We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Selvin's

Selvin's
main road to punta uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
27500664
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Food is good (family style). The fresh lobster was great, the other dishes we tried were fairly good (caribbean-style chicken, pork chop). Fresh fruit juice a little bit too diluted with water (pineapple especially).

Location is great, with a nice beach 1 minute away walking.

When it comes to service (we've been there twice, once for lunch, once for dinner), it was by far our worse experience in Costa Rica. The Grill was closed both time (which reduces the food choice by half), service was slow (we waited over 30 minutes both time), and the waitress we had both time... what to say... "if you're unhappy, change job". No smile, unpleasant attitude, really.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just to check it out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I ordered Rondon (fish soup) with Patacones and it has a very good carribean flavor. On the other hand, my husband ordered chicken casado and a little disappointed that he hardly have any chicken meat, mostly chicken bones! Well, my brod and sister in-law made a joke about his meal that he didn't order the right food....perhaps next time he will get the fish instead!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good for typical caribbean fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a great, very informal and chilled out, beach hut style cafe/restaurant which offers good, typical caribbean food and flavours. We had the Rondon (local shellfish soup) and the prawn curry - both very tasty. You can also get local juices, beers, cocktails and a decent glass of wine!

Unlike in other reviews, we received good, quick and efficient service despite it being quite a busy Friday night.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best "Typical" food we had in PV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had many casados/typical plates during our 4 day visit to the PV area. This one was the best and was very flavorful. It's about a dollar or two more than the small mom and pop places on the side of the road but totally worth it. I had the beef dish while those at my table had chicken. Everything was great!

Service was really good and they even called us a cab. Unfortunately the cab ripped off one of the people in our group with a $16 fare to Manzanillo which is under an 8 minute drive. Make sure to ask about the fare before you get in.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Rice n' Beans & Ron Don”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The food is fabulous, excellent ambiance and service!! Selvin, the owner, is very friendly and an excellent host!! We were in puerto viejo for New Years and went two times!! If you are looking for good food with a caribbean touch, then this place is a Must!!! 100% recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selvin's also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Selvin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selvin's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.