We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasty Waves Cantina

Tasty Waves Cantina
El Tesoro Cabinas | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 2425, Costa Rica
2750-1906
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Tasty Waves is more than a humble cantina in beautiful Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica, it's a lifestyle. We always strive to become your "home base", giving you local advice on where to go, what sites to see and how to get the most out of your journey or vacation. Our staff is more of a family and we always want you to feel welcome in our home. For the most part it's a relaxed atmosphere but don't get me wrong, we know how to party. Tasty Tuesday has become the biggest and most anticipated party of the week and we always show you a good time, so good that we close on Wednesday to clean up the aftermath. Thursday is Trivia Night, Friday is R.E.H.A.B., Saturday is Karaoke, Sunday Funday and Monday is our Movie Night with new and classics running on our 100" projector screen. Stop in, say hi and have a shot of Guaro with us. Tasty Waves Cantina ~ Livin' the Dream
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Nice Buritos for a very fair price. The place is very laid back, surfer style. Nice location at Playa Cocles, too. The staff was putting a lot of effort in pleasing us, was a cute guy, too. So thumbs up for Tasty Waves! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    35
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was near our villas and right next to the beach we visited. Very friendly service, cheap and good food -- fresh ingredients. And the best homemade fries! Enjoyed drinking imperial on a hot day on our way back from the beach.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent tacos and great staff. One of the owners sat down at our table and gave us some great advice on what to see in the area. Great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Taco drink specials next to the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Try the open-faced fresh shelled soft tacos with a few purple shots from the bar.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere (Esp. on Tuesday) & Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Tasty Waves is a short bike ride from the center of Puerto Viejo and is close to Playa Cocles. The food is AMAZING. My friend and I ate here a few times while were were on our way back from Cocles. Also, Tasty Waves is where its at on Tuesdays. Great vibes, great drinks, and lots of fun people. The owner is awesome and all of the staff!! :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Waves Cantina also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tasty Waves Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasty Waves Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.