We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every town needs a Sports Bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Sports Bar & Grill

The Point Sports Bar & Grill
Black Beach entrance to Banana Azul, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
50627568491
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Point...A different kind of Sports Bar.Sure we have sports on all (7) of our T.V's all the time...and sure we have hot wings and (U.S.D.A. beef) burgers...and sure we have ice cold beer and micro brew on tap, but did you know that we have local Caribbean cuisine made by the best chef south of Nicaragua?  Check out our open air restaurant/bar located on Black Beach, steps to the Caribbean Sea. A local hangout where tourists and locals come together to have a good ol' time.  So on your next visit to Puerto Viejo, top on by and say hi ya'll (before Paradise, we lived in New Orleans).  We will keep a seat warm, a cold beer, your favorite game on, and a fun time waiting for you!
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Every town needs a Sports Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am not a fan of sports but my hubby is thrilled to have found a place to watch the NFL on Sundays. I sampled some of the food and it was pretty good. The owners are very sweet and friendly. There's a poker game 3 afternoons a week. Perfect thing to do on a rainy day!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irPopeye, Owner at The Point Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Maybe your husband should write a review, sounds like it was his kind of place. lol
In all honesty thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    46
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salida, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was fun to watch the Broncos play on the big screen TV. They say the food is some of the best but we had Casado con Pescado the typical Tico dish and it was not all that great. Fish was fishy tasting the rice and beans tasted old and it just was not our best meal. It was one of the only places we saw other Gringos but since that is not our goal (to find other Americans) we avoided the place. It was just OK overall.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Its a sports,beach,hippie bar, I found home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First off, don't listen to my wife. "There's no booze in these" Picture me carrying her home. Thank you Shawn and your Mystery Vodka Surprise.
Listen, at half time you walk outside, grab a chair fire up a 420 treat and watch the waves. Its perfect. Food was good, drinks were great. They have a Hippie night!! Real Hippies I kid you not Do not miss it there was so much fun going around I cant explain. But make sure to use the back door, no exceptions ;)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantsville, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Went to watch a sporting event and had a great meal as well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If while in Puerto Viejo, you need to watch a sporting match there is no better place than the Point Sports Bar & Grill. They have many tv's and also a big screen as well. Very helpful to get the station you are looking for and they have a great satellite system. We have no tv at the house we are renting so went on Sunday to see the Football game, not soccer and also back on Monday to see the UCONN Woman play and crush the Duke Blue Devils. My wife is a big UCONN fan. By the way they also have excellent food. Make sure you come hungry as they have big portions. My wife and I split a meal each night and that was plenty for us. Oh by the way if you are thirsty there is plenty of drink choices as well. Pet friendly our small dog Savannah came with us as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place to Hang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Chill layed back vibe with good beer, good food and good service. If you want to watch sports in PV this is the ONLY place to be!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to The Point Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Sports Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.