We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate

Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate
25 Meters North of Om Yoga, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 53708, Costa Rica
+506 8836 8930
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Caribeans is the origninal bean-to-bar chocolate factory in Puerto Viejo. Chocolate is made right in the cacao forest. Tours of our factory include: all-you-can-eat gourmet chocolate, the chocolate forest hike, and the "see how we do it" factory tour. Regular tours are Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday.
Bolton, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great and informative! The tour down the river to the ocean was wonderful! The guides were knowledgable and the chocolate was devine!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    13
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“My favorite Ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

They have the best ice cream. Lots of flavors...the coffee is excellent too. Make sure you get a homemade waffle cone, they're outta this world good!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Paul, the owner, was very informative and knowledgeable. He did a fantastic job of explaining how chocolate was made. I view chocolate in a totally new light now. The coffee was to die for, as well. We now have a full year's supply of coffee :P. We also had the opportunity to meet his wife. Both lovely, hospitable, and passionate people.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All you can eat chocolate-need I say more?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was a very interesting and educational tour that takes you through the entire process of how cacao is grown, harvested and eventually processed into chocolate. Literally you learn Everything you ever wanted to know about chocolate and it's history. And of course the best part is you get to eat! First they let us try the actual cacao fruit (yes it's a fruit!) which was tart and really unusual but I loved it. We also sampled hot (and spicy!) chocolate, and the very fine single source European style bar chocolate that Caribeans is known for. Then it was time for an all-you-can-eat chocolate 'bar' where you get to make your own flavor combinations trying out the chocolate with sugar, herbs, salt, spices, and whatever they (or you) can think of! Bring cash so you can take home some bars for your friends (and yourself) and also grab a bag of their home-roasted coffee as well. They support local fair-trade and sustainable farming, something I really care about as well, so it was easy to get all our souvenirs here.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chocolate farm tour 5 minutes south of cocles beach is incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Marcos gave us a two hour tour of this farm, finished with the entire chocolate making process including the fermentation to the bean roasting and making chocolate. The treats at the end included a chocolate expresso, and the chocolate making and testing. Well worth the cost ($22) each and so enjoyable

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.