We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings for this hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerto Viejo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Puerto Viejo
Save
You added Hotel Puerto Viejo to your Saves list
50 mts parcicito, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Konstanz, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“mixed feelings for this hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff was helpful. I had a single room with big bed for $10 and common bathroom (not very clean). The room was nice and I liked that there was a fan and not air-condition. The location is good if someone wants to be in the village. The common areas in the hotel were nice and spacious. I stayed there for 4 night and I wasn't sleeping well because there was a lot of noise from a nearby bar. Very loud music till late. There was a kitchen but every time I had to wash some dishes to use. Internet is almost only in the common areas.

Room Tip: maybe a room as far as possible from the entrance will have less noise from the nearby bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    17
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
13
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It doesn't hurt that it's in one of my favorite cities in Costa Rica. It kind of reminds me of my grandparents old cabin. Definitely has a worn in feeling. But for the most part it is quiet, comfy (enough), always had a hot shower, and great wifi. Yes, the kitchen leaves a lot to be desired (but almost all hostels do).

The location is excellent. It's just steps away from everything Puerto Viejo has to offer - shops, restaurants, bars, supermarket, and ocean (visible as soon as you step out onto the road, and less than a 5 minute walk). Due to it's location you are subject to the noise of whatever is going on downtown though. If there is a band playing outside - you'll hear it. But overall PV is a pretty sleepy town so outside noise drops to a lull after 10:00 p.m. most nights.

At $10-$12 a night, you could do a whole lot worse than the Hotel Puerto Viejo. Definitely for the more laid back traveler though - and those not offended by a little pot smoking here and there;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed one night. Had a room to myself for the price of a bed ($10) since it was not busy. The room was decent and had a fan, which helped a lot with the heat. The bathroom facilities were okay. Didn't use the kitchen due to the brevity of my stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alta gracia . cordoba
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

old and trashy. is the kind of place where surfers can bargain a room for a month, it has a not really equiped kitchen but at least has one. is well ubicated one block from main street and the beach and has supermarkets close to get groceries. the rooms are made of wood and they are hot. not the best place to go with your girl/boyfriend if your idea is a romantic weekend, unless you get there in the low season when the big hotel is almost empty

Room Tip: they have a lot of kinds of rooms, so take your time to look around and bargain if you feel like
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel Puerto Viejo was a random pick and we ended up staying there for five nights. Loved the upstairs rooms, with open (mosquito netted) windows all around. Not so good if you want privacy though. Absolutely beautiful to lie in bed the one day that it rained. Great location, close to the beach and bars. Staff were odd and the expats seemed a bit jaded, but I found them interesting to talk to. Locals came to the bar downstairs too which was great!

As in other reviews, kitchen is absolutely rubbish, but I found the bathrooms to be clean and fairly standard for that part of the world.

Not the biggest party hostel, but not super quiet either. Good if you enjoy having a beer and chatting to locals, expats, and other tourists

Room Tip: Upstairs loft-type rooms for couples or well-off solo travellers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

stayed at Hotel Puerto Viejo for $10 per person. Private room shared bath. Adequate but not exceptional. Setup to maximize backpacker traffic. Kitchen poorly equipped. Reasonable location. Many better facilities available but is a good choice if just passing through. Great beach and only $25 foor shuttle to Boca Town in Panama.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

our room was clean and had mosquito fencing. The room was cool and also had a fan but we had one of the better rooms upstairs. The bathrooms were adequately clean but the kitchen is in shambles. no plates and limited cutlery. I don't have any major complaints other than the staff are obviously not liking their jobs and argue amonst themselves openly. The staff also give a negative vibe by complaining about their job and guests in front of other guests. This place has potential to be much better but it seems like poor management has led to disgruntled employees. I would stay here for cheap clean rooms but not for the vibe.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puerto Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto Viejo

Address: 50 mts parcicito, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Puerto Viejo's first hotel. As the quintessential surfer backpackers hotel, we are located in the heart of Puerto Viejo less than 1 block from the beach and the towns best bars and restaurants. We have been providing safe, clean, private and dorm style rooms and cabinas at the cheapest prices since 1987. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Puerto Viejo Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerto Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.