We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Negra

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Luna Negra
Save Saved
You added Luna Negra to your Saves list
Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70004, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Le Blanc)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

i simply had good times, the guys are really friendly and they made my staying very confortable and they provided all the information I needed for the rest of my trip. Nice beach just right across the road

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, it overlooks a very pretty beach And the cabinas are set back amongst pretty plants.
The rooms are a good size and look very cute.
Whatsmore the owners are lovely, they are happy to offer you advice on the area and will do whatever they can to make your stay a good one.
we really enjoyed are time in this tranquil hotel, its a 10 min walk from puerto viejo. Whilst I was there I had to go to the hospital and they took me there, made sure I got seen and then emailed to Check I was ok!
Highly recommend this place, very chilled out.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I loved Le Blanc! It is close to the center of town but far enough removed that it's peaceful for tired travelers. Also, the owners are incredibly helpful, generous, and kind. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Josep and Carme are wonderful and charming people who bend over backwards to help in many ways.
I enjoyed my stay at the Le Blanc and recomend it to all.
Just across the road is a very nice beach and great swimming place.
Beautiful garden setting.
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed for two nights at Le Blanc Hotel. Its location is very pleasant right next to the beach and we enjoyed especially our breakfasts on the terrace with a stunning view. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately the cabinas need to be refreshed and although a mosquito net is provided, there are a lot of mosquitos during the nights. Also don't expect hot water in the showers, but with the temperatures outside, you will be happy to refresh yourself with some cold water.
The access is very easy, since the busses stop in front of the hotel. Just ask the bus driver to stop at "Playa Negra". Le Blanc Hotel is perfect for a short stay in Puerto Viejo. It is about 10 min walking distance from the center, which makes it a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Some people enjoy dodgy hostels, parties, expats and constant traffic - if you rather go for a peaceful, laid-back caribbean paradise experience, I warmly recommend hotel Le Blanc. Amazing prize/quality ratio, perfect location, lovely little rooms and the beach just a couple of meters away. It's more quiet than in downtown, which is definitely a positive thing in a busy turist attraction like Puerto Viejo.
One more thing: the hosts are the loveliest, friendliest hosts ever.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Negra

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70004, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Le Blanc)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Also Known As:
Luna Negra Hotel Puerto Viejo
Luna Negra Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Negra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;