We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazlo's Catch of the Day

Lazlo's Catch of the Day
Ave 71 (Rt 256) | Between Salsa Brava Restaurant and Exploradores Outdoors, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Greencastle, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stopped in for a fish dinner and it did not disappoint! Only had two choices on the menu and they were both delicious. Probably the best meal I had while I was there. The owner and his son were pretty entertaining to listen to, well.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    11
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So simple - so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Came to eat here twice as it was so good the first time. As many wrote already - the place is simple, it is not a fancy restaurant with well dressed waiters. What the place has is BEST FISH IN TOWN :) Maybe best fish in the world. It tastes so fresh and tasty, amazing. Robbie also offered us some tasty rum. :)

We spent a nice evening talking to Lazlo - heard about his experience, how he came from Europe and ended up in Costa Rica, his values and way of life.
Food and atmosphere - the best you get in Puerto Viejo!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT miss Lazlo's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have been in Costa Rica 5 months and Lazlo's may have been our finest meal yet. The fresh grilled snapper was perfectly prepared with olive oil and garlic and the side vegetables were abundant and delicious. The Dad catches the fish while the son acts as front-end manager and waiter. We had been told their tuna was delicious but they didn't have any that day because Dad hadn't caught any.

Ladies room was a bit dodgy and it saddens me to relate that Mom had just used it and hadn't felt the need to replenish supplies.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Robbie´s cocktails and fresh tuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We met Robbie (Lazlo´s son) after scuba diving one afternoon. He mentioned his restaurant and we went for dinner. Menu is: catch of the day, fries and grilled veg. Delicious plus he treated us with his home made cocktails. Bit of Hungarian family going on and that made it all the better :)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahuita, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Fish Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Lazlo's specializes in preparing a catch of the day excellent fish dinner that will definitely fill you up. It is an great meal and they also have a variety of drinks to go with your dinner.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazlo's Catch of the Day also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Lazlo's Catch of the Day? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazlo's Catch of the Day, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.