We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh so good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pita Bonita - CLOSED

Pita Bonita
100 Meters South of Tree House Lodge | 200 Meters North of Selvins Restaurant, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
506-2756-8173
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Come enjoy our Freshly Baked Pita Bread, Hummus, Falafel, Salads, Chicken Shawarma,Lamb Kebab while, sitting among the vibrant trees of the the rain forest. Enjoy a game of backgammon while, sipping Turkish coffee or just take a break from your bike ride to enjoy a fresh lemonade with mint,a cold beer or cocktail. We are located just before Punta Uva,on the main road between Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo. Take Away Orders Possible.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Oh so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had dinner there last night, and will be back for lunch (if only it will stop raining!). We could smell the shwarma cooking, and it was mouthwatering and did not disappoint. Our kids enoyed the falafel and hummous, and there was so much that we helped them eat it too :)

We have been in Costa Rica for over 2 weeks, and enjoy pretty much all the food we have tried. But it was so refreshing to have such delicious Middle Eastern food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    19
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best meal of our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went to Pita Bonita one night during our vacation simply because it was the closest place we hadn't tried yet, and it ended up being our best meal of the trip!

Unfortunately we didn't try the falafel, but the hummus & pita were amazing, the kebabs simply delicious.

The owner was super laid back and we enjoyed chatting with him over an an after-dinner drink.

The prices were not the cheapest, but it's also far from the priciest place around.

Two thumbs up!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“One of the best falafels ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The biggest surprise of my trip to Costa Rica so far was coming upon Pita Bonita. (the howler monkeys across the street from Pita Bonita were the second biggest surprise.) We were on a casual bike ride to nowhere and came upon Pita Bonita. Now I am a total falafel lover and something of a falafel connoisseur having eaten many falafels in Israel, New York, Los Angeles and beyond. I wasn't particularly hungry but I had to stop and get a falafel fix (much needed after the endless Casado meals!). I wasn't expecting a great falafel but boy, did I get one! This was a surprise considering that I was literally in the middle of the jungle in a remote area of Costa Rica (the land of rice and beans). Homemade fresh-baked pita bread, fresh ingredients and a very good falafel recipe made this one of the best falafels I have ever eaten - in fact, I would rate it in my top 5. The falafel (in pita) was huge and a good value for the money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Eata Pita!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great Pita bread. The Chicken Pita was excellent as was the Falafel Pita. When we arrived the owner/chef was laying on his hamack and greeted us when we entered. Life is good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Falafel Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Who would have thought that some of the best falafel would be found in the jungles of Costa Rica. Great meal. Great service. Great atmosphere. Loved every bite.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita Bonita also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pita Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.