. I wish that the rooms at least had a safe but ours did not. It is right on the beach which is a major plus. One tip - the outlets here only have 2 prongs so plan accordingly if you need to plug in some electronics!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great location on the beach! We loved our room with the Oceanview, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was awesome! They were always available and very helpful! The room does need an update, but it was clean.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here, since it was our only option during the high season of December/January. I am not sure if it was because we booked last minute that price was high, but we paid ~ $170/night for a room that should have been no more than $70. The staff was friendly enough, but the place felt drab and dank. The shower had mildew, the towels and sheets were ancient, and the breakfast was OK. Overall, it was alright, but would not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While we were sleeping room was entered and money ,camera and backpack stolen.Feel fortunate we were not harmed physically. Thief had a bag of hotel key rooms that were dropped when people in second room that was entered scared him away.
Rooms were shabby and not too clean.Found ants in the bed and the two towels in the room were paper thin.
Owner did reimburse for the losses since he thought it was a former employee.

Room Tip: There are none.All need renovation and better lighting.NO room service or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahlwies, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a great time in this hotel right at the beach. For sure not a 5 star hotel, but cleanand the rooms are nice, very friendly stuff and the location is simply awesome. Breakfast with eggs cooked to order outside in an open kitchen - lovely. Would go again any time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Perla Negra Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Negra Beach Resort

Address: La Perla Negra | Puerto Viejo de Limon, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 87555, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perla Negra Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Negra Hotel is located in the popular but quaint village of Puerto Viejo on Costa Rica´s Caribbean coast. Geographically, we are located at Playa Negra (Black Beach), where, just beyond our hotel, you will find miles of stunning and deserted shoreline. In fact, our hotel is located directly in front of the Caribbean Sea and the beach is the most peaceful, quiet and secure place outside of Puerto Viejo.Although La Perla Negra Hotel and beach is secluded and private, you will always be just a short walk to town (less than 2 kilometers), where you can enjoy great restaurants, shop for locally made souvenirs and crafts, or dance the night away in one of the town´s lively nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Perla Negra Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Negra Beach Hotel Puerto Viejo
La Perla Negra Beach Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perla Negra Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.