We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manu Yoga Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manu Yoga Village
Save
You added Manu Yoga Village to your Saves list
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at Manu for three nights by myself. It was serene and relaxing (and also felt very safe). The bungalows are simple, yet sufficient (bed, mosquito net, shelves and a safe) and the porch overlooks the garden/trees. It was quite hot in the bungalow at night, so a fan would probably be useful but otherwise, the accommodation was very good. Definitely bring a flash light since it is very dark at night and the bathroom/shower and kitchen are a little hike down a slope.
The owners, Marco and Kristiana are very nice and helpful (e.g. calling a taxi or recommending places to go).
I took two yoga classes with Kristiana, which were great and the clay cleansing with Marco, which I can highly recommend. Thank you for everything Marco and Kristiana, I hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haiku, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Manu Yoga was one of the first places we stayed on the beginning of a 6 month journey through Latin America, and was still one of the most memorable highlights. Marco and Christiana, and little Sara (we stayed just before Alessandro was born), were a joy to spend time with, and were wonderful hosts. The yoga facility is heavenly and we used it every day! Clover, my partner, was even invited to guest teach a yoga class. The cabins were cozy, and a great price for two people in Puerto Viejo. Any time we're back in Costa Rica, we'll definitely go back! Thanks Marco!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had unforgettable beautiful four days and nights in Manu yoga in the end of September. I just walked there from the center of Puerto Viejo and I found a paradise where lovely family was doing their everyday works.

I rented a bungalow (clean, simple, wonderful view) and participated all the programs during my stay. My program were something like that. Woke up at 8.00. Little yoga practice of your own on a breathtaking platform. Shower and then by bike to the town for a breakfast. I didn´t use the kitchen. Then walking and biking round the area, one hour on the beach and a light lunch about 1 pm. Then relaxing in the bungalow before the afternoon program (clay cleansing with Marco - what an experience). In the evening by bike to have a dinner and going bed about 10 pm.

Simple, easy and at the same time something unbelievably beautiful.

Marco and Cristiana were so friendly and they share kind of the energy that is rare.

Top three experience of my life. If I have possibility, I will come back.

Thank you Marco and Cristiana

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Ca.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I did not stay the night here, I only did yoga and sauna.
I highly recommend both. The people who live there are the best! true yogis filled with love and peace, they also built the structures on the property. Impressive. Although the yoga is very gentle i still feel the affects in my body days later. I will go there again and am looking into their Yoga teacher training in January. If you go to Puerto Viejo (which was my favorite stop in Costa Rica), do your self a favor and find this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My friend and I recently took a class here at Manu Yoga and followed it with the Tuesday night sweat lodge. The class was perfect out in the jungle with just yourself and nature and led by Marco at a relaxing and simple pace that coincided exactly with our surroundings and inner need. The sauna after was even more than I expected. The facility was clean built by the owners and so relaxing and cleansing. We felt so energized after!

We found this by following the path out of curiosity up to the setting and met Marco and Cristiana along with their two children. What a delightful family that made us feel at home and left us with a desire to experience more. Which we did two nights later with the class and sauna. What a perfect way to end our trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I went to Manu's place for a yoga class on a hill outside of Puerto Vieho. I must warn you, there is no reception and nobody will welcome you when you arrive. That was a bit disconcerting to me. The place reminded me of a ghost town and gave me an errie feeling. The idea of staying overnight in one of their cabins did appeal to me at all. Eventually the yoga instructor arrived and was very good. So I had a good time and enjoyed myself afterall. As it turned out my overall impression wasn't so bad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco O, Owner at Manu Yoga Village, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hi Jane,

thanks for your visit and your review, specially for your nice words on yoga.

Anyone into yoga and meditation, spiritual awareness, love and respect for nature is very welcome here.

We don't have a steady reception, true. We are a family run business, fairly small, sometimes we have to run errands... but thanks for indirectly offering a good tip on when to find us for sure: activities! We are always there for those (two or three per day) and those are open to anyone, not only our guests: yoga classes, meditations, sweat lodges, clay cleansings, sharing circles, chantings, bhagavad gita or yoga sutra readings, nutrition workshops, teacher trainings etc... the activities schedule, as well as our e-mail and phone number, is written on our sign on the main road, and they are not hard to find on the net.
For those who like to stay with us, even for a short retreat, calling or e-mailing ahead is not a bad idea.

peace,
Marco and Cristiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed in Yoga Manu Village for one week at the end after nine months traveling. I needed a place to rest and recapitulate all my amazing experiences. I just wanted to practising yoga and meditation every day. I didn't wanted a crowded place, lots of peoples and parties so it was perfect!!!

During my stay Cristiana and Marco were so friendly, always helpful and warm. I felt more like being part of a family as just being a tourist. I loved my little wooden hut for myself. I never felt unsecure or uncomfortable in this place. At night they call you a taxi if you wana go out, otherwise it's the best option to rent a bicycle to go to town. Takes just 10min.

By the way they have lots of wonderful activities apart from yoga and meditation, surprise yourself! You gona love it... :-D

If you look for a place in the jungle were you can practising yoga, meditation and other activities, meet interesting people and were you can explore and see every day hundreds of beautiful little wonders... just go and fill your heart with it. I will come back...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manu Yoga Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manu Yoga Village

Address: Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
find the embrace of a vibrant jungle,a natural path to your intimate self,pure rejuvenating energy,and the peaceful fulfillment of gratitude. At Manu' Yoga Village teachers and students will find themselves at home and meet the most amazing people.We are located 1 kmt south of Puero Viejo, in Playa Cocles.Look for our tall wooden sign and follow the arrows, we'll be waiting for you.Join us for yoga classes, meditation, massages, nutrition workshops and saunas. Yoga students and teachers can also choose to stay in one of our bungalows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manu Yoga Village Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manu Yoga Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.