We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center

Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center
South Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
506-2750-0710
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great experience. Very informative guides - and we got to play with baby monkeys. How could you not like that??

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,434
    248
    46
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“By far one of my favorite activities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I got to play with baby monkeys and hold a baby sloth! Was really really worth it! I went by bike from Puerto Viejo, all the way to Manzanillo and stopped there on the way!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Educational and Fun Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This rescue center was a great trip for all of us in the group (we ranged from 2-year-old toddler to mid-60s). It was great to learn more about the local animal world and gain more appreciation for every part of the eco-system. One of the owners, Incarnacion, was our tour guide and was able to tell us about how this center was founded and all the preservation efforts they do with local authorities. You also get to enter one of the monkey playareas and interact with them. Definitely a great visit and worth going!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, wonderful feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this facility and really felt the love and dedication of the caretakers. We were more than happy to pay the donation to such an important center. We loved their willingness to accept a broad diversity of animals into their care. We enjoyed the woodpecker who decided to land on us several times, the playful monkeys and to get the opportunity to be so close to so much of nature without feeling intrusive into their lives as they are being rehabilitated. We would definitely return and recommend it to others. We have other friends who will be visiting there in December.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rescue and Renewal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a well organized tour that allowed our family great access to animals, and in particular, sloths and monkeys. The work they are doing – rescuing animals – is truly that of helping make this world a better place. It was good to support such an effort and in the process experience our own bit of renewal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.