We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Dear Ocean Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mother Dear Ocean Cottages
Save Saved
You added Mother Dear Ocean Cottages to your Saves list
Calle Bar Pen Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70401, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mother Dear Cottages in April 2012. We had an absolutely wonderful time! The cottages are oceanfront on a nice, secluded part of the beach. The hosts, Jimmy and Debbie, are absolutely wonderful. They make sure that you have everything you need and are extremely helpful if you have any questions about the area. The town is just a short walk on the beach, which my husband and I did everyday. At night, Jimmy and Debbie can help arrange for a taxi to get into town.

If you're going to Puerto Viejo, stay at Mother Dear!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
100
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Mother Dear, is for sure the place to stay when visiting Puerto Viejo.

1. The cottage itself is stunning. Beautiful views, exceptionally clean, orthopaedic mattress, comfortable bedding and towels, etc.
2. The location is by far the best. You are 1 km north of the town of Puerto Viejo. If you rent bikes, it is only a few minutes to bike ride to town, but yet you are away from the actual town so you are more in nature.
3. Customer Service is outstanding. Jimmie & Debbie really make sure that you are always doing well. They are extremely helpful when needed. And just such nice people.

Best wishes, we have been raving about this place to everyone we know.

Room Tip: There are two units available, and either would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at a fabulous cottage with a perfect ocean view, cooling breezes, and a lullaby provided by the waves. The week there flew by way too fast. Debbie and Jimmy are the ultimate hosts, anticipating your needs and providing for your comfort. They were also able to suggest tours and areas of local interest. We would definitely stay at Mother Dear again. Thanks, Debbie and Jimmy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you want a perfectly appointed cottage, great view of the mostly secluded beach and wonderful hosts Mother Dear is for you! From the moment we arrived we felt at home. From our morning walks on the beach to our evenings on the porch, we enjoyed every moment. The town of Puerto Viejo is a small cab ride away and offers great food and entertainment. If you are lucky you can catch the band play at Lazy Mon with a very special singer! I do not come across many places where the reviews are so favourable and Mother Dear deserves every positive review. The other places we stayed in Costa Rica did not compare to all that Mother Dear offers and we will certainly be back soon. Send a note to Jimmy early as this place books quickly and rightly so. Look no further if you are planning a visit to Puerto Viejo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner and I last visited Mother Dear about a year ago, and although we never return to the same place twice when we vacation, we broke our cardinal rule and had to go back to Puerto Viejo...truly because of Mother Dear. It honestly is a total paradise. Jim and Debbie have the most beautiful piece of property, and they go out of their way to be sure you have a comfortable stay, where you truly can just relax and enjoy the breathtaking views all around you. The view of the ocean from your deck is totally spectacular. You literally fall asleep to the sound of the surf each night. Jim and Debbie keep the bungalows extremely clean too, so you don't have to fear about cooking in your room if you so wish. This time, my partner and I brought friends along with us and they rented the bungalow next to us. They both agreed that this was definitely paradise and said their dreams came true by vacationing here. Thanks Jim and Debbie for such wonderful, lifelong memories. We miss you and Mother Dear already! Pura vida!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just completed 12 days at Mother Dear and it was fabulous. From the moment of our welcome by James and Debbie, we felt at home, albeit with a much better view. The tropical landscape, the prime ocean view and wonders, to the long meandering walks on the beach into town or towards a national park, this is the place to relax and reenergize oneself. The bungalow has everything you would want on a vacation, including NO tv, but excellent WIFI. Just sit on the expansive deck and you will forget what day it is. Nice beachfront sports bar and restaurant named The Point five minutes away on the beach. Great organic food. The Caribbean side of Costa Rica is a bit more rustic, so to find these bungalows is a real treat. We have already made our reservations for 2014. Book early.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Mother Dear is a wonderful getaway! Leave the hustle & bustle of life, slow down, kick up your feet watch and listen to the waves crashing just meters away! The grounds are beautiful! We even saw wild horses grazing in the yard!
The black sand beach right out front seems almost private as we only saw a handful of people. If you're looking for a romantic getaway...look no further!
If you're looking for adventure, the tour companies picked us up and dropped us off right at Mother Dear!
Debbie & Jimmy are great! The Cottages are beautiful and the weather was perfect! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mother Dear Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Dear Ocean Cottages

Address: Calle Bar Pen Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70401, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Specialty lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two hand-crafted hardwood cottages by the sea. Built for maximum air circulation, the cottages are elevated, cooled by ocean breezes during the day and mountain backdrafts at night. Beach music and forest sounds help you rest, relax, and renew. Beautiful hardwood floors and custom furniture make for a warm and cozy nest. Looking out above the beach from your porch, listening to the sound of the crashing waves, life is good! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mother Dear Ocean Cottages Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Dear Ocean Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.