We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Tres Monos in Punta Uva, Costa Rica 4 bdrm

Welcome!
Welcome!
Welcome!
Garden path
Giant Bromeliad garden vied from porch
Red Eyed Green leaf by the frog pond
Kayak to the beach from the property
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LBC0624
Sudbury, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More magical than could have ever been imagined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The house, the property, the location, the wildlife, the owners - everything was out of this world perfect! We were traveling with a group of 6 women - and even all of our how loud laughter didn't scare away the amazing wildlife. It was the best of all worlds for us... we felt like we were in the middle of the rainforest, right near the ocean, and only a 10 min cab ride to town. We spent our days lounging in hammocks, eating fresh fruit, spying the trees for monkeys & sloths, and scanning the ground for every color frogs you can imagine. The house was very open and the best were very comfortable with mosquito nets. We loved the tree house feel, and it was truly the most relaxing location and atmosphere we could have imagined - as well as it was a pleasure getting to know Tracy & David, the owners - who were more than gracious hosts, and gave you the peace at mind to really live like it was your home for the stay. Highlights included the red eye tree frogs, sloths, troops of monkeys howling by, the sound of the ocean in the distance, gorgeous gardens & trees, and being surrounded by the noise of the jungle. We had a blast at the Jaguar refuge just down the road by car (where we got to hold baby monkeys!) but had the double pleasure of seeing most of the same animals & birds around our house in the wild.

Recommendations:
They are working in signs for the place - but as it is right now, it is hard to find on your own. Ask directions before arriving, although its super easy once you know which road to turn on.

Also, there is a little store at the end of the road that is good for all kinds of emergency needs, but to save money, best to buy most of what you need before arriving at Punta Uva. Might not be the same case for everyone, but everything seemed to have the tourist mark up cost for us at that store. But with that being said, it does seem to have just about anything you might need.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, Wildlife, Gardens
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Brian M
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredible Location, Cool House.. totally Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Loved this place. I have never stayed in a home that was so amazingly intertwined with the three things I love in a vacation: Ocean, Jungle, and Abundant Nature. Having rented homes from Mexico to Honduras and now Costa Rica, I will say without doubt this place is the best. I simply have never stayed anywhere that was so removed from the rest of the tourism brigades and been surrounded by so much nature. Loved this place!!!

Only Recommendation: this place is perfect; however it would be nice if the kayaks were placed a little more ready to use. While I love nature, I was not thrilled flipping them over in the jungle mud (snakes? didn't see any but I was sweating!) and lots of thingy's to clean out. Just a little thing.

5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Being in the Jungle...Monkeys anyone???
Liked least: Bugs... but heck, if you cannot handle some bugs, go stay at the Holiday Inn.
Traveling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sue J
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Facility, location and owner services far exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 5 adults stayed 5 days at Tres Monos. Only 4 days were planned but we liked it so much we asked for an additional day. Tracey and David went beyond what was expected in offering to drive us around as we did not have a car. The grounds are lushly planted and ajoin a navigable creek emptying at the sea, kayaks provided. Walk to the gorgeous beach is short. Arracife Restaurant a short walk and fish tacos amazing. Ask for Ismael there for a high time. $10 taxi ride into Puerto Viejo for nightlife, cheap local buses during daytime. Home, beds and wonderful shower all excellent. IF YOU DO NOT LIKE NATURE CLOSE UP THIS PLACE IS NOT FOR YOU. We loved it!!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location in jungle with short walk to beach, owners
Liked least: the rain
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LuckyMomN...
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tropical Hideaway in Punta Uva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two children (ages 6 & 9) recently stayed at Casa Tres Monos and had a wonderful time. Tracy and David were extremely warm and gracious and were very helpful to us during our visit. Tracy assisted us with transportation several times, made recommendations for local attractions, shared her knowledge of the beautiful plants and flowers in her gardens and made a point of showing my kids wildlife to see and enjoy. We saw toucans, golden orb spiders (not harmful), red-eyed tree frogs, smokey frogs, hourglass frogs, tadpoles, various butterflies (including Blue Morpho) and howler monkeys! Speaking of the howler monkeys, they could be heard each morning before sunrise. I've never heard anything like it. In fact, one morning, it sounded like hundreds of them were in the trees directly over the house!!! I couldn't believe it! It was so loud!!! But totally cool!

The house is constructed of beautiful hardwood with large porches, lots of open spaces and beautiful views of the lush tropical gardens that surround the house. Each bedroom has a a bed with mosquito netting and screened windows. Better lighting and ceiling fans would be a great addition. The stairs between levels are fairly steep but have gates with latches at the top so if you have small children, it shouldn't be an issue. There were relaxing hammocks on the porch and a beautiful bamboo bed that would have been great, however, it had an odd smell. Could be due to the fact that it is outside on the porch, but most likely because one of Tracy's dogs decided to spend the night with us and camped out on the bed. Probably not the first time. I love dogs and her dogs were very cute and good-natured, but I would have rather they stayed off the beds :-)

There was a beautiful wooden table and chairs on the main porch for meals. Tracy supplied coffee and a coffeemaker, which was great in the morning! So lovely to be able to sit there, look for birds and butterflies and sip my morning coffee. There was a small 4 burner stove with oven fueled by propane that worked just fine, two apartment-sized refrigerators and the usual kitchen utensils. The water in the sink is not drinkable so Tracy supplied large jugs of spring water. The water in the sink isn't heated so washing up the dishes takes a bit of effort.

The bathroom is a separate structure on the ground level with toilet, sink and large shower. You can't flush the TP down the toilet and the water in the sink isn't hot, but the shower has a device that heats the water and it's quite hot and there didn't seem to be an issue with pressure. It rained very heavily our first night there, so having enough water for showering wasn't an issue.

We were there in "dry season" but since it's a rainforest, it's usually fairly humid so wet towels and bathing suits won't ever dry out. It was hot during the day but surprisingly cool at night. My kids thought it was a little buggy but very adventurous. (it was actually less buggy than I was expecting) and they really loved seeing all of the wildlife!

There is a river next to the property but we did not kayak to the beach via the river. We did the 5-7 minute walk to the beach. There's a gravel road from the house to the main road, then you just cross over that and head down another gravel road until you hit the beach. There is a small grocery store right there on the main road for basic supplies (bread, sweets, milk, eggs, cheese, cereal, etc) The beach is lovely and and the water is fairly calm for swimming. No rocks or shells, nice sand, surrounded by lush vegetation and palm trees. Looks like it must have looked when the first explorers arrived! So refreshing to see a beach front that isn't developed.

They have two bikes that you can use, but since we had kids with us (that don't yet know how to ride) that didn't work for us. Cab rides to local restaurants along the main road are quite pricey as they charge you for the trip they have to make from Puerto Viejo to pick you up. A very short ride to the very excellent Selvin's restaurant was $10! And walking or biking along the road at night would be a little too treacherous for me. You definitely need flashlights (which we brought with us, but Tracy also supplied with the house). We regretted that we didn't rent a car for our stay in Punta Uva.

As other reviewers mentioned, this is not a hotel experience and is on the rustic side, but is the kind of place that affords you the opportunity to really soak in the wonders of the beautiful surroundings.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Lush vegetation
Liked least: Odd smell in kitchen
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
peaches93...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“Casa Tres Monos..Best of both worlds. In the Jungle but just a 15 walk to the best beach in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Casa Tres Monos was a real gem. The owners Tracy and David made our stay so comfortable. The house is perfectly situated between the beach and the heart of the jungle. We really enjoyed hanging out at the house and taking in the sites and sounds of the jungle. Monkeys,birds,frogs and butterfly's all around you as you sip your coffee in the morning.Take the beach bikes down to Punta Uva or Playa Grande. Just an easy 10 minute pedal from the house!! Both beaches are extremely beautiful and peaceful.You can actually kayak from the river next to the house down to Punta Uva beach then around the point to Playa Grande. We had a stand up paddle board, so that was what we used. The house itself is best described as glamorous camping or glamping. This is a good thing..It fits perfectly with the jungle. If you expect a hotel like experience then you will be most likely disappointed. We loved it because the house is so open and airy with lots of outdoor space to relax, hang out or enjoy a meal. The Kitchen is easy to cook meals in and if your nice Tracy might even take you over to the Organic Farmers Market on Saturday. Thanks Tracy!!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The owners and the location of the house
Liked least: The rooms are pretty small
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2013
My new favorite word Paul, "glamping"!

We really enjoyed having you and the rest of the crew here Paul.

You guys will ALWAYS be welcome at Casa Tres Monos and we shall keep a special space in our hearts and on our gampsite just for you.

Pura Vida,

Tracy & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jtrav
Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Jungle Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Our family of 4 (with two young children, 8 &12) stayed at Casa Tres Monos over Christmas 2012. The setting is quite beautiful with the garden the blends in nicely with the natural jungle surroundings. We really enjoyed the open living space. During our 6 days there, it rained quite a bit. When the rain was too much and we couldn’t get out, the open living space provided a nice place to relax and enjoy the surroundings. A couple mornings when the sun came out, the jungle was quite magical with lights filtering through trees, dancing on the foliage with sparkling water droplets left by the overnight rain.
The house is not for everyone though. It wouldn’t be ideal for those expecting resort type of lodging. Keep in mind that it is in the jungle and nature lovers will get the most out of it.
The nearest beach is about a 10 minute walk away. However, we found the next beach (about 15 minute walk) much more beautiful with long stretches of white sand and several nice swimming spots. The provided bikes can be used to get to these in minutes.
Tracy was a wonderful host. She went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. She took us all over town in her SUV to find a rental bike for our younger daughter. And when the first bike didn’t work out, she took us again to find another bike. With the extra bike the 4 of us were able to bike (sometimes in the rain) to Manzanillo, Peurto Veijo, various beaches, farmer market & surf lesson. Thank you Tracy.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tfreymo
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We (myself, husband & teenager) absolutely loved this place. Waking
up to the most beautiful garden I've ever seen then drinking coffee
while watching the monkeys is an experience I will never forget and
hope to repeat. The outdoor living space was amazing, the kitchen came
well stocked and Tracy and David were sweet, available, and attentive. I agree with the descriptions that are listed in the previous reviews and must add that the dryer is truly a jungle luxury. This is one of the coolest places I've ever stayed and Punta Uva is an absolutely stunning beach.
I seriously can't wait to visit again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The porch, the garden, and the dryer
Liked least: would have enjoyed some speakers for our music
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$125
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
tracy m
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Mar 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing