We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Bar!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Sunset

Mango Sunset
Sunset Boulevard | 20 Meters From Bus Stop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 00506, Costa Rica
+506 8757 8356
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Mango Sunset is a beachfront bar located in the heart of Puerto Viejo. The bar offers live music Monday-Saturday with a variety of bands playing Reggae, Salsa, Calypso, and good old fashioned rock 'n' roll. After 11pm, Mango is the bar to be at for dancing and partying with Live DJ's every night and a late night happy hour which includes $2 Cuba Libres from 11pm-1am. On Mondays (Monday Mango Madness), Wicked Wednesdays, and Saturdays, the atmosphere really cranks up a notch with Global DJs, $1 shots, and late night hours. Ladies Drink FREE Daiquiris 9pm-10pm every night except Mondays, when Ladies Drink FREE Mojitos 10pm-12am. If you are a sports fan and do not want to miss a big game while you are on vacation, Mango might just be the right place for you to root and cheer to your favorite team on the multiple screens throughout the bar. Closed Tuesdays.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite Bar!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

While walking around the town, my friend and I received flyers telling us to go to this bar at 9pm on Friday and Saturday. We got there and the music was great! There was a live dj and people everywhere. The bartenders were realllyy nice and they had the lakers game on. AWESOME. They had promotional drinks on the weekends and we got free margaritas and pina coladas. can't beat that. We went to a few other bars around and all were great but this was by far THE BEST. love it here and going back soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“I AM OFICIALLY A MANGO FAN !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I love Mangos Sunset, is just next to the beach, great music, amazing prices. Best cocktails and Pirate partys in town.
Great bar, nice people, locals, tourist, full dance floor... the cheapest tequila shots.
Love the bar and the owners, is just the correct place to have a good time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best place in PV for drinks, dancing and magnificent sunsets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Mangos was by far our bar of choice when visiting last month. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, facing the edge of the sea with a view that goes on and on.

Liam and Selda are wonderful hosts who treat their guests like family as soon as they meet you...super friendly, down to earth and full of laughs. The drink menu is fantastic with loads of unique recipes and drink specials. LADIES...make sure you head there for free mango dacquiris between 9:00 & 9:30 I believe. Yum!

There is always a dance party going on with a mixture of live music and DJ...all with a cool reggae vibe. Dont be surprised if you see Liam up on the stage jammin with the band :-)

Mangos is definitely the place to go...wish I could be there right now!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun fun fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Great place, great people and lots of fun to be had!

The drinks are reasonably priced and they have either a DJ or live music most nights. If cocktails and shooters are your thing, then head down there, the menu is HUUGGGE! I failed miserably to complete the list, so will just have to go back to Costa Rica to continue my mission ;O)

If Bloody Marys are your thing, then get down there on a Sunday for sunset (which is stunning by the way!) and you'll have the best you've ever had (so I'm told!! I don't like them, but my friend promised they were the best!).

If it's quiet - challenge Liam and Selda to a game of darts, they're both pretty competitive haha, bring on round two of UK vs Rest of the World....

It's making me sad writing this... wish I was there right now!

Pura Vida

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun nightlife in PV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Mango was the place to be in PV at night-loud music, good drinks, dance floor, outdoor seating if you don't want to be next to the DJ/speakers, darts, and packed with locals and tourists. If you get hot or need breathing room since it's pretty crowded, just step outside and chill on the beach which is right across the street. The music was latin, top 40 remixes, and techno (reminded me a lot of what they play in clubs in South Beach). Everyone's having a good time here, so might as well join them!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Sunset also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Mango Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.