We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terraventuras Jungle Expeditions

Terraventuras Jungle Expeditions
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca | 100 Mts Sur de la Parada de Bus, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
+506 275 00750
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It is our pleasure to introduce to you Terraventuras Jungle Expeditions. We are a well established and certified tour agency in Costa Rica since 1998. We provide tours with a dynamic team of experienced local guides who will make the tours interesting, enriching and with great fun. We can make up any package suitable to your needs, including transportation, accommodations and various tours throughout Costa Rica; however we are specialized in the Caribbean area. Some of the tours provided are:- Adventure tours; such as canopy, Jungle adventure and horseback riding. - Animal watching tours; such as snorkeling, animal watching and hiking in a national park. - Cultural tours; such as Cacaco farm tour, Indian reserve, Sloth hospital and rescue centers. - Trips to other destinations; such as Panama City and Bocas del Toro in Panama, Tortuguero turtle reserve, Arenal Volcano and many other destinations all over Costa Rica. Safety is a must for us! Therefore we have all the certifications and insurance from the Costa Rica tourism board as well as all the other insurances needed. We operate out of Puerto Viejo, which is a small town located at the Caribbean side of Costa Rica. It is rich in nature and culture. Inhabitants have an interesting cultural mix of Afro-Caribbean, Bribri Indian and ticos . Puerto Viejo has several spectacular areas that are even of international importance. It includes protected areas such as Cahuita National Park and the Gandoca-Manzanillo Refuge. Recently Puerto Viejo has become a tourist’s hot spot, due to the, white-sand beaches, tropical vegetation and the relaxing laidback atmosphere! The town has an authentic atmosphere and is rich of nice bars and restaurants with reasonable prices.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Wauconda, Illinois
1 review
“Perfectly Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I went horseback riding in the jungle. Our guide was extremely friendly and educated us on the culture and our surrounding in the jungle. He took us repelling down a waterfall which was a lot of fun (even though my wife showed me up :) ). I have never rode a horse before, but they were well trained. When we got back to the base camp the guides had fresh fruit (a staple in costa rica) and water waiting for us. It was a wonderful way to spend the day and we would definitely do it again. We can't wait to go back to Puerto Viejo. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    29
    4
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
“zipline fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our family of four (two kids 13 and 16) went zip-lining with Terraventuras a couple weeks ago for Spring Break. The whole experience was amazing! We were transported most of the way by van and then had to switch to a jeep for the steep, non-paved road that took you to the beginning of the course. There were 15 zip lines and all were long enough to really look around and enjoy your surroundings as you went zip lining through the trees all the way up to ziplining above the rainforest. It rained during our adventure which they said would make the ride even faster which we enjoyed. There is stair climbing between most platforms so you will get exercise. The staff was great fun and knowledgeable and we felt safe with them. They took photos of each of us so we have digital memories of this fantastic experience. Definitely do not wear nice clothes as you get wet, muddy and the pulley dropped rusty liquid on us (especially if it is raining). The activity itself is about 2 hours but the travel time, signing waivers at their office, getting outfitted and trained, etc. added a couple hours.

Visited April 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My 14 year old twin daughters and husband really wanted to go. I was a bit more hesitant. Good thing that they convinced me! It was amazing. The guides where very safety conscience while still being fun and informative. The lines where long and breathtaking and there where enough of them that we really felt like we had time to learn and progress. The hike was an exhertion and a bit steep and slippery, but doable. The Tarzan swing was the scariest part, but worth doing as is the Superman line. Some of the best money that we have ever spent on a vacation!

Visited April 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A. Area
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Second time and still loving it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I went zip-lining with Terraadventures three years ago with friends and just had to bring my family back so they could share in the experience. We all agreed that it was worth every penny we paid and that it was just about as much fun as any of us had ever had. The Tarzan swing is an awesome addition since I last went. Wow, when was the last time you got to swing over a gorgeous jungle ravine screaming your head off with laughter?
The guides were absolutely professional about our safety while being very nice and patient with the nervousness of some of the first timers. They clearly know what they are doing and do their jobs well.
I guarantee, you will not regret this experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount vernon, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ziplining for the second time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I had booked ziplining with Tellaventures two years ago and when we returned to the Puerto Viejo area we booked with them to do it again. The office staff was kind and helpful and the ziplining guides made our trip, both time, perfect memories. The adventure is a little spendy but it was worth every penny!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnie B, Propietario at Terraventuras Jungle Expeditions, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear “amg347 “,

Thank you for your feedback on the Canopy Tour you booked with us.
We are very pleased to read your comments about the friendly and helpful staff in our company. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Minnie Barbone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terraventuras Jungle Expeditions also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Terraventuras Jungle Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terraventuras Jungle Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.