We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blue Conga

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blue Conga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Blue Conga
800m du centre ville direction Manzanillo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70401, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Dublin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place run by a lovely French couple can only be highly recommended. The location is ideal, just outside the town, so not noisy if things get rowdy (which they never did when we were there), and yet walking distance to everything. There is a really lovely pool and relaxing lounge area, mornings are a delight, when dawn breaks and the wildlife starts moving, sitting by the pool just marvelling at the beauty of it all I did not want to leave. All the recommendations for restaurants were winners, there are bikes for hire and a multi-lingual library of books you can borrow during your stay. We stayed an extra night we liked it so much!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    47
    14
    11
    2
See reviews for
45
137
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Blue Conga for 5days at the start of my Costa Rica adventure. I arrived later than planned (nightmare bus journey) and they were expecting me. If arriving by public bus, get a taxi (really cheap) to the hotel, its a bit too far with your bags. I made my reservations a while before my arrival, - standard room suits me fine - I was given a room with bunkbeds. I didn't have a table/chair or hammock either on the porch either so I was a little disappointed. The room was large so that wasn't an issue, and I had a decent hot water shower. It was ground floor and facing the entrance to drive. They were cutting down trees in the bordering fence so I initally felt vulnerable, however that was short lived. The resident dog was very friendly and would sit on the porch/verandah. The hotel pool looked lovely, the dining area was inviting, and there was hammocks/relaxing seating area. The Breakfasts were outstanding, a great start to the day. I hired a bicycle from the hotel every day to get around - perfect. The location is great as you are an easy walk/cycle from the centre, but also far enough not to be bothered by any of the night noises (except the wildlife of course!!). The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I would recommend Hotel Blue Conga.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

lovely staff, and a very good location to town, BUT the bed was SO uncomfortable i woke up w/a stiff neck & aching back every day - which by the way was 6am since the walls are so thin you can hear your neighbor clear their throat :-/ and since they are hot tiny boxlike rooms - u must keep your windows open to breath, and then the staff starts working around 7am, so you have NO chance of sleeping in on your "vacation". i was very surprised this hotel was rated #2 on tripadvisor. you can get an uncomfortable bed & a broken toilet almost anywhere in the area for 1/2 the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueconga, Propriétaire at Hotel Blue Conga, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for letting us have this rank after a bad stay you had with us. Sometimes the circumstances are not favorable and we accept your criticism. Blue Conga was complete and undergoing technical problems, to be settled immediately by lack of availabilities. But this is the first time someone complains about the bed with orthopedic mattress. We also accept, because everyone is accustomed to its own choice. It is unfortunate that you do not accept before your departure our range of a superior room at the same price. You were angry and we were not able to communicate, which is unusual in our hotel. The price we received this year is closely linked to the conviviality and the personalized service we are trying to give. We can not do the unanimity and we meet sometimes differences in philosophy. Our mind does not fit to everyone and also the reverse. We are realy sorry.
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of January. The rooms are clean, nice and simple. The location is the best, a quick 10 minute walk from the center but far enough from the center to relax and get peace and quiet. The grounds are beautifully kept and are calm and soothing -it was a real treat to wake up and have breakfast served outside. The owners leave the fridge stocked with beer and water to be paid for on the honor system. He also left us our breakfast for us to go the last morning when we left earlier than breakfast was served. (Something I have never seen before) Over all a fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights which were very pleasant. Breakfast is really delicious with coffee, fruit, eggs, toast and the obligatory gallo pinto :) The staff are nice but at times felt I was "just a number", maybe simply because they were busy this time of year. The rooms are sparse and functional but ok for local standards. Walls paper thin so can hear "everything" next door. Makes for light sleep! Nicely set back from main road which is really good so as to avoid noise and smell pollution. Highlight is a stunning pool by the communal area and lovely indigenous gardens. If a first time visitor to Puerto Viejo then I'd highly recommend Blue Conga for it's location and offerings, but if a regular or prefer even more seclusion or off the beaten track then head further down the road towards Montezillo where there are some prime spots!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We arrived here and were shown around the property. The rooms were clean and big with a fan blowing right on your bed to keep you cool at night. Shower was large and clean and plenty of hot water. The pool area was awesome, sunny and tropical! The dining area was very neat, all hand built and also very clean! Breakfast was a huge plate of fruit, coffee and some type of egg dish, tasty and fresh every time!! Overall a great place to stay! and only a 5 minute walk to town and seemed very safe!

The owners recommended we visit the Jaguar Animal Rescue down the road and so glad we did. Very neat experience played with monkeys and saw sloths, deer, snakes, birds. It was only $15 each to get in for about a 2 hour tour. All the money goes right to the rescued animals, all workers are volunteers and the goal is to release all the animals once they are healthy enough. Well worth it and really fun to play with monkeys!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Two friends and I recently traveled to Puerto Viejo for 8 days, all of which we spent at the Hotel Blue Conga (save for the last night in San Jose due to an early AM flight). The location was great; easy walking distance to either downtown or Playa Cocles, and within biking distance of Punta Uva and Manzanillo. The rooms were nice, and the balconies + hammocks were a definite plus, but the real reason to stay at the Blue Conga is the amazing hospitality of Pierre and Marise! From their initial help in securing transportation for us from San Jose to the hotel up until their recommendation of lodging in San Jose for our last night in CR, they helped us out whenever they could. Breakfast was always delicious, Marise was always around for help and great advice on what to do, and Pierre took us on some amazing tours to Cahuita, Punta Uva, and a waterfall in the jungle. He taught us many tricks to spotting the animals (sloths, howlers, white-faced monkeys, spider monkeys, blue crabs, caimans, lizards, vipers, etc.), and we ended up with great pictures, and a great collection of sea beans to boot! I'd highly recommend the Blue Conga to anyone considering spending time in Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blue Conga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Conga

Address: 800m du centre ville direction Manzanillo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70401, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Caribbean style boutique hotel situated between Puerto Viejo center and the beach of Cocles. Without claiming to luxury,its comfort is appreciated in this area where it is sometimes difficult to find a quality / fair value.The welcome is personal and organization activities and discoveries upon request.Its philosophy is based on the environment, serenity and openness to the world. Place for sharing and good waves, it is like the a delicious exuberant garden that welcomes it.You will feel in a cocoon of paradise close to hectic activities of Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Blue Conga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Conga Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blue Conga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.