We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Tuesdays!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasty Waves Cantina

Tasty Waves Cantina
El Tesoro Cabinas | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 2425, Costa Rica
2750-1906
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Tasty Waves is more than a humble cantina in beautiful Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica, it's a lifestyle. We always strive to become your "home base", giving you local advice on where to go, what sites to see and how to get the most out of your journey or vacation. Our staff is more of a family and we always want you to feel welcome in our home. For the most part it's a relaxed atmosphere but don't get me wrong, we know how to party. Tasty Tuesday has become the biggest and most anticipated party of the week and we always show you a good time, so good that we close on Wednesday to clean up the aftermath. Thursday is Trivia Night, Friday is R.E.H.A.B., Saturday is Karaoke, Sunday Funday and Monday is our Movie Night with new and classics running on our 100" projector screen. Stop in, say hi and have a shot of Guaro with us. Tasty Waves Cantina ~ Livin' the Dream
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“Tasty Tuesdays!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Me and my mate spent 3months traveling around central america and Tasty Tuesdays was hands down one of the greatest party nights we had while there. Bryton is a legend who makes you feel at home. We hired bikes the first day we got to PV and first place we road past was Tasty Waves and ended up staying there most the day. We were there for 10days and everyday we had multiple tacos they were that good!
If your in Costa Rica on a Tuesday make sure you get down there! Ask him to whip out the Party Shades and Beer Bong and let the good times roll!

Luke
Team Bangover 2010

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryton24, Owner at Tasty Waves Cantina, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Team Bangover! Legends in our bar and still hold the record for most beers drank in a 24 hour period, unreal! The party shades are waiting for your return fellas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    35
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fish tacos and Passion fruit caipirinhas!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Great bar! We spent our first evening in Puerto Viejo there and kept coming back. Great food (we had tacos and wings), great drink concoctions, and great company! It was nice also that the bar was so close to one of the better beaches - made drink replenishment quite easy! Absolutely loved the place!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryton24, Owner at Tasty Waves Cantina, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, these crazy Passion Fruit drinks are running like wild! Cant even keep up. Come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Has to be one of the best bars I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

If you want a good time, awesome hosts and the best tacos around it has to be Tasty waves for me, after travelling most of Europe, South and Central America I can honestly say Tasty Waves is one of the best bars I've ever been to and Tasty Tuesdays are epic!!. Cheers!!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryton24, Owner at Tasty Waves Cantina, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Suplex! Thanks for the review my man, we miss having you guys around here. We will carry on your tradition of the Horse Racing drinking game and will play Bonny Taylor in your memory. Came back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Bar In The WORLD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

For anyone who is looking for a good time, friendly faces, cold beer, and GREAT tacos Tasty Waves Cantina is not only your place but it’s the absolute bees knees. If you are in Costa Rica and not at Tasty Waves on a Tuesday night you might want to reconsider a few things in your life. From the three months we lived in Puerto Viejo Tasty Tuesday gave us journey air bands, 2am swims, multiple shots of guaro, bon fires, and nights we’ll never forget/remember. The owners Steve & Bryton may have the swagger of Bob Marley and the abs of Jesus, but don’t let that fool or intimidate you. They are truly great guys that just want to show everyone that walks into that bar what “Livin’ the Dream” looks like. For those of you looking for a more family feel Tasty Waves is your place as well. The cantina is located right across one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean and Steve’s awesome wife, Michelle, was always up for showing us the best places to go that only most locals knew about. Also, not to mention their 18 month old, little ball of sunshine, KJ, who will greet you even if you’re passing on your bicycle with a wave and an “HOLA!”.
We went to Costa Rica to relax and catch some rays and came back with tans, hangovers, forever friends, nicknames, and a new family called the Tasty Waves Crew! We fell in love with this little cantina Tasty Waves and if you stop on by we promise you will too…

T-Dub Throw it Up!!!
Rum & Coco and Banandie

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryton24, Owner at Tasty Waves Cantina, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Yesss! Rum n Coco and Banandie, first ever inductees to the Tasty Waves Hall of Fame! Thank you so much for the review and know that the two of you will always be legends here, I mean, you have your own drinking cups that are permanently placed behind the bar! Thanks for all the amazing memories girls. Wish we could throw in more "inside jokes" but we are asked to keep it PG ha ha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hands Down The Best Bar In Puerto Viejo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I came to Costa Rica with my Dad on an impromptu trip and we decided to venture away from the touristy Pacific side and check out the Atlantic coast. After checking out the town of Puerto Viejo, which is amazing by the way, we decided to check out the ocean section where apparently all the good surfing is.... again, an amazing place to be! Just through the jungle back to the road we spotted Tasty Waves Cantina across the street and decided to head in for a drink and lunch! Wow! This place is great! The staff is run by two Americans (one with a wife and little girl who was totally adorable) who couldn't have been friendlier and more gracious hosts! The beer was VERY cold, which is a major bonus considering the beers we had at other places were luke warm at best. Anyways, without going on and on... If you're in Puerto Viejo do yourself a favor and head just outside of town to Tasty Waves!

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryton24, Owner at Tasty Waves Cantina, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thanks for the killer review and drinking tons of our cold beer! You and your pops are very missed around here and thanks for personally inviting us to your wedding, not expected at all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Waves Cantina also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tasty Waves Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasty Waves Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.