We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See... Just Wish We Had More Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center

Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center
South Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
506-2750-0710
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Must See... Just Wish We Had More Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The guided tour is phenomenal, and departs daily at 9:30 and 11:30am. The only reason I do not give this review 5 stars is because I felt that the tour was a little rushed and I wished we could spend more time in the areas that we enjoyed. For example, we could care less about snakes and wanted to spend more time with the monkeys, sloths, and toucans. Regardless, this is a great experience... I just wish it allowed a little more freedom to roam without a guide.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,431
    248
    46
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A really great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Jaguar Rescue Center. Our guide was very informative and, being the off season, our group was quite small for the tour. I learned all kinds of fascinating things about the animals of Costa Rica and interacting with the baby monkeys is something that I'll always treasure.

Everyone there seemed really dedicated to their work at the center and I left feeling very good about our visit. I noticed people complaining about the $15 price, but it seems well worth it to me. They need your funds to keep the center running and doing what it needs to do! You spend more than that going to see a movie for two hours, isn't two hours of learning and interacting with animals worth more than a movie?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were staying close to Puerto Viejo and decided to take a trip to the Jaguar Rescue Center. You can go by bike or Taxi we took the taxi cuz we did not knew it was so easy to get there in bike. They do 2 tours one is at 9:30 and the other one is at 12:30. There are snakes, sloths, monkeys and so much more. But be aware this is a rescue center the pictures of the animals that you see here may chance since they try to put the animals back in the nature so remember is not a zoo is a rescue center AMAZING experience!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chibougamau
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nice visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

very interesting and fun but a bit expensive! 15$ per person.
The part I preferred is when we interact with the baby monkeys.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Interaction with Animals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is such a special place, I went twice! Run by volunteers, the center rescues & rehabilitates animals before reintroducing them to the wild. In the time that the animals are recuperating, we get to meet them and learn more about their personal story, and how that ties into the larger Costa Rican environmental picture. A great value, your payment goes to support the nonprofit center and you get to play with baby monkeys!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.