We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finca La Isla

Finca La Isla
Apdo #10, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304 , Costa Rica
506 88294229
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1987 in an abandoned cacao farm the botanical garden is a permaculture farm with a mature collection of fruit and spice trees in production and lots of tropical flowers. Corridors of rainforest make it into a fascinating nature park. Visitors will be able to try a fresh fruit drink, taste fruits in season, sample homemade natural chocolate, and learn about medicinals and ethnobotanicals. Finca la Isla is a working farm producing black pepper, fruits, and ornamental plants in commercial quantities. Besides the opportunity to see very rare tropical plants visitors will learn about tropical crops like bananas, black pepper, and nutmeg. The botanical garden is one of the very best places in Costa Rica to see frogs in the wild. Our rainforest will provide the chance to see four different kinds of poison dart frogs, reptiles, toucans and many other birds, sloths, and the marvel of symbiosis and diversity that is the tropical rainforest. Visitors are guaranteed to see the red poison dart frog in the wild.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's a big garden with lots of fruit trees, the staff there made us taste countless kinds of fruits! They also told us a lot about the different plants. It was very interesting!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Tropical Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very nice and helpful staff. Special thanks to Mr Kring, the owner for sharing his very impressive knowledge of tropical plants with us. Time was short for the so many interesting details Mr Kring brough to our attention while guiding us through Finca La Isla premises. We will be back for more soon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely self-guided tour, LOTS of red dart frogs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We walked here from our hotel towards the end of the afternoon and had the place to ourselves. The botanic gardens include a bromeliad nursery, small medicinal garden, short walk through the rainforest, and tons of fruit trees. While the plants were beautiful, there's not a wealth of information, so it was more about enjoying the scenery and the solitude. A big highlight was the abundance of red dart frogs (they guarantee you'll see one!) and a surreal pink pineapple plant. After the tour, the host offers a brief coco-pod demonstration and allows you to taste some of the fruit grown at the gardens. Very low key place, like most of Puerto Viejo, but a quiet pleasure.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Botanical Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Lovely botanical gardens with good labels for the plants and many birds and frogs to see. There was a nice explanation about local fruits at the end of our tour.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

even though i have often visited similar farms in different parts of the world, i liked the fact that you are left alone to wonder in a portion of the farm (botanic garden), and look around at different trees, plants and fruits. i got lost, but that was because i forgot the instructions for the path to follow!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finca La Isla also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Finca La Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca La Isla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.