We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Classy Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malbec - CLOSED

Malbec
South of Puerto Viejo on the Main Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
2750-0581
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Classy Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The cap review would say "great family-run Argentinean steak house," but that would be an understatement. I had blackened-caper salmon and my friend had a T-bone, and both were absolutely melt-in-the-mouth delicious. The wine (malbec, of course!) had been well cared for and was superior quality for a reasonable price. The owners are right there, cooking on a parilla (oven grill) and hosting impeccably.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    19
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa clarita
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went several times the service was fantastic and the food delicious. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfito, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent argentine steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nice propietors will let you spend a romantic dinner in informal atmosphere on the porch of their house, into the jungle.
Their wine (Malbec!) and their steaks (vacio) are great.
Don't miss it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Malbec was a fantastic find, thanks to banana azul staff for suggesting it. Everything is cooked on the grill, and melt in your mouth delicious. I had the sweetbreads app and I could have eaten a whole plate of it. Best sweethearts ever! My husband had blood pudding which was beautifully rich and savory. The beefsteaks were cooked to absolute perfection, and every piece of meat was beautifully seasoned. I highly recommend the skirt steak. I don't recall a lot of vegetarian options, but I would have just glossed over them anyway as I was there for meat. I recommend for the more adventurous to get the sampler platter and try some amazing foods you might not try otherwise. I will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“try the skirt steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

we walked an hour in the dark to get there but it was worth it!! never had skirt steak before but it was epic and so was the flambeed banana freshly picked from the plant. the lady serving us was warm and friendly and helped us order a taxi home...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malbec also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malbec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.