We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for fish tacos” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tasty Waves Cantina

Tasty Waves Cantina
El Tesoro Cabinas | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 2425, Costa Rica
2750-1906
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Tasty Waves is more than a humble cantina in beautiful Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica, it's a lifestyle. We always strive to become your "home base", giving you local advice on where to go, what sites to see and how to get the most out of your journey or vacation. Our staff is more of a family and we always want you to feel welcome in our home. For the most part it's a relaxed atmosphere but don't get me wrong, we know how to party. Tasty Tuesday has become the biggest and most anticipated party of the week and we always show you a good time, so good that we close on Wednesday to clean up the aftermath. Thursday is Trivia Night, Friday is R.E.H.A.B., Saturday is Karaoke, Sunday Funday and Monday is our Movie Night with new and classics running on our 100" projector screen. Stop in, say hi and have a shot of Guaro with us. Tasty Waves Cantina ~ Livin' the Dream
New jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Watch out for fish tacos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

So few of my best friends and i went to puerto viejo for spring break. Went to tasty waves for lunch one day and got a chicken tacos and burritos - delicious! Saw their taco Tuesday deal and decided to go back for dinner the next day and we all got their fish tacos. Huge mistake. ALL of us spent the whole entire night with horrible food poisoning. Don't wont to get in to details but the whole 9 yards. This place has a great atmosphere and the rest of their food was good but just be careful with the fish. It could have just been a bad day but I wouldn't want anyone else getting this sick.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    48
    18
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Super chill atmosphere, great drinks, amazing fish tacos, 75 feet from the beach. This bar is paradise.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great food + good service + great view = fabu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

cute little roadisde cantina complete with pool tables, good music and interesting company. The fish tacos were beyond tasty and washed down with an icy beer made my afternoon complete. Don't hesitate to stop, its well worth it and the prices as good too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went there for some Sunday Fun-day beers and ended up staying for much longer than I expected, and then went back again that night. Jackson was awesome; super friendly and helpful. Stuck around later at night to make sure my cab arrived to take me back to my hostel, recommended some hostels at my next destination. The burger was easily the best I had had in Costa Rica (it was a welcomed changed after a month of mostly rice and beans :-P)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shots Shots Shots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was a blast to have the pleasure of enjoying beers and tasty tuesday. The staff is insane at throwing a good time from fire throwers to bone fires and BBQs. The location is super close to the beach so after a catching some gnarly waves you can chill listening to some killer beats. And we can't forget trivia thursdays were stellar! Team Trans Atlantic Bounce/TAB

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Waves Cantina also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tasty Waves Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasty Waves Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.