We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing seafood restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Tamara

Restaurante Tamara
Main Street, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

You gotta try the Octopus in white sauce !! OMG it was just amaziiiiiiiiiiiiiiing.
the Rice and beans was going along perfect(better than if you pick the plantains since its very saucy)(for no more than 10 bucks??!!)
Great ambiance, sometimes some locals calypsos singers will swing by they just add the perfect touch for a beautiful evening.

Very well located too in the heart of town,near tex-mex.
Own locally from Puerto Viejo residents
I have been there 3-4 times in differents trips and it has never disappointed me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Caribean food in PUerto Viejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

In our second visit to PV we ended eating in Tamara 3-4 times. Great and friendly service and with good food. Even had the patties!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

We ate at Tamara today & were entirely caught off guard by how perfect the fish was cooked & tasted. The beans & rice were tasty as well. My husband had the breaded fish & I had it grilled. Both styles were excellent--perfectly cooked & fresh. The waiter was a very shy but kind young man. The restaurant was established in 1981; probably long before any of the others in the area. The prices seemed high but it seems all prices are high in the area. Check it out & watch the street action while enjoying fresh fish.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“colorful soda into downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Up on the main road, Tamara offers several Caribbean choices, from typical Ron Don to lobsters or shrimps. Rice and beans and fried platanos...yum yum yum!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Loved the caribbean food in here. The service was really really good, to the point I asked a Paty for entrance (which they didn't have) so they pointed me to a business in front to buy it, so I could bring it and eat it while we waited for our meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Tamara also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Restaurante Tamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Tamara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.